Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Jul 9, 2017
5 day trip with 2 days of fishing. Comfortable and gad nice views to the harbor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central and comfortable

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Well presented and located hotel. Let down only by very poor woman-for and internet access.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
I travel a lot for work, stay in a lot of hotels (80 nights per year average), and think this hotel is totally average though charging as if they were well above average. The rooms are comfortable but very small ... an old style of rooms which have been upgraded but no way to modernize the configuration or size. Recent hotel upgrades appear to have been a mixture of new furniture and bedding with a surprising amount of retained old stuff. Rooms have some modern touches, but retained some furniture other than the bed as a hold over from before remodeling, resulting in an odd mix of modern and distressed. Not a big deal, just suggesting "on the cheap" for the remodel. Also, parking is a joke at this hotel, maybe 12 spaces total. If you have a car (I always do), it's not good. If the hotel charged half of what they did for my visit, that would be a fit, in my opinion.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Good location to downtown

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Restaurant was good
Location: Good restaurants within walking distance.
The location was good. The hotel is looking pretty tired in the rooms, bathrooms especially. They were decorated for Halloween which was cool, however they had motion activated "scare features" that become extremely annoying. We were sitting in the lobby trying to watch a game on the TV and every 15 seconds someone would set one off and all you heard was screaming. The last thing Ill add is the TV's were fuzzy on almost every channel. Some to the point that you couldn't watch the channel. If they got these issues fixed I would say this hotel would be a solid 3-3.5.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, WA

Central location in Sitka

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Orbitz
From orbitz pic I thought I would be viewing marina from room. Great location, no view tho
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel, good service. The free airport shuttle was great! The hotel is in a great location to walk to almost everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Passing through Sitka on way to fishing lodge

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Stayed one night before moving on to Baronof Widerness lodge. Ok clean room. Helpful staff. In town. Has an airport shuttle. Ok restaurant and has a nice bar with no smoking ( yes you can smoke in bars in Alaska). Expensive, but everything is in Alaska.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Why

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Checked in for three nights on a business trip. Went to my room on the third floor and immediately knew this would not work. The rooms besides being small have no ventilation except that the window and door. My room was over the entrance where the smokers bench was located and the gathering point for tours. With the window closed warm and stuffy with smokey and loud. As I entered the room I called the front desk and asked for another room and was told no, none available! The next morning I had to take an attitude to the front desk and was assigned another roo top floor and Marina view. The next two days was much better. The restaurant is also very good. I am getting the opinion that when you book a third party like Hotels.com you immediately become second class.
3 out of 5
by Robert from St. Paul

Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
I believe the facilility is adequate for the clientele that they have (fishing industry workers, or other migrant workers that come in for log periods). The area is extremely limited for hotel choices. The facility needs to spend time repairing damage in common areas. The quality of furnishes, linens , and towels is on the lower end of quality. A little maintenance would go a long way to increasing the overall experience .
3 out of 5
by Kristen E.

Business trip

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Orbitz
My flight arrived late so I was already very tired but when I arrived at the hotel to find there was very little parking, I was very frustrated. This is a fairly large hotel (I was on the 5th floor) and there were maybe 15 parking spots. As late as it was when I arrived, they were all taken. I parked in the handicap space (the only space available) and went in to ask where to park and the staff was unable to offer any suggestions. We ended up parking across the street at Subway which made for an anxious night not knowing the the vehicle would be towed or ticketed by morning. When I opened the door to my room, I was very disappointed by the smell. It was not very pleasant so ended up sleeping with my window open. I found the bed to be comfortable but I still didn't sleep well due to the hard rain and unusal sounds outside due to having the window open all night.