Ratings based on 6 Verified Reviews

5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Skopje: View from a perch

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: Although the breakfast is good, a little more variety would make it even better.
Location: see above
I returned to Skopje after a long gap of almost 8 years since my many previous visits. I discovered the Hotel Arka by accident in the late 1990s and found it to be a first class facility with a great view of the city and especially the old market area. From the dining area on the seventh floor ( with a pool ) you are surrounded in glass and can see the entire city. It is out the door and maybe 30 yards to the old market. It is an easy walk or taxi ride to the main business areas. From the perch of the Arka you can see the old fortifications where digs are still uncovering more ancient origins of the city. At night. it is just beautiful. The market is well maintained and has many interesting shops and restaurants. Most of it dates from the 1500s. If you are interested in jewelry, gold and silver, this is one of the best places in the Balkans to go shopping. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is modern with warm wood and lighting. It is spotless and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Andrej, Hotel Management
Dear PJ, Thank you for choosing our hotel again, and for taking the time to write a review! We really appreciate the kind words about our staff, location, great views and the overall ambiance of the hotel. The Old Bazaar is indeed very well maintained and is still the most popular place in Skopje. We are so glad that you provided such and in-depth experience. We couldn’t describe it better. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Kind regards, Hotel Arka
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Enjoyed the stay in Skopje

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Excellent location, few minutes walking to city center. Very good breakfast.
Location: The Old bazaar is right next to the hotel. A lot of bars, restaurants and kebap shops around. Many museums there as well.
Lovely hotel in the Old part of the city. I especially enjoyed the ambient in the rooftop bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Andrej, Hotel Management
Dear Maka, Thank you for taking a time to review our hotel. Your feedback is very valuable to us. We are happy to see that we have met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. With kind regards, Hotel Arka
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel in very good location

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Spacious room, very friendly and helpful hotel stuffs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beijing

Fantastic stay in Hotel Arka!

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Everything, location, food, staff!
Cons: No
Location: Best location ever.
The hotel is unbelievable clean and artistic,with the original painting hanging everywhere in the corridor. It is extremely convenient for me to get to everywhere in the city, as the hotel is just located in the very center of Skopje, best location with a stunning view from the room window! I love the roof bar on the top floor which is amazingly beautiful and from where you can get a whole view of the old bazaar and the surrounding hills. The breakfast is unexpected good with a wide range of choices and pleasant freshness. The staff are so much helping during my stay which added the coziness feeling of my whole trip. I definitely will choose this hotel again as the price is reasonable and the stay is super satisfactory.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from London

Modern, clean and conveniently located.

Posted Nov 16, 2013
Pros: Friendly reception staff and restaurant staff. Modern facilities. Free wifi throughout the hotel. Arranged transport to and from airport.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Walking distance from the main cultural sights including the Stone Bridge, various mosques, museums. Plenty of very nice, affordable restaurants nearb
The Hotel Arka is well located within the historic district Corsija - 5 minutes walk from the river. A great base to explore the cultural attractions of Skopje and very safe.
5 out of 5
by Gareth from London

Strange hotel - nice

Posted Jun 2, 2011
In the middle of the Moslem quarter - only 10 minutes walk from the centre of Skopje. Big rooms. Nice service. Third time i stayed there and will stay again. Excellent price for the quality. Gareth