Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sterile, Over-Priced, Inconveniently located hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: The gym, the breakfasts, and the beds.
Cons: Soundproofing and restaurant options. Eliminate the air freshener in the lobby and hallways. Charge fair prices in bar. Incorporate some local charm.
Location: The location was ok for getting into Sintra by Uber, but not that convenient to Lisbon or Cascais. A bit too remote and removed from local life.
In a country filled with charm, this hotel was the biggest disappointment to the last few days of a lovely trip. Upon arrival, there was no help with luggage. The lobby and hallways stank of a cloying, overpowering air freshener. The rooms were large and comfortable, but we could hear every word spoken by our neighbors, and lighting was terrible. The bar served the skimpiest, overpriced drinks, and the restaurant options on site were limited, despite being many. The strangest meal of our trip was at Spices (only available option that night), their pan-asian restaurant, which mixes the cuisine of 4 Asian countries. Interesting in concept only. That said, breakfasts were plentiful and included lots of food options, so became our meal for the day. The on-site gym was terrific. I would not go back. I am not a golfer but am told the golf course on site is excellent. But I did not go to Portugal to golf. This hotel would be great for a corporate off-site, but was disappointing for a vacation spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Beautiful setting in the hills

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Lovely view from our balcony and good meals in LAB and Arola
Cons: Other hotel restaurants somewhat disappointing, especially Spices. Near impossible to get tea made in a teapot at breakfast.
Location: Superb trips to be had to Sintra, the coat at Cascais and (by train) to Lisbon. Don’t miss the Pena Palace and the Moorish Castle
The hotel is in a beautiful setting but rather remote. For golfers, it looks as though it must be a great venue. Otherwise you need a hire car or, like us, be prepared to take taxis for sightseeing and for dinner at some of the excellent fish restaurants on the west coast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Great Time

Posted Sep 20, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: location
Cons: House cleaning
I loved the resort and location, it was 10 minutes from Cascais and located in the heart of the mountain. Everyone was accommodating and ground were beautiful. Had problem with house keeping service, we stayed for 11 days and after the 6th day the made started to clean less and leaving less essentials. The turndown service staff was excellent.
5 out of 5
by Kennedy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by James

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
Overall the hotel is wonderful. It's absolutely beautiful, extremely clean and the service for the most part is attentive. The lobby staff is friendly and remembered our names throughout our stay. The concierge was extremely helpful arranging transportation, tours and dinner reservations. The staff at the pool bent over backwards to accommodate us. My only complaint is about the service in the B-Lounge bar which is spotty at best. One night I waited 25 minutes for the waiter to check back to see if a need a refill of my drink. Another night my wife indicated that she didn't want anything, but they brought her a glass of what we thought was complementary tap water. Then they charged us for the water we didn't order. Keep an open mind at the B-Lounge and you'll have a great time at Penha Longa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Lovely hotel, but VERY expensive facilities

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of staff. Lovely comfy, huge bed.
Cons: Quality of the food - particularly in bar and Italian restaurant. Decidedly ordinary for mega prices charged.
Location: Sintra is nearby - a really pretty town that suffers for being mobbed in high season. Take a train from there into Lisbon - a really easy trip.
This is a beautiful hotel, very much in an old-school luxury kind of way. The staff are super helpful and can't do enough for you - don't think I even opened a door during my stay. Kids are very welcome and ride on cars are available in the reception area where you'll see small kids dodging expensive floral arrangements! The rooms were really comfy - huge beds and good air con. However... while the fact that the hotel was out of town didn't bother me, when I realised how expensive the hotel's 7 restaurants were I felt really stuck there. The range of food was good - burgers/bar food, Italian, spicey, tapas etc - but the quality of all bar one of the restaurants was just a bit average - when you're paying about 20 Euros for a pizza or bowl of pasta you want it to be amazing but most of it wasn't. The exception was Arola - the tapas restaurant, which was no cheaper than the others but as the food was outstanding you felt it was worth the money. Breakfast was amazing. While the rest of Europe basked in a heatwave this is definitely a fresher spot for a holiday. While very beautiful up in the hills it's definitely a windy spot and the beautiful pool is decidedly bracing as a result (like REALLY cold!). We enjoyed our stay, but did not feel the quality of food was worth the extortionate prices at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coral Gables

Heaven on Earth

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Our stay here was one of the best we've had. The staff, the location - everything was wonderful.
5 out of 5
by Po Po

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly staff with a variety of activities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful scenery

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Beautiful hotel! AC didn't appear to be working, staff was informed and said they would fixed. We came back to the hotel 4 hours later and the room was still hot.