Ratings based on 574 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was ok.
Disappointing room. Keys wouldn't work even after getting different ones. Only 2 bath towels provided and no hand towel or washcloths. In general the whole room needed to be updated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice inexpensive hotel close to the interstate.

Posted May 23, 2017
Not a bad place to stay but the breakfast was lacking. All in all not bad.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Absolute Misery

Posted May 22, 2017
Cons: The hotel could be upgraded and staff could be properly trained to not charge someone's card when a room was already paid for.
I booked my room and paid for it through Expedia. When I checked in, the hotel also charged my credit card. I was not aware of this until we were returning home from our trip and my card was declined for the next room I was trying to book. I contacted the hotel multiple times regarding this charge and after about a week I received a call saying the charge would be refunded. It has been 2 more weeks and the charge still has not been refunded. I disputed the charge with my credit card company and they are now telling me that Microtel is refusing to refund the charge. I WILL NOT be using Microtel Inn any longer. The same thing happed to me when I checked in at Microtel in Conway Arkansas, but I called them and they refunded the fee promptly. I'm not sure why this Hotel in Sioux Falls won't refund the charge even after I faxed them a copy of where I paid through Expedia and where they charged me themselves.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recomendef

Posted May 20, 2017
current condition not recommended, but they are currently remodeling, doors on cabinets not hinged, bathtub clogged, slim pickings for breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bismarck, ND

Needs work

Posted May 20, 2017
Stayed at the same hotel two years ago and liked it very much. That's why I booked it for our stay recently. We were very disappointed with the cleanliness of the room as well as the smell in the hallway in the elevator. The floor in the walls in a very dirty. Portions of the ceiling in the bathroom and falling down. I will not stay there again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017
Cons: beds
Location: the location was great
staff was ok, but need new beds and cleaner rooms. The bathroom was not clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgusting condition

Posted May 18, 2017
Hotel is dirty. Big spots on carpeting in the room. Paint peeling. Breakfast consists of hot toast and cool coffee. Expedia' rating system is way off on this one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brookings sd

When I went to take a shower they hadn't cleaned t

Posted May 17, 2017
When I went to take a shower they hadn't cleaned the shower nor cleaned out the persons prior shampoo or hair all over the bathtub. And when I went to make a comment to the person at the front desk they didn't even look at me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

it was really depressing-small-not really dirty

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Nothing-almost went somewhere else-there were ants in the room
Cons: evertthing
Location: We had dinner at Hyvee and it was awesome
The breakfast was awful. The things that were supposed to be there were empty!!!!! i was really disappointed- I would never stay in one again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, Minnesota

Inexpensive, but...

Posted May 15, 2017
The hotel was well priced. The room was quite small, but adequate for our needs. There seemed to be a lack of pride in workmanship with some of the finishing in the room, which did not affect our stay. Saturday night's stay with less pleasant, as there is not a lot of soundproofing, and there were a lot of loud guests. Especially at two and 3 o'clock in the morning. The shower pressure was good, but the drain did not work very well, so even after a four minute shower I was standing in water up to my ankles. it was a very economical hotel, and I got what I paid for. It wasn't terrible, but I likely won't stay there again.