Ratings based on 940 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Daytona Beach, Fl

Nice area

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed
Cons: We were not supplied dishwasher detergent and there is only 2 bowls, 2 large dishes, 2 small dishes...etc..
Location: Location is close to restaurants and the casino. Some of the restaurants are within walking distances, others are about a mile if you can walk that.
The room we had was not near the beach..but you could walk to it. Ever group of rooms had its on pool area which was nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Close to everything.

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Close to the beach, close to main road with restaurants, close to airport. Very friendly, accommodating staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't Do It

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: clean room
Cons: no room service. construction everywhere. poor service while trapped in the elevator
There is tons of construction going on here. It was not a peaceful day at the beach listening to jackhammers and saws all day long. We, along with multiple other hotel guests on multiple instances got trapped in the elevator. No help was brought to our attention and hours later it still was not tended to when we found other hotel guests who also got trapped in the elevator hours later. the room was large and clean, but next time we go to St Maarten, we will be staying elsewhere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Very nice hotel near everything

Posted Jun 26, 2016
My experience with the hotel was excellent. It was equipped with all you would need just as in your own home. It is near everything; from stores, eateries, shuttle bus, security, computer access, pool, beach, etc. I had a fantastic stay and definitely will return to this same hotel if I am in St. Maarten again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYNY

Three and a half

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: clean room, multiple pools to choose from - ( get away from LOUD and obnoxious guests). local beach was clean
Cons: better orientation to property and surrounding area to new guests....off site places to go.
The room was nice but had an awkward layout. The bathroom small - CLEAN but would give off horrible sewage smells periodically. The kitchen was nicely stocked and newly renovated. BUT the shuttle was infrequent ( you had to call) inconvenient and tedious. The room was FAR from everything... except a pool. My experience with the on site restaurants was 1 for 2
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dominican republic

More than we expected!!!, complete package hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Location, service, facilities, all the pools around with bars, very kids friendly hotel
Cons: clean the rooms
Location: it is a very small island everything is close !!! we recomend to get a taxi around the island first day and then choose one of the 137 beaches
the hotel is big a lot of hills, bute great shuttle service, hotel is great , perfect stay, truly friendy hotel and friendly island, tehre are pools all over and playground for kids, and super market amd italian restaurant and a place for breakfast it is a great hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

OK

Posted Jun 21, 2016
This was our first trip to St. Maarten - if we return, we will not stay at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina. I booked a room that was supposed to have a "garden or resort" view, and our room had a porch with a view of trash dumpsters. Not a huge deal in the grand scheme, just a little disappointing. To get to our parking space, we had to walk through a fan that was blowing sewer-scented air at passers-by. Otherwise, the room was OK and it was good to have a coffee maker and small grocery store nearby. The air conditioner worked great, it was HOT there in mid-June (duh). Housekeeping did come later in the day, but we quickly realized that is just how things are on the island. Very laid-back and go with the flow. If you stay here, rent a car! Get out and see the rest of the island and find some restaurants outside of the resort. The Italian place at the resort (L'Isola) was VERY good, but otherwise the resort restaurants were subpar. For example, we sat down at Bon Appetit, which was empty, and the 8+ people working there did not give us the time of day for 15+ minutes. Disappointing. We ended up at the beach bar at the Flamingo Resort more often than not. It was a very short walk from our room/resort. You will get a pitch or 30 about the time share "presentation" but hold your ground and just keep saying no if that's not your thing. Check-in and check-out were pretty smooth otherwise.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I won't be a repeat guest

Posted Jun 7, 2016
I checked in for a 1-night stay. On arrival, the front desk clerk was occupied with two men. They were obviously checking in. The front desk clerk never once acknowledged my presence for an entire TEN minutes whilst checking in the other party. A simple acknowledgement of me standing there, such as a "Good afternoon, welcome! I will be with you shortly." Another lady did emerge at about 5 minutes and her attitude was the same and all she was doing was shuffling paperwork. As a former senior management executive of a 5-star property, I think the staff definitely needs some more training. Then, as if that wasn't bad enough, the timeshare shark started swirling to get info out of my business partner. It was so TACKY. Offered us a $100 to go thru the drama of the timeshare pitch. We politely declined, but he kept pressing until we had to firmly state that we were 100% not interested. The room was as photographed, very clean (kudos to the hardworking housekeeping team!). The decor isn't my taste, but adequately furnished with all the necessary equipment for long term stays. My stay was only one night. The bath amenities are also quite nice. During the middle of the night, our A/C started dripping (LOUDLY). Had to tuck a washcloth under the unit and also a larger towel on the floor. This was like at 2 a.m. and we could not sleep due to the torturous dripping. Front Desk said they would note the issue. Black out drapes couldn't close as they were torn. Very insane night for us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

The staff is very attentive, great location

Posted May 7, 2016
Friendly and attentive staff, great amenities, closed to the beach, comfortable and clean!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Martinique

"Super et superbe"

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: La qualité et le confort de la "suite".
Location: L’hôtel est situé dans un quartier touristique avec restaurants, commerces et autres activités.
Vaste et paisible domaine hôtelier en bord de plage. L’ensemble des chambres a été rénové comme neuf. La "suite" pour 4 personnes est grande, harmonieuse et très confortable. Terrasse vue sur mer, coin salon, cuisine très bien équipée, une chambre avec très grand lit et 2 lits simples relevable dans le séjour. La literie est dans tout les cas très bonne. L’appartement est très bien entretenu avec un service de ménage l’après midi. Je recommande cet hôtel !