Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartlepool, UK

Eccentric but enjoyable.

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Great staff, George couldn't be more helpful. Good facilities but pool music was too noisy and more for the pool bar staff than the guests. Loved the animals and great food. Location of hotel great, 200m from the beach and about 500m from the village centre of Skala Kallonis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Brilliant accommodation and staff

Posted Jun 18, 2017
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff, especially Miki has been great to us. Nothing not to like about the hotel. Clean, well taken care of and relaxing.
Cons: WiFi reaches the rooms with weak signal that frequently drops out and slow other times; but works great at reception. Maybe a booster would be helpful
Location: Centrally located convenient location to pretty much anywhere and all important sites for sightseeing. Cant go wrong with this hotel.
Excellent location and clean comfortable accommodation; good food. Family owned and run; Miki takes very good care of their guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2017
Excellent place to stay, the room was very tidy, comfortable and relaxing. The breakfasts were very nice and appetising we hope to book another holiday at the same hotel next year for 2 No. weeks?
5 out of 5
by Solomon

Lovely Greek family hotel

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
It was a family run hotel, staff were really friendly and helpful, location is peaceful and around 5 minutes walk away from the great beach and 10 minutes from the village. The hotel has a small collection of animals which is great for children. Hotel has outdoor swimming pool and wifi (though this can be a bit slow in the rooms).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Helena, Montana USA

Quiet and lovely place

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Location on the Kolpos Kalonis Bay allowed us to easily reach our other destinations.
Cons: Our shower door wasn't working. The staff made temporary repairs and we easily adjusted.
Location: We had a nice walk along the bay into the village.
We were greeted by warm and friendly staff. Our room was comfortable and light with a balcony. The food was delicious, plentiful and well prepared. We look forward to another visit.
4 out of 5
by Eric R from USA

Best Service Ever

Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels
I travel for a living, staying in hotels a minimum of 160 nights per year and this was the best service i have ever received. When compared to an above average hotel in the west (USA) this might be a step down in comfort. However, the rooms were spotless, the internet was amazingly fast (faster than any other area on the island, by far) and the food was the freshest you will ever taste. Home cooked and grown by owners George and Effy (sp?). We truly enjoyed our stay and when we suddenly had to check out early , George rushed to put together a take away lunch for us. You don't get that service in a Hilton, Westin, etc in the states. The area was quaint, nice little beach and neat fishing village nearby. Some of the other tourist areas, small towns and harbors were less than a hour drive. This hotel is a little out of the way ,but if you want a peaceful, family oriented place with the best food, it's worth the drive.
5 out of 5
by margendy from east grinstead

wonderful

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels
Second year we have gone to this hotel with my son and grandson who is four and a half..So perfect for children, the hotel, the pool, the beach, the town. George owner of Malemi is delightful and very helpful. Very clean rooms and lovely setting sorrounded by fields and goats and sheep and Georges managery of birds. We hope to go again next year. Good for everyone. Only issue is that malemi private umberellas on beach were used by people not staying at Hotel so sometime there were no spaces
5 out of 5
by marilyn olson from vancouver, canada

excellent stay in Skala Kollonis

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels
we had a wonderful time-George and his staff made us feel very welcome. breakfast buffet was delicious and lots of choices including scrambled or fried eggs. Vigela made different towel decorations for our bed everyday-what fun!!!
5 out of 5
by Sandrawalks from Cumbria UK

Hotel Malemi for a great welcome & location

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels
A great holiday with the friendliest atmosphere created by George, Effie, their family & staff. Gardens full of flowering scented trees with small 2 storey buildings dotted around. Food plentiful & nourishing; home grown & cooked with local produce & homemade preserves. A wide variety of vegetables cooked in imaginative ways & of course Greek yogurt & honey. The wide choice at breakfast suited all nationalities. I liked the thoughtful provision of a variety herb teas. The public areas were eclectically furnished with many items of interest. Public and bed rooms were very comfortable. Our room was well soundproofed with double glazed balcony/patio doors, spacious, air conditioned & heated with a balcony overlooking the gardens. Pet animals & birds including a most amusing and very talkative parrot. The island of Lesvos is very unspoilt & at this time of year quiet & peaceful, most visitors being bird watchers or interested in flowers, often both. Skala Kalloni is well situated for these pursuits with quiet roads to all other areas of the island. In Spring find swathes of beautiful wild flowers, most memorable the deep red poppies & rarer orchids. For those prepared to walk on the excellent trails there is plenty more to see. Don't miss the petrified forest. If you like nature, sunshine, wholesome food, informality & good company then head for Hotel Malemi. You will be in good hands.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Margaret from London

Excellent

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: Facilities, Interesting soroundings, good pools Childrens playground Tennis court Good Bar. Clean rooms.
Cons: Transport for people like me who have a problem waliking the 20 minute walk into Skala Covering the food at breakafst as flies also like Cake etc.
Location: Great Beach for children, very safe, good Tavernas for eating.
Great for families. Good for couples. O.K. for singles. We had a very good experienxce and the owmer George was as helpful as could be. Hope to return 2 grannies one 3yr old with his Father