Ratings based on 900 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Cons: my room needs a clean cushion on the desk chair...it was soiled and I covered it with a towel before sitting on it. Thank you
I really appreciate the low cost and great service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice motel

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: nothing
Location: close to fairgrounds
close to fairgrounds, clean, quiet, good breakfast, good staff and more words words words words words do expedia will be happy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southern MN

Amazing quality for the price

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Clean, large room, clean bathroom, wonderful breakfast selection. Everything worked!
Cons: Don't change a thing!
Location: I was less than a mile from the convention center. Easy to get there from the motel.
I have stayed at many budget motels. GuestHouse is the best ever. Great room, wonderful selection at continental breakfast, amazing bargain for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sioux Falls, SD

Outside looked good

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Easy to get to.
Cons: Shower pressure, clean vent in bathroom, fix the veneer, etc. see above complaints.
Location: Walked to eat place and easy to get to motel.
Outside looked good, check in was quick, staff's appearance was questionable. Once in the room, it looked clean, beds were "soft and saggy", also upon moving or rolling over were noisey. Bathroom vent was filthy, looked like it had not been cleaned for years or never. The shower was terrible, no pressure and hard to understand how to use. No hot tub, I was disappointed in that, I like to relax at nite and especially that nite as the next day was surgery day for me. Cosmetically the room's door was veneer chipped, we had to "fix" the drape upon arrival to keep the light out. I could go on, but am glad I did not pay "full price of $199" for the room. I do not think the pictures I looked at online was this motel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sioux falls

Nice hotel for the money

Posted Jan 6, 2017
We had a nice stay , the staff was nice and helpful . The breakfast ws good and there was plenty of food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from IOWA-SD

Anniversary night out and shopping w/granddaughter

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: BELGIAN WAFFLES!!! pretty good breakfast. friendly breakfast lady! affordable with a small pool.
Cons: new carpet in the guest room we stayed in. it was raved and frayed by bathroom door and between the beds there are carpet thread standing up 2-3" up.
Location: quite close to outback and cracker barrel to eat. Lowe's, home depot, northern tools and Walmart to shop.
we got to town a bit late, went to the place I wanted to check out(fonders). got what I needed. so headed to the hotel. checked in and had to quickly change into going-out clothes. my daughter offered to take us out for supper for our anniversary(surprise gift). went to olive garden, but the wait was 45 min, so called outback. they said the wait time was 15 min., so went there, but still waited for over 30 min. good food and quite a bouncy waitress. then we were off to see falls park at night. I had heard that the water coming over the falls was colored and beautiful. NOT on Thursday night. the trees were lit up very nicely. back to hotel it get some sleep. it was too noisy to suit my husband, like toilets flushing, showers running, doors slamming, running in the halls, loud traffic and then the little munchkin who didn't want to got to sleep. breakfast was pretty good. then off to get hubby's shopping interests in. bought some things that we weren't planning on but that's ok. BEST part was to spend time with the little munchkin(6 years old). how fun but time consuming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Friendly staff, comfortable room and very reasonable price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dirty. Creepy, rude, lazy man at front desk

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Man at front was so rude and lazy. Sarcastic. Not helpful or at all warm. First and second requested room- dirty!!! Tubs with hair balls, pubic hair in bed, knob on heater broken, room by properly stocked had to request coffee cups, lotion and shampoo. Bedding smelled like body odour. Disgusting. Housekeeping loud and boisterous through hallways with no concern for sleeping guests with later checkout due to late arrival in wee hours of morning. Don't book here!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by DUR, Hotel Management
The check in was early afternoon in order to have met the "creepy Lazy man" as you put it because he does not work overnights, First room may have been dirty but there was no complaint of the second room.. Upset guest because room she requested was rented to a stay over and was advised that if room was available she could have it. The Person in the room had been there for 5 days and had extended for another 5 days. Not the motel policy to ask guests to move from their room. As i am sure had the tides been turned she would not have moved or even thought of it being acceptable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nebraska

A bed

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Staff was pleasant
Cons: Take your pick. Made me feel a little unsafe
Location: Restaurant next door but I did not try it as I was just looking for a place to crash for the nite.
Place was in pretty rough shape. I think they were doing a little renovation. The low price made sense for the current state of the hotel. The staff was very pleasant. I am not sure if I would stay there again .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Cons: Needs a hot tub and more lighting in the rooms. My room was very dark as there was only two lamps and the bathroom light.
Very friendly staff, fairly clean room(I used to be a housekeeper so I have very high standards), nice breakfast, quiet. Overall a wonderful stay, but it needs a hot tub. Has a pool; forgot my swimsuit. I would've spent the money and bought a new one if they had a hot tub too.