Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not worth the price

Posted Jul 11, 2016
With the recent refurbishment of the restaurant, we thought the rooms would be better--not so. Small room so beds are jammed up against walls, tired mattresses, ugly 70s furniture, and an old metal stackable banquet chair just kind of sitting awkwardly between the foot of the bed and the tv stand. Our room on the second floor looked out onto the back entrance alley of Ernie's Old Time Saloon and was unbelievably noisy until 3am. When I asked for a different room or at least a discount, they answered that they couldn't do anything about the crowd or the music. No effort made to care about their guests comfort. This should have been more in the range of a $60 room (Alaska prices). For the price of this hotel, go to the Shee Atika on Lincoln Street--it will be a MUCH nicer room with a quiet night's rest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap & close to everything

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Pros: It was the perfect location
Cons: Beds are uncomfortable & rooms need fans
Location: Everything is nearby
Hotel was clean, very basic but I didn't need much
3 out of 5
by Bill from Reno

Good basic room in Sitka.

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: Convenience to airport, comfortable, morning coffee.
If you are spending a night in Sitka on your way to a fishing camp, the Sitka Hotel meets your needs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to town and harbor.

Posted Jul 25, 2013
We only spent one night. They picked us up at the airport they were on time. Rooms were ok. No A/C. Restaurant was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana, USA

Disappointing stay

Posted Sep 7, 2012
Pros: Walking distance to attractions
Cons: Hard Mattresses
Location: Downtown Sitka
The room was large, two double beds and a single bed. My main problem was the very hard mattresses. Both my husband and I had trouble sleeping because of the mattresses. The room was clean except for a very large soiled area on the carpeting. No hair dryer and very small bath towels were a negative. On the plus side, this room had a microwave and a small refrigerator. I would not stay here again because I did not sleep well.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You can do better....

Posted Jun 12, 2012
Pros: None
Location: Downtown
Cheap and reasonably clean....otherwise, not much good to say: the bathtub was in the closet while the sink and toilet were in a separate room.....noise all night, overlooked an alley, indifferent front desk staff. There are few options in Sitka....this would be my hotel room of last resort....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average

Posted Jun 4, 2012
Pros: The view
Location: great
The service was blah not exceptional I had a great view The room was average no room services.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Currumbin, QLD, Australia

All you need

Posted Jul 19, 2011
Overall what more do you need? Comfortable room with comfortable bed. The room could do with a small fridge for extended stays like ours but otherwise everything is within walking distance of the hotel. We would definitely stay there again if need be.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Don't stay here...

Posted Nov 3, 2010
My initial impression was cautiously favorable. Old fashioned charm...but once in the room my heart sank. Room was not clean, those old-style bedspreads that don't get laundered after each use, thin, thin walls (I could hear every word a man talking on the phone at 7 am the next morning was saying, as well as the loud,obnoxious laugh of one of the employees). As a woman traveling to Sitka alone on business, I did not feel safe. The doors only had a little turn lock meaning anyone with a key could enter the room. No bolt for extra security. The only thing wonderful was the incredible view. I checked out first thing next morning and walked to another hotel.
3 out of 5
by Hiro from New York, NY

Good hotel for value

Posted Jul 19, 2010
Clean, quiet and central location. That's what I wanted. If there is a coffee maker in the room, in stead of hot coffee service in the lobby, my stay got perfect. Anyway, I got pretty satisfied with the hotel as a whole.