Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sunriver, OR

central to downtown access, lovely water views

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: instant pickup from airport, breakfast buffet convenient, authentic & friendly staff
Cons: with age, all doors tend to go out of round....... is it time to realign doors so the door locks can be trusted?
Location: Russian orthodox church and nearby fort/redoubt, docks and fishboats, tourist traps, the 4th of July, the live separate bear & bird sanctuaries
We were spending a month's vacation in the AK panhandle and considered Sitka one of the important "Panhandle" cities/towns to reveal the nature of SE AK. Great walking city! Good choices for dining. The smell of saltwater mixed with the Tongass tree scent, divine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was way overpriced even for Sitka

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Cons: Staff service, room amenities and price.
Location: Location very good within walking distance of attractions.
Very small room with no amenities. Staff very un helpful. When we asked about the shuttle bus schedule to an attraction they seemed confused and then gave us the wrong information.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, nice bedroom, acceptable.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Good place to stay in Sitka, downtown. You don´t go to Alaska for luxury hotel, hotels are expensive for what you get but Alaska is great, the best place to see.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Big price moderate value

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: It was in Sitka
Cons: Mattress. Staff that could answer basic local questions.
Location: excellent restaurant only about 2-3 minute want away called Ludvigs. Don't eat anywhere else. Great food. Excellent staff. Owner is the chef.
The hotel was acceptable but would have been 75-100 in the mainland USA. Being in Sitka Alaska I suppose the competitions as limited. When I book it the web site said only a few rooms left, this was at least a month before, so I took it. I don't think I saw more than 5 people around the property so I think I was mislead, but that's shame on me. Anyway for $247 it was a basic room with a worn out mattress that was not comfortable. Your choices in Sitka are limited. But for the price the mattress should have been newer. Rooms were clean, staff moderate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Aug 12, 2015
The location was perfect, the bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the staff was friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Nice hotel one block from downtown Sitka

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: The restaurant had a great view right on the water but the menu was fast food and okay but not great.
Location: Nearby Totem Park has nice walking and/ or running trails. Raptor Center and Fortress of the Bears should not be missed.
Room was comfy but too warm. No AC. Noisy when window was open. Wake up call was 10 minutes late.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Great location, but awful restaurant & food. Westmark was better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice location

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff was OK, worked to get us in before normal check-in.
Cons: It would be nice, especially at the price paid for the room(s) if they provided at least a continental breakfast.
Location: Sitka is a small town with almost everything in walking distance. The exceptions are the Bears and the Beer tastings. Bring some good walking shoes.
We had just gotten off a cruise and arrived a bit before the normal check-in time and had to wait around for a while. The staff put our bags in a closet during the wait time so we could walk around town. When my wife and I did check-in the room was rather small and the bed requested on the original reservation was listed as a queen size, it was a twin. Although the room was clean the paint on the walls was scratched up from luggage and chairs. Having been to Sitka before I would have expected the weather to be cold and raining, but the sun was out and it warm. This made the room exceptionally warm (south facing view room) and there was only a small noisy exhaust fan to cool the room down. We ended up opening the window to cool things down, which allows the street and parking lot noise in. Luckily there is not a lot of night life in Sitka, so by 11:00 PM it was quite outside. There was no breakfast available at the hotel, not sure who owns or operates the restaurant there, but it wasn't open until 11:00 AM. You have two choices, walk into town to the parent hotel, The Westmark or to the Fly and Fish Inn. Fly and Fish in was nice and a bit cheaper too. It would have been nice, especially with the prices paid for the room to at least have a continental breakfast provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Good staff and shuttle available
Cons: Communication between Expedia and the hotel to ensure booking is registered
Location: Well positioned to town and shopping
When we arrived our booking was not noted. The staff did well to put us into their emergency room which was excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Poor choice in Sitka

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Location , restaurant
Cons: Badly needs upgrades. More thought given to guest comfort. Would not recommend.
Small room, cheap. Few amenities. Good location. Good restaurant.