Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Fabulous superb views but should be adult only

Posted Aug 17, 2017
All but one of the reception staff were v friendly - she needs to improve her social skills! Pool area is lovely but ambience can be ruined by noisy children/ babies as there's nothing for them to do. Better to advertise it as an adult - over 16 hotel The breakfasts were ok - you tend to be pursued by wasps though We loved being a little away from the main town and went down to the bars and tavernas in the evenings by taxi or shuttle bus. Great piano and singer one evening
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Jul 29, 2017
A bit of a pot hole treck off the main bus route, ok if you hire a bike/quad, the gourmet thing is I think, a mistake, as their food is not as enjoyable as anywhere else in town to be honest. We only ate there once, the first night, it was too late to go out. Never again. The flavours were a bit either severe, or bland. Rooms great, staff great.
5 out of 5
by Robert

Great place to stay in Skiathos

Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at Kivo 7th - 19th May. As this was the beginning of the season the hotel did not have many guests, there were some room renovations being done and only a limited menu was available. Understanably the room rates are cheaper at this time but perhaps it could be mentioned on the website so guests are prepared and will not be dissapointed. Also the website had not yet been updated to say they no longer had a Sushi chef. However, the food that was available was very good thanks to an excellent chef and his team. The hotel provided a free shuttle to and from Skiathos town where there are lots of places to eat from fast food to gourmet restaurants. The position on top of the cliff means there are wonderful views and also the hotel is away from traffic noise so very peacefull. There are maps provided in receiption and are easy to follow for walking in the area. If you wish the very helpful Anna will give you ideas on where to eat out or you can book Sakis the driver to take you sightseeing for a small charge. All in all Kivo is a very friendly hotel in a beautiful position and we will return. By the way, we booked the pool suite - wow - it is worth the extra cost, the view from the private terrace is stunning.
4 out of 5
by steve from New York

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
What we liked: the staff, view, pool, location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic views

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Staff really helpful - lovely spot. Good breakfast and choice for evening meal.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

Amateur hour

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: Setting, view
Cons: Organization, staff
A nice property in a beautiful setting, but one of the most ineptly run hotels I've had the misfortune to stay in recently. Room was not ready despite our arrival a couple of hours after check-in time, and the young, clueless staff made us wait in the lobby for over an hour before they got room together. Meanwhile, we were not offered a coffee, no less a place to change into bathing suits to hang by the pool while we waited for the room. After we finally did get into the room to change, in the late afternoon, we were informed the pool would close at 6 so they could prepare the area for dinner service. A strange policy for summer in the Greek islands. What else? Wifi didn't work, and we had to wait to check email after dinner while an employee obliviously used the one computer dedicated for guest use. Bathroom had a nice rain shower head-- but no enclosure at all for shower, guaranteeing a flooded bathroom. In short, a fairly expensive disaster. Too bad, because it could be nice if grownup professionals were in charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasing hotel but a bit overpriced

Posted Aug 7, 2015
The hotel is a bit rusty but the view, food and staff are excellent! I think some renovation works need to be done and more facilities should be available for the rates they are charging.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Stunning view - a drug for me to relax immediately

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Atmosphere, view, staff
Cons: softer mattress
Just left the wonderful view across the sea and some small islands! A great location to relax and chill, with a personalised atmosphere and very outgoing friendly staff. A young team with customer focus in mind, creative approaches to presenting food, I loved every minute of my stay. Travelling by myself this time, I will come back with my husband soon! Be aware that you are far away from the town, 55 minutes to walk, but the courtesy bus makes a big difference, and for little money you can book it to pick you up and other times - worth doing!
5 out of 5
by KH from Thirsk North Yorkshire

beautiful views/fantastic friendly staff

Posted Jun 14, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Danville,Calif.

Our Stay at the KIVO

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: The ENTIRE STAFF!! Also, views, from the hotel, which is far up a steep hill, are spectacular! The hotel has nice artistic, colorful décor.
Cons: This hotel needs some renovation work, but that WILL be in process, because the hotel has plans to do so & "closed for the season", until May 1, 2015.
Location: The hotel is up a very steep hill, with spectacular views of the sea & "Old Town Skiathos". Good exercise is to hike down and enjoy walking around.
We checked in, upon arrival and taken to our assigned room. We were disappointed so we went back to the reception desk. The owner had arrived, so we sat down with her. She was more than willing to try to accommodate us, and said if we were willing to wait three days, she would put us in their TOP suite, at no extra charge, which she did. We were thrilled! This suite has its own beautiful private swimming pool/deck, with music system and books, etc.. The food was ABSOLUTE GOURMET! The ENTIRE STAFF were SUPER friendly and helpful! On our last night, we were TREATED to a SPECIAL gourmet dinner/wine! Fantastic! After dinner, the ENTIRE STAFF and the owner met with us to say goodbye and gave us gifts! The next morning we hauled our luggage to the hotel front, at 5:20A.M., as the hotel driver said he would take us to the airport at 5:30A.M.. When we met him, he asked us to come inside and surprised us! HE had prepared a SPECAIL breakfast for us! After BIG hugs "goodbye" I cried at the airport as we were so "touched" by all the kindness! Looking back, We feel that because we DID NOT act assertive and pushy, when we expressed our dissappointments with the owner, we were treated with MORE respect and understanding. The owner also has this same relationship with her employees, who were "above" and "beyond" Some of them are Vagelis, Dukas, Annastesia, Xenia, Sotoulis. They are ALL hard working and wanting to please.