Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016
It is walking distance to Skogar Falls. Facilities are quite basic. We had dinner there, and it was quite good.
4 out of 5
by Mark from Portsmouth

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Restaurant was a little expensive - overall the hotel was basic but great for our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great value with helpful staff

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Very clean, quiet, comfortable, and we had our own sink in the room! The staff went above and beyond to help us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GTA

Nice hotel, close to the falls

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: The location, the room
Cons: Vey steep price for breakfast.
Location: Easy to find, close to the falls and to the glaciers.
It's a student's residence turned into a hotel for the summer. The hotel is has everything needed for a couple of nights stay. Very good location, easy to find. Shared bathrooms are popular in Iceland, so can't complain about that. Basic room, basic amenities, nice and clean sheets and towels. Overall a nice place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Three Nights in Great Location.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Good location, large room size, clean, very professional staff. Overall, very pleasant experience.
1 out of 5
by Jenny from Montreal quebec

This is a Hostel not a Hotel as the name suggests

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
My mistake for booking a hostel even though it says Hotel Edda. No sink in our room even though it says you have a sink in the room. We were placed in a separate building with a very smelly odor in the hallway, old room with dead flies on the window sills. Bathroom was clean and shared with the sink. Separate shower was old and needed renovating. Wifi was only in the main lobby in the other building. No hot water in the morning. Very substandard for the price of this hostel. Not recommended at all. I don't know how the main building is but it looks a lot better than our location. I would have complained directly to them but didn't want to put a negative vibe in our vacation because Iceland was amazing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very basic.

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
Great location - next to the waterfall. room and hotel - very basic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Comfortable night in a Fairytale Village

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Don't underestimate the importance of a good night sleep if you are doing long distance driving. Iceland is not a tiny island , and driving around the island is no Sunday picnic, and with stops, average you need to drive 7-8 hours per day. No easy tasks for someone only familiar with town driving, like me. Edda Skoger never claim to be a luxury hotel, It is in the edge of the Skogar village, outside it looks like a school built in the 1960's than a hotel. But what you need are there: Good reception service, clean and warm rooms, ample parking spaces, hearty hot breakfasts, hot shower even its shared faculties, clean towels, and most of all, it is in one of the most beautiful village in Iceland. Along the main roads are green meadows, with sheep running and glazing on them, , and lavender grown all over the green fields, and the smell are refreshing. In June the sun do not set even at 9 pm, and even after dinner in the delightful Bistro café, you still have time to stroll, and photograph the impressive heavenly Skogerfoss (Skogar Falls), Under the evening sun, the Fall and the surrounding hills look like a village from a fairytale. we went to bed when the sun still up in the sky, but we were out like a light in their comfy bed. We only dreamt of how to climb up to the top of the fall, before we tuck in the delectable Icelandic breakfast. For over 130 euro per night, its expensive but you get what's worth, and more, we certainly enjoy our stay, and our only regret is we do not
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Dorm rooms used in summer for tourists

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Quiet location next to the local museum .
Cons: A walking trail to the waterfall trail would have been good. Private property separates the hotel from the waterfalls.
Location: The waterfall is close; also the museum although it was closed when we were there.
The shower down the hall never did get warm water although I let it run as instructed for more than ten minutes. Bathrooms down the hall may be fine for college students and backpackers but for those of us who are retired and must make trips to the toilet during the nights, it is truly inconvenient. This particular room was so small that we could not open both suitcases at the same time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

VERY MINIMAL

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Orbitz
We enjoyed our stay, room was comfortable. No TV, shared bathroom,breakfast was OK.