Ratings based on 303 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Do NOT stay here

Posted May 1, 2016
Extremely worn out and dirty hotel. There were even cockroaches crawling on the floor. Staff not helpful with replacement room. Do not go there
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2016 by Guest Engagement Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Sune, Thank you for choosing our Resort through Expedia. We value your personal feedback. - Guest Engagement Coordinator
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel experience

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: I liked the all inclusive option
Cons: Hotel could use some updating
Location: the location was great and walking distance to town/front street
Very Clean...Hotel staff was constantly cleaning the hotel area and beach area. All of the staff were friendly and accomodating. Hotel could use some updating. Breakfast & lunch options were great and food was good. Dinner was hit or miss.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2016 by Martha , Hotel Management
Thank you Marilyn for sharing your experience at our resort. Hope you can return to the friendly island one day!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2016 by Martha , Hotel Management
Thank you Marilyn for sharing your experience at our resort. Hope you can return to the friendly island one day!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2016 by Martha , Hotel Management
Thank you Marilyn for sharing your experience at our resort. Hope you can return to the friendly island one day!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel right on the beach

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Hotel staff was outstanding. Hotels exterior itself could use a few updates however the rooms were immaculate. The AC in the room was extremely efficient. The food was good. Hotel is about a 10 min ride from the airport and is right on the beach. View from the room was amazing. Couldnt ask for much more out of a 4 star hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2016 by Martha, Hotel Management
Thank you J for sharing your experience at our resort on Expedia. Hope you can return to the friendly island one day!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Ocean view was magnificent

Posted Apr 2, 2016
Relaxing and beautifu. Felt safe. Beautiful people ❤️
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2016 by Rosalie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, it is important to us. We would like to take the time out to thank you all for choosing us for your vacation. Will share with the team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

great adult only hotel in Phillipsburg

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: staff is fantastic. can't do enough for you. The hotel is located close to the boardwalk without being in the middle of everything.
Cons: update the physical buildings
Location: rent a car and drive the island for the day. It was easy to find parking in Gran case and Marigot. Go to Maho to watch the planes and have a drink.
The hotel staff is the first thing you notice. Everyone was super start to finish. The hotel is an older property but well maintained. There are two restaurant plus the buffet restaurant available. All were good with a variety of choices. The food is what you would expect from an all inclusive hotel. It was well prepared, good choices and variety to fit everyone. Drinks were well made with a decent selection of liquors to chose from. The island itself has limited sightseeing tours so be prepared to relax on the beach or by the pool. There is a nice board walk a 2 minute walk form the hotel that contains restaurants, bars and shops. There are casinos if you like gambling. The staff was super helpful with helping us rent a car and giving us suggestions about places to go and see. It is a vary safe place to travel in and the whole island is full of friendly people. Most everyone speaks English so those who are nervous about communicating need not worry. If you are looking for a phenomenal meal try Antoine's on the boardwalk. Outstanding food, get the soufflés for dessert. they should not be missed. The best part is the hotel is adults only for a peaceful vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2016 by Martha, Hotel Management
Dear chefkrysto, I will share this review with the team today! We really take pride in our Expedia Guests and very much appreciate you taking the time to review! Please return one day!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edgewater, NJ

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: The staff. The beach. The pools.
Cons: The number of serving staff at the pool bar and servers at the pools and beach. The hotel need updating.
Location: Walking distance to Phillipsburg and all it has to offer. Pick up by the operators of sailing, snorkeling, etc activities.
The hotel needs to be refurbished, it's quite outdated, but they keep it very clean and there's a lot of security. I felt very safe there. The food at the buffet left a lot to be desired at lunch and dinner although breakfast was acceptable. The food in the restaurant was better. They should have more options for the price of the rooms. The staff was excellent - always smiling, very eager to please and really friendly. Loved them all. The pools were nice, especially the infinity and never seemed overcrowded. The jacuzzi was large enough. The beach was beautiful. The service for drinks was inadequate but the servers they did have were great. All in all I'd give it a 3.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2016 by Live Maho, Hotel Management
Dear Chrissy, Glad you felt safe and enjoyed the service we provided with a smile! We are upgrading things at this time, so newer areas to come soon. Thank you for the review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Near Phillipsburg but Dated

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff were very friendly. The daily cleaning service was outstanding. The buffet offered a big variety of foods. Near town.
Cons: Please put anti-skid rugs at bottom of stairs by the bar. Fix the toilet in 529. More bartenders. Fix the lobby elevator floor.
Location: Walk to town, but not at night. Overlooks cruise ships. We had a blast at the Regatta. Also, go see French side and eat a meal there.
1)They upgraded our ocean view room to a junior suite without us asking, which was nice. 2)The hotel staff was very friendly. 3)They were very understaffed and the bartenders seemed to be disorganized. 4)Our two meals at the upstairs restaurant were both two-hour affairs. 5)Our opinion, the most dated facility where we have stayed. 6)In our suite, the water valve to the toilet was leaking on the floor and the toilet was constantly running. We informed the front desk and they immediately sent someone to fix the water valve, but the toilet continued to run and we smelled sewer gases in the bathroom. 7)The suite overlooked the beach and a stagnant water retention area. 8)The lobby elevator is only big enough for about 3 people and the elevator floor seemed to be mushy soft like it needed some work. 9)Watch your step going down the stairs from the lobby to the pool! I tripped a few times down around the pool areas and fell on my back once down by the swim up bar because the tiles at the bottom of the stairs did not have a rug or anti-skid area. My wife banged her knee in the hot tub as she was trying to get out. Get around by taxis -$20 per couple one-way to/from airport - $8 per couple to most other places. I would not advise driving a rental car. If you want an EXCLUSIVE hotel experience, then I don't recommend staying at this hotel. We visited the Westin while we were there and it looks like it's EXCLUSIVE, but you will pay much more and I don't believe all-incl.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2016 by Rosalie, Hotel Management
Thank you for comments and thank you for choosing the Sonesta Great Bay for your vacation. We will share your review with the management team and make the necessary adjustment. Sorry to hear you slip a few times, hope that you are doing better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Could be much better

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: The location, close proximity to the airport, shopping and dinning. Clean beach; food was really good with many choices every day. Good staff.
Cons: Showers--very low pressure and drainage--water remained in the stall even after showering. Musty smell in the room all the time.
Location: Shopping, restaurants and tours operated by Bernard starting at the pier where the cruise ships dock. Best tour guides and very professional.
Pros: The hotel is well located--close to shopping and many restaurants. The beach is beautiful and clean, food was really good and lots of choices. The hotel staff were helpful and courteous, except for a few exceptions. It is also close to the airport, but away from the crowd and noise Angela and Smiley in the dinning room were wonderful hosts.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2016 by Rosalie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and thank for choosing this Resort for your vacation. We will review your comments and share with our Management team.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Excellent Holiday Destination

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Housekeeping. Somedays no new towels, somedays only a couple. Room or bath never really scrubbed clean after our arrival. On arrival, it was great
Location: Walk to Phillipsburg. We rented a small car at the hotel and drove all over the island. It was fantastic!
I honestly believe this to be one of the best hotels, beaches and locations on the Island. It's away from the hustle bustle, but only a short walk, to Philipsburg. Two pools, swim up bar and full beach all include towels, chairs and umbrella's. That with the gorgeous blue and turquoise colors of the water were so breathtaking and relaxing. The roped off beach area was fantastic for bobbing. The food and choices for dining are excellent. Two sit down full menu venues (Italian and SeaFood) and the daily buffet all are included. Buffet offers Planned evening event dinners. One night Caribbean Night, another time a Latin Night. Always lots of choices. All beverages all day and all night are included. Everything from water to Gin Tonic! Leave the MaiTai's in Hawaii and have the Island's specialty Guava Berry Colada. YUM! Also, each day your room fridge is restocked with beer, champagne, soda's as well as huge bottles of Gin, Vodka and coconut Rum. Staff is friendly, funny, accommodating, helpful and there to make sure you are enjoying your holiday. Seek out Shandell in the Pizza Bistro. She's amazing! There is entertainment on the pool deck every night until 10 pm. The hotel concierge is extremely helpful with booking tours, and was quite responsive via e-mail while planning our stay. Nexus Full Day Catamaran Beach Hopping excursion around the island was the highlight of our stay. Extremely organized, excellent ship crew. Fun, Lively, Extremely enjoyable!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2016 by Rosalie , Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your review. Looking forward to your returned to our property in the near future
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel, pretty beach

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Pros: Location, room, service staff.
Location: Zoo, boardwalk
Resort is about 20 minutes from the airport via taxi, located on the outskirts of Phillipsburg, so you can experience some traffic and noise throughout the day. If you care about view, request a beach side room, or you'll be overlooking a parking lot. There isn't much in the general area to do either than the beach of course and the boardwalk area which is full of shops and bars. Other than that, you need a car or a taxi to get anywhere. The zoo is close by as well. It is small and clearly underfunded but is nice for a quick midday diversion. The beaches on the French side are far superior with much better views, so if your prime reason for visiting is the beach, opt for the French side. Spacious, decently clean rooms- we did have to ask housekeeping to give our bathtub a scrub since it was dirty upon check in, but the rest of the room was spotless, so the tub must have been an oversight. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Food was pretty good. Everything was very fresh and the selection was decent. Only complaint: walls in hotel are thin. We overheard every conversation which occurred in the hallway as well as the TV from the neighboring room. It didn't bother us too much, but if you're a light sleeper then I recommend earplugs. Additionally, some guests felt entitled to a nightly smoke in their rooms or in the room corridors resulting in a lingering, subtle, stale cigarette smell which seeped into our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2016 by Rosalie, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your review. All our guest review is important and makes us stronger.