Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean room, friendly staff, underwhelming hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at Askoc during the last two nights of our visit to Istanbul and it was ok. Apparently it had been newly renovated, but it didn't stand out as an amazing hotel. The water temperature in the shower fluctuated from scalding hot to luke warm while showering, the shower doors didnt fully close, and the bed was rather soft. However, the hotel staff were very kind and accommodating when we needed to arrange for our airport shuttle and an early breakfast. The breakfast, also underwhelming. We noticed that things in Istanbul aren't quite up to the standards we have from visiting other places, so from that perspective this was probably a fantastic hotel. However, the first few nights of our stay we stayed in a much cheaper hotel and it was just as nice but the location wasn't quite as good. Overall, if you're considering staying at the Askoc it is clean and the staff are friendly. Also, the turkish bath/sauna were nice, but again, just not up to the standards that a Swiss and American are used to.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed 2 nights. Very good location. Nice view from the terrace but it was empty. People were coming to the terrace for a smoke only. Room was very small, but the biggest disappointment was breakfast. Breakfast area was too small to fit all hotel guests, there were simply no tables (both mornings).
4 out of 5
by Animesh from New Delhi

Good Stay. Brilliant Location. Recommended.

Posted Jun 9, 2015 on Hotels
The stay was good. The hotel is less than 100 meters from Tram Station (Sirkeci) and even lesser from metro station (Maramaray Line - Sirkeci Station). The Eminonu dock is less than a KM (for Bosphorus boat ride and other ferry for local travel). Hotel staff is courteous and can speak English. Facilities at the hotel are good.
4 out of 5
by David from New York

Get a front room

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels
The first night I had a room at the back of the hotel. Was hot and air-conditioner was not adequate. Move to a front room with a view and a cool breeze. Made all the difference.
4 out of 5
by Rob from London

Business Trip to Istanbul

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels
Good location, good internet access that was free, but charging 5 lira for ironing my shirt was poor. I have stayed here before and the staff are good and the location is good. However they should provide irons/ironing boards free of charge. Also I requested a double bed but got two singles. Despite this, I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neil from glasgow

Good hotel - excellent value for money

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Staff, location and view
Cons: nothing
Nice hotel which is centrally located for exploring the main sites in Istanbul. Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, nice room and a good view. Would definitely recommend and would use again on another trip to Istanbul.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from New York, NY

Istanbul

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Great location, great staff. Biggest problem is NO READING LAMP...no rooms have them and next time I will buy one.
Cons: LAMPS. Also the hallways can be noisy and I heard snoring from the next room. It is a problem, but I will likely stay there again. GREAT shower.
Location: Near the boats. Near everything.
I will get back as soon as I can.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2015 by Gulsah, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Peter, Your happiness and pleasure is our pleasure also. Whenever you want, you are always welcome to come again. Hope to accommodate you again at our hotel with pleasure... Kind Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mustafa from London

Nice new hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: New, clean, located within walking distance of major tourist sites, tram station and restaurants.
Cons: Friendliness of staff, breakfast offering.
Location: Opposite a train station that runs an underground train through a tunnel under the Bosporus from the European to Asian side.
At first we were apprehensive as the hotel is opposite a train station that is being redeveloped and there is construction right opposite (as at October 2013). However the hotel is newly built with good rooms, bathrooms, swimming pool which is rare in Sultanahmet and restaurant. The only disappoint aspects are the food in the restaurant especially the breakfast is disappointing and the staff especially the pool attendants could have been friendlier.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2015 by Gulsah, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Mustafa, I would like to inform you that now there isn't any construction opposite of our hotel. Even, through the completed construction (Marmaray) you could be able to Anatolian side just in few minutes. For trying our more varied breakfast and friendly staff, please come again to our hotel... Kind Regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from purmerend

Super uitzicht, wel oude facilitatie

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Super personeel die hun best doen. Hoewel het hotel net een grote opknapbeurt heeft gehad moet er nog veel gebeuren. Super locatie met geweldig uitzicht, wel extra betalen hiervoor!!! Al niet helemaal tevreden, toch een aanrader.....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in zentraler Lage zur Besichtigung

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Location: Das Hotel liegt absolut zentral für die gesamten Sehenswürdigkeiten und eine tolle Verkehrstechnische Anbindung
Die Zimmer sind o.k. aber es kann nicht sein das das Zimmer direkt über den gesamten Lüftungs-Klimaanlagen liegt. Der Ausblick eine Katastrophe und der Lärm ist auch eine Zumutung. Es waren eigentlich genügend Zimmer frei mit Ausblick aufs Meer aber dieses Zimmer geht gar nicht.