Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was a nice place to stay very affordable

Posted Oct 24, 2016
I enjoyed staying here it was clean and affordable. It came with a full size refrigerator and stove top also a kitchen sink. I liked that it was close to the highway and easy to find. The only thing I didn't like is it was just a full size bed and with 2 people it was a bit small. It would of been much better stay if it was a queen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again. Matt Onnen General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Inexpensive, but not worth the money your spending

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Kitchen was clean. They told us at check-in that if we were on the national sex offender list that we would be asked to leave. So we felt safe 😕
Cons: Beds and pillows. It is what it advertises, a bare minimum place to stay. Just not was I was expecting based on reviews.
We stayed 2 nights. The room was clean. But the bed is basically a cot. It's a 3-4 inch mattress on a metal frame with slats for support. The pillows were terrible. Also super thin. Made it hard to sleep. The kitchen was very clean which I appreciated. People would congregate outside the hotel enterences and it was difficult to get inside. Then,even though you could hear the hotel staff behind the shut metal barricade that was the front desk, you had to call them on a phone and then slip them the keys under the barricade. It was a strange experience I wasn't expecting. I felt safe, but I probably won't stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do appreciate your comments and will make every effort to address your concerns. We hope you will consider staying with us again and give us a chance to make it up to you. Thanks again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice surprise.

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Colleen was awesome! She helped me with my TV and even greeted me by name at check out. Can't complain about the price.
Cons: Missed a printed tv guide.
Was not expecting a hotel with long term guests and was a little leery with the list of rules and policies. When I got to my room, I was well pleased with the cleanliness and amenities. Good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business and hope you consider Value Place again in the future. Matt Onnen General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sioux Falls, SD

Noisy

Posted Nov 2, 2015
There were noises around me from both walls and ceiling. I think these walls and ceilings were not properly insulated. I can't get sleep well in this hotel. I could hear even noise from the hallway when somebody's passing my room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Motel stay

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Location: Hard to find at night if you've never been there before. No signs at entry drives.
Building was new and clean. Handicapped facility was adequate. Male staff was very helpful. Amenities are nonexistant, which is fine. However the rooms do have a well-placed kitchen with stove, sink, and frig. I appreciated not being bothered by cleaning staff at the crack of dawn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Matt Onnen General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dirty, cheap.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Price
Cons: Everything, They could clean the rooms, wash the towels, have reasonable beds, maintain their entry doors, wash the walls, clean the showers...
Location: Location is poor, right next to a cement plant, so enjoy that thick layer of concrete dust on your car.
The hotel is broken down, and very dirty and smelly. The entrance doors sometimes work. The room doors do not close well. The rooms are dirty, the beds are not comfortable, the towels are stained and gross. The ONLY redeeming factor is the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MIssouri

Expedia messup

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: none
Cons: none
Location: none
Expedia overbooked my reservation. Value Place won't accept my reservation due to overbook. It caused me frustration to find a place for rest day from Sturgis. Expedia should check system before accept my reservation. The clerk was in bad attitude and rude to us. We don't appreciate this.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Not sure it's a Hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Horrible experience ever! I'm not sure it's a Hotel at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MIKE from Sioux Falls, SD

Very Pleased.

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: Value and cleanliness.
Cons: No complaints.
Location: Location is clean and in good condition. I think some rooms are being updated. Couple fast food places close but nicer eating locations are close by.
This is a newer building and kept in very good condition. I wouldn't consider any other hotel/motel in Sioux Falls for extended stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Verlin from Mesa Az.

Easy access

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: inexpensive for extended stay.
Cons: Noise factor. Lots of freeway noise and doors to rooms very noisey when closing.
Location: Close to freeway and downtown. City zoo within about 3 miles. Downtown museums easy to get to.
Close to activities like the zoo and museums downtown.