Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Lovely hotel, but VERY expensive facilities

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of staff. Lovely comfy, huge bed.
Cons: Quality of the food - particularly in bar and Italian restaurant. Decidedly ordinary for mega prices charged.
Location: Sintra is nearby - a really pretty town that suffers for being mobbed in high season. Take a train from there into Lisbon - a really easy trip.
This is a beautiful hotel, very much in an old-school luxury kind of way. The staff are super helpful and can't do enough for you - don't think I even opened a door during my stay. Kids are very welcome and ride on cars are available in the reception area where you'll see small kids dodging expensive floral arrangements! The rooms were really comfy - huge beds and good air con. However... while the fact that the hotel was out of town didn't bother me, when I realised how expensive the hotel's 7 restaurants were I felt really stuck there. The range of food was good - burgers/bar food, Italian, spicey, tapas etc - but the quality of all bar one of the restaurants was just a bit average - when you're paying about 20 Euros for a pizza or bowl of pasta you want it to be amazing but most of it wasn't. The exception was Arola - the tapas restaurant, which was no cheaper than the others but as the food was outstanding you felt it was worth the money. Breakfast was amazing. While the rest of Europe basked in a heatwave this is definitely a fresher spot for a holiday. While very beautiful up in the hills it's definitely a windy spot and the beautiful pool is decidedly bracing as a result (like REALLY cold!). We enjoyed our stay, but did not feel the quality of food was worth the extortionate prices at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coral Gables

Heaven on Earth

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Our stay here was one of the best we've had. The staff, the location - everything was wonderful.
5 out of 5
by Po Po

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly staff with a variety of activities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful scenery

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Beautiful hotel! AC didn't appear to be working, staff was informed and said they would fixed. We came back to the hotel 4 hours later and the room was still hot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

beautiful location

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Improve food quality, change the menu to a more traditional food, and tempt people to eat there by lowering the prices.
Location: Location is superb, beaches and history all around. Lisbon 30 minutes away and all of the tourist activities such as golf, tours,shopping etc close by
The location and surroundings were great, the rooms were good and the staff very helpful. However the quality of the food was poor, the lunch menus were very disappointing( unless you like burger and chips) and the price of both food and drink was ridiculous. We have never had any issues with paying good money for quality, but this was not. We felt that the whole business model of the hotel was to trap you into pay,pay,pay. Fortunately for us we had already organised a hire car which meant we could stay away from the hotel for lunch and dinner, plus experience the truly beautiful and historic country, and the fantastic people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Great staff, great food, lovely experience

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Really enjoyed the golf course- great way to start the day.
We stayed at Penha Longa only one night, but it was a fantastic one. From the second we got onto the property, the staff were incredible, accommodating and responsive. We ate at the Italian restaurant that night and it was very good, with an impressive wine list. A very spacious, nice room and the grounds are very serene. The only drawback is that if you want to explore Sintra, you have to take a cab or car in to town as it's a bit more secluded/not walkable. That said, it's a golf resort so that's to be expected, and I would recommend this to anyone who wants to 'get away' and relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with great amenities and staff

Posted May 12, 2017
Cons: Billing in the restaurant, increase in indoor pool timming.
Location: Amazing,just perfect!
Great Hotel and for sure one of the top three I have every seen in the world, great breakfast, great staff, great amenities, only billing in the restaurant by the pool was a big issue and was taking more than 30 minutes to get the bill, rooms are amazing and Golf experience is unforgettable! Would recommend to any one looking for the best hotel in Lisbon area.
5 out of 5
by Peter

A Ritz Carlton Resort

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
This is a very beautiful place with good restaurants and calm surroundings. The only negative part was that the outside pool was freezing at our visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels