Ratings based on 316 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located hotel due for an upgrade

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Stay was fine. Location was excellent. Evening meal is a nice touch. Room was small, functional. They may want to consider renovating soon. It's showing the years.
5 out of 5
by Vicki

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed three nights at the Clarion Gabelhus in Oslo. The room was comfortable and in a quiet neighborhood. We found a very easy walking route to the Aker Brugge that took about 15 minutes. The Clarion provides a buffet breakfast and a light supper buffet. There are nice sitting areas for reading or conversation. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Just a heads up about the shower situation: the folding circular doors create a very narrow shower space and they do not keep the water inside which leaves a bit of a puddle outside the shower when you exit. The towels could be upgraded in both size and quality as well as providing a bath mat to step on.
4 out of 5
by Gary

Strike two!

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
This was our second stay at this hotel in a month. Even though we arrived after 4pm we were told our room wasn't ready. The receptionist had to physically go and check as her phone call to house keeping was unanswered. She returned after a few minutes and we were given our keys. Last time our room wasn't ready until 5:20 pm. This is a nice hotel that we have used regularly in the past few years because of its location. Although, if we experience the same difficulty again we will be looking for alternative accommodation in the future.
5 out of 5
by Oda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warrington

Great breakfasts, free dinner, pleasant location

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Food was very good apart from Sunday night when greedy fellow guests appeared to have cleared all the meat from the free buffet. Free tea and coffee.
Cons: Kettle in the room for early morning tea. Linen trollies put away instead of lining the corridors.
Location: Quiet location. Nearby tramstop and supermarket. Few restaurants/bars open. Embassy district so appeared safe. Longish walk uphill to Frogner park.
My single room was well appointed although bathroom was tiny. The balcony opened on a fully enclosed yard so little natural light came into the room. The bed was comfortable. Wifi worked well although unsecured. Most staff very helpful but difficult to lock the bedroom door despite asking about this no useful advice from receptionist who gave very poor directions to our rooms on arrival. The hotel is a maze of confusing corridors. We eventually got the information we needed from the maintenance man. We used the stairs as my companion is uneasy in lifts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant residential area not far from centre

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Nice quiet room, very courteous reception and kitchen staff. Pleasant public areas for relaxing.
Cons: Everything was excellent
Location: Pleasant 15 minute walk to centre and to Akerbrygge shops and cafes (or take nearby tram)
Excellent breakfasts, very adequate complementary evening meals
5 out of 5
by Per Arne

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel really makes you feel welcome. Super service from early morning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

They are terrific

Posted Oct 4, 2016
We stayed for 4 days, then returned 3 weeks later. They stored a piece of our luggage during this time. Good price, includes breakfast and dinner. Easily accessible on the tram. We will return for sure.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great time here and the breakfast was great. The room was small but fine for a two night stay. The bathroom was the smallest I had ever seen but functional.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
Wifi didn't work in the room