Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Darlowo

Like Dormitory; overpriced

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on CheapTickets
Old dormitory and school; extremly overpriced. Need refurbishing - now!
2 out of 5
by Kari

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
The beds were comfortable, but there was no air circulation at all in the room. We paid 400.00 for the room, breakfast was not included, they wanted another 29.00 per person for breakfast, I would not stay there again.
2 out of 5
by Oleksandr

Not satisfied with a quality for money we paid!

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
It doesn't worse the money we paid for our room!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Will not recommend

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: the location is really good, right off the rainbow falls and has nice views.
Cons: At least upgrade all the plumbing and eliminate the smell from the drain. Its really disgusting.
Location: right off the rainbow falls which is a walking distance and have a lot of cows nearby. Great place for pictures.
This is a very old fashioned hotel with shared bathroom and toilets, which I don't really mind that, but the shower room and the sinks have this smells from the drain like sulfur and its disgusting. The room is tiny and the bed is not comfortable, pillows is thin like paper, both me and my wife couldn't really sleep that night. The detached hotel rooms have no security by the door which we don't feel safe for the night. I would say even a motel is better than this hotel.
3 out of 5
by Michael

Basic but comfortable.

Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was formerly a boarding school residence. We were in the annex down the road from the main hotel. It is getting pretty worn but it is very clean. We had a shared bathroom which we avoid if possible but accommodation in Iceland is in short supply in some areas so we just got on with it and we actually never had to wait to use a bathroom. We slept very well as the bed was comfortable and it was very quiet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old musty dormitory!

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Very near the Skogafoss falls which is breathtaking, many hiking trails.
To say this hotel was disappointing would be an understatement! The lack of care was obvious when we walked into the building our room was located in - not the main building but the smaller "guest" house to the left - and there were dead evergreen boughs in the planters. The building smelled musty, our "dorm" rooms had a sink, the one in my room was leaking on the floor. The carpet in the hall was dirty and very sad. There was one toilet for women and one toilet for men in the hallway and two shared showers. We paid over $300 for two rooms for one night because a triple was not available - the breakfast buffet was not included. Go down the street to the hostel right near Skogafoss, looked clean and the buffet was better and cheaper.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Front desk young man was very helpful and personable but both the dinner waitress and breakfast attendant both female had zero personality. We asked the attendant for a refill at 9 am on the only hot offering and were told no when they didn't shut down until 9:30. Dinner there was good with a lovey view of the lake. Biggest negative was the room and water smelled so bad of sulfur it was gagging. Other places may have had a faint smell of sulfur from their shower but this was too overwhelming. The bed was very comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

This is a hostel

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Location – incredibly beautiful setting
Cons: Just about everything else, but the showers were hands-down the worst part of this entire stay.
Location: Location was beautiful, great hiking, beautiful waterfalls
This is a hostile, and not even a nice one. The mattress is uncomfortable the room is tiny and a little dilapidated, and the showers are awful. Breakfast is expensive and not very good, and they run out of coffee.
4 out of 5
by Rob

Decent place to stay next to the falls.

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
Great location- right next to the falls. Friendly staff that speaks English. Easy check in and check out. The rooms are decent sized. The beds are okay. Shared bathrooms are not great but okay. For the very expensive price for a 1.5 to 2 star hotel- it would be nice to have a private bathroom. I would stay here again if I was in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Ex school building

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Ebookers
We booked because there was no other availability in summer and this was the closest we could get to drive to jokulsaon. Clinical looking room with sink, think Carry on Matron. That's about it except for a framed picture of the class of '58 on the wall! Shared bathrooms in need of some TLC but clean. Moments from Skogafoss and close to solheimajokull and reynisfjara beaches.