Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by michelle from brighton


Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
Staff very helpful, and a delightful full English breakfast, room fantastic.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tonge barm disaster

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Staff attitude
Location: We only attended a celebration in the area
After driving from Norfolk we were informed there were no rooms available to us even though we had booked three months earlier. We did not receive any communication from them at all. We were told after a discussion that they had booked two room at a Premier Inn in Sittingbourne. Our friends who had also booked were told there was no beds available in the Sittingbourne area. Our accommodation was a lot dearer and next to the railway line but we had no choice. We will never use that Tonge Barn again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
After a very bad journey we arrived to be told, at first that we did not have a reservation. After we said we have confirmation letter in the car they suddenly found the reservation but then told us that due to a fire inspection the day before our accommodation was no longer available. We were then told that they had managed to find us two rooms at a Premier Inn twenty minutes away. This has left us with £48 out of pocket and stress. We are in the process of writing to the hotel direct as we are really disgusted with our treatment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Paul from Cheshire UK

Cannot recommend this hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2015 on Hotels
When selecting a B&B or hotel I generally look at the range of reviews and work out what I should expect as an average. With Tonge Barn this approach didn’t work. I should have believed the worst reviews. The room was small. The only hanging space for clothes was a line of hooks on a wall above a bed. The lighting was insufficient. The only natural light and air came from a window that looked onto a corridor, so could only be used with a total loss of all privacy. The bathroom was small and badly designed with a shelf protruding above the tiny wash hand basin making it very difficult to use. We could hear conversations going on in the rooms either side of ours. When a train ran along the track behind the barn (and they were frequent), the room and bed shook. The final straws were no hot water to the basin in the bathroom and the light above the basin having been disconnected, with screws and bare wires in evidence. The young lady running the place was very pleasant, as helpful as possible and most apologetic but there were obvious limits to what she could do. There was no alternative room. We asked for and received a full refund. Left and drove home through the night rather than stay here. The place is delightfully landscaped and beautifully presented. Unfortunately I fear that practicality has played a poor second fiddle to style. We could not stay at this place, nor can we recommend it.
4 out of 5
by Maria Pilar from BARCELONA


Posted Jun 9, 2015 on Hotels
Pues la estancia fue corta pero confortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Beautiful outside, not what I expected inside.

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: Bed was very comfortable. Beautiful scenery.
Cons: The website needs to show other types of twin room available not to give the impression you get the exclusive looking private accommodation.
Location: Nothing out of the ordinary to do but nice rural looking setting.
This is without a doubt a stunning location. The buildings are beautiful from outside and in the main entrance to the guesthouse the interior is just lovely. However, when booking online the images for a twin room make it look like paying the extra you get the individual looking accommodation with the high beam ceilings, when in fact, when we got there we were taken into a normal looking hotel room. It was immaculate, very clean, but small. The bathroom was tiny and the bed was very comfortable but it just wasn't what we thought we were getting for our money. We have nothing against this type of accommodation but had we known we weren't going to get the room we thought we were purchasing we probably wouldn't have booked it. The staff were lovely though and we can't fault that. The train however you can hear very loud and vibrates overtime it goes by which was a disappointment and where we were in a room attached to the corridor of the main house, it was loud in the mornings with hoovering and people coming and going,
4 out of 5
by Phillippa from Bedford

Lovely place

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely stay, comfy room not much in surrounding villages for families to do or eat but would go back and recommend
4 out of 5
by hendrikus

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels