Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Decent hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 13, 2016
We stay at the hotel for the second time and overall we like it: nice beach near by, quiet area. Unfortunately we got some unexpected visitors - cats that didn't leave us alone. It is possible previous guests were given them food so they felt very comfortable around our room. It was difficult to catch and get them out. Staff at the hotel was not helpful at all.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: The Pool behind our room
Cons: Breakfast and entertaitment
Quite place to relax and great restaurant at the beach Sunny Beach
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Great location on the beach

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Location..... Privacy feeling
Cons: The rooms were nice but the floor tiling is in need of a good clean around the edges. The pools glass panels are cracked !
Location: Located on the Orient Bay beach with Coco Beach bar - perfect. Close to Pinel Island which was our favorite place. Great food around the island
This was our first time in St Martin and we stayed at Esmeralda following a recommendation from friends. The resort was very quiet and it felt like a private vacation. The room we picked initially was a Superior room but on arrival we requested an upgrade to a Deluxe as it was quite basic and not very attractive. The room we got was very good as it was closest to the entrance to the beach. All the staff were very helpful and overall a great vacation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Wonderful return holiday!

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: The private porches and pools, romantic atmosphere, the food, the staff, the grounds, walk to the beach, easy access to Orient Bay Village.
Cons: It's already paradise!
Location: Only minutes walk to the beach, and a short drive to Orient Bay Village and the main Orient Bay Beach, lots of restaurants, shops, grocery store, etc.
This is our third stay at the Esmeralda Resort, and as always everything was perfect! The staff are very friendly and welcoming, the resort grounds are beautiful, and Coco beach is just a short walk away. Manuela does a great job of breakfast every morning, and the although we did not eat at the hotel's own restaurant, L'Astrolabe, during this stay, the food is always excellent.
5 out of 5
by Molly

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jennifer from Raleigh

Four nights at Esmeralda Hotel

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was very relaxing and quiet and the staff were all very friendly, as was everyone on the island. The room was very spacious and had a small kitchenette which we used to make coffee. The bathroom was spacious and clean, with a rainfall shower. The grounds and buildings could use some repair, but overall were in very good condition; it seems to be one of the most spacious hotels in terms of gardens and space between cottages. The breakfast that was included was plenty for us (fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, juice and coffee); additional items for a small price ($5-$8). The tables of the restaurant are set around a small pool, and dinner menu was fantastic. From our cottage and pool it was a short walk to the beach; the staff at the beach restaurant was very friendly and the food there was great too. The beach was lovely, and the village is a short walk down the beach, behind the Bikini Bar. In the village are more wonderful restaurants, 2 groceries (had everything we needed), and a couple of casual restaurants. We hired Jason from La Playa watersports to take us snorkeling at Tintamarre island and parasailing - we recommend them! Everyone we met spoke English, and accepted dollars. Getting around the island was easy, as there is one main road that circles the island. We were warned twice about safety (away from Orient Bay) since it's the low season (both later in the evening). Grand Case has lots and lots of wonderful restaurants, and nice shops.
3 out of 5
by Dusan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't change a thing

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: What struck us as exceptional qualities of the resort was the care that you can see in the maintenance of the buildings, and the care in the landscape
Cons: Better Wi-Fi. Although I was happy to be on a true vacation away from email and other distractions, it would have been nice to have Wi-Fi in the room.
Location: Located on the edge of Orient Beach. Not flanked by other resorts and timeshares making it very quiet.
My wife and I have been vacationing on St. Maarten for 15 years, and this was our first time at this resort. The staff are very nice and helpful. They have two great restaurants, one on the beach and one fine dining on the resort. We stayed for seven days which was perfect. During most days we were on the beach which was a three minute walk from our cottage. The CoCo restaurant has great food, friendly staff and the chairs and umbrellas are free to guests of the hotel. In the evening we ate a few meals at the Astrolabe Restaurant on the property, which has now become one of our favorites. The Astrolabe has great food, exceptional service and atmosphere. Orient Village is a 10 minute walk down the street, and very safe. In the village, we enjoyed our pick of over a dozen restaurants and bars. And if that was not enough, our room was adjacent to a pool we shared with three other rooms. What a great vacation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Caracas

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Pros: Facilities are very good but there is lack on deep maintenance, but the fact that It's located on Orient Bay Beach makes ii attractive
Cons: Maintenance in the rooms and pool area
Location: The location is excellent and is very close to Grand Case the best place to dine in the island
Both retaurants are above average with high food quality and good service. another important issue is it's closeness to the Orient bay beah
4 out of 5
by Ole from Ole Egholm, Søborg, Denmark

Very spacious rooms, very clean

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
Very spacious rooms. Nice bathrooms. Very clean. Unfortunately for the hotel there was a very noisy party on the beach, and we had noisy neighbours (rather thin walls). There was a stiff wind so we decided to stay just one night.