Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place for short stay

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Not in a great area if appearances concern you but we've been to the island many times so no bother to us...Rooms are very clean and well kept as are grounds... 1 bedroom nice but only on small closet poorly located beside night table making access difficult... Keys on long metal handles needed to lock/unlock main door from inside and out also a pain...Staff very friendly and accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Not a nice area.

Posted Jan 22, 2016
This hotel was nice enough, but in a rough area. We did not feel safe going out at night. It is not near any decent restaurants, so we had to pay a $10 cab fare (each way) for meals. The staff was very nice and accommodating.
3 out of 5
by Alvin from San Juan

Quiet spacious rooms

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were very attentive. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. Consistent shower temperature was a challenge. The location is quiet and easy to get to both Simpson Bay and Phillipsburg. I would recommend this for people who want a good price and have a car to get around.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N.Y.

Nice hotel close the beach .

Posted May 5, 2015
This hotel is really inexpensive and Also really good. Confortable, very clean, close to any store, I was for 4 days there and they cleaned every day...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

L'Esperance

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Very nice for a modestly priced, small hotel. Helpful staff. Close to airport and cruise dock (15 to 20 dollars taxi)
4 out of 5
by BIll from Plano, Texas

Some things you should know

Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Hotels
Missed our cruise in St. Thomas due to weather. Needed a room on St. Maarten on very short notice. Found L'Esperance on Hotels.com the night we were leaving while we were eating dinner at DFW airport waiting to catch our flight. We arrived late at night. It was dark, the neighborhood was sketchy though we never had an issue. The room was on the second floor. There is no elevator nor is there a bellman. We had to carry our three suitcases and two carryons up the stairs to our room. There were two rooms plus a bath. The front room was very large and nicely furnished but was not air conditioned. The bedroom had a king bed and was fine and it did have an air conditioner that worked fine, except we had just turned it on when we arrived so it took a while to cool down the room. The hotel itself is very nice, with a court yard, flowers and very pretty landscaping. We enjoyed our stay but felt fellow travelers should know about the neighborhood, lack of elevator, and limited air conditioning. For the price it was a great value. It served our purpose of a room for one night before catching a cruise ship.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

True flavor of the Caribbean

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Nice, relaxing, and reasonably priced. Very few restaurants and entertainment close by; however, taxis are readily available.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

correct

Posted Feb 7, 2015 on Hotels
Tres propre. Pres des épiceries. Personnel ok
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

highly recommended, we will stay again.

Posted Jan 26, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely, clean with a beautiful, huge veranda for hanging out or eating. Nice pool, surrounded by Monarch butterflies, hummingbirds and flowers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Québec, Canada

Hôtel simple mais propre et accueillant

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Calme, propreté, gentillesse du personnel.
Cons: Peu de comptoir et manque de matériel de cuisine (ex. pas de bol pour mélanger une salade ou plats pour conserver des restes)
Location: L'hôtel est situé à 30-40 minutes à pied de Philipsburg, mais on peut s'y rendre (10 minutes) ou aller à Marigot en prenant les transports en commun.
J'ai séjourné 6 nuits dans un petit appartement avec chambre, cuisinette et salon. Bien que simple et sans luxe, tout est propre et en bon état. Lit confortable. Télé, wifi gratuit (signal trop faible toutefois pour desservir la chambre). Cuisinette avec 2 ronds, micro-onde, frigo, cafetière, grille-pain et vaisselle pour 4. Terrasse abritée où on peut lire, piscine.