Ratings based on 658 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, England

Good value and good location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The rooms are a little outdated, but clean with comfy beds. A 20€ taxi ride from the airport and handy to the seafront, with a good range of restaurants and ferries nearby, you can't fault the location. Avoid the inclusive breakfast option - all processed/reheated frozen stuff, with drinks from vending machines. I recommend one of the local cafes in Sliema - a 10-min walk, just opp. the ferries for a better (and inexpensive) choice and a decent coffee. My suggestion to the hotel would be to stop serving that cheap and nasty orange juice 'welcome drink' (not a good first impression of Malta) and give guests some iced sparkling water instead.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LONDON

THINK BEFORE YOU STAY HERE - NOT GOOD

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Nothing - I got a cab one day in Malta and was speaking to him and said I am staying at the Preluna Hotel - he laughed and said that is a BUS SHELTER
Cons: Staff needs a better attitude with putting the customers first as they don't care about there customers and they should be making them feel welcome
Location: Location is good I have to say, it is a nice location and that was the reason why I chose this hotel in the first place because of where it is
As soon as me and my wife got here it went down hill, 80% staff unhelpful, 4 staff working at breakfast with about 150 people in the room in one go and we had to wait 10 to 20 minutes for clean plates and breakfast is ok nothing special, this hotel is not a 4 star don't be fooled by the pictures it is more like pushing it a 3 star and that being generous Second day I asked at reception why have you not loaded our room with essentials like soap, shower gel, shampoo - they said it is only provided on the first day as a welcome gift and then we don't provide this - anyone who stays in hotels would know that in a 4 star hotel this is normal and provided, they didn't care, if you ask the staff at reception a questions they will continue to work and without looking at you will talk to you as if you are no one (extremely rude) I stay in many hotels around the world and I would not stay here if the hotel paid for me to stay for free its that bad - guys don't waste your money and stay here there are so many nice hotels in Malta this is a joke When you get to the hotel and its before 2pm they will not check you inn, that' fine because they mention that on the booking but its was after 3pm before they checked us in and not only us but many other guests who you could see they are getting frustrated You will also see they will try and upgrade you to all inclusive - please don't do it, the food it a joke and not worth the money just eat out and it will be better and cheaper with variety
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK, London

Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2017
It was a nice hotel, but we had to wait for an hour for rooms to be accommodated, giving that on our departure house keeping made us feel uneasy when coming to clean up, I would say there are just about a selective staff that were considering us as guest. Some staff did not feel attempted to help. Overall it's an affordable and edible place to stay for holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Faulty fridge, mould behind the curtains
Pleasant stay. Good facilities, average breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beirut

Splendid view , sea very close and easy to reach.

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The Wi FI ,no connection in the room , i had to go to the lobby to get a connection which was poor .
Location: By bus i went to la valette and Mosta where i discover a very nice coffee shop La Tartine in front of the fabulous Cathedral
Confortable Hotel , the sea just in front and so easy to have a dive in the water.Very nice sidewalk . hotel easy to reach by bus .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Great Location, but a sea view room is a must...!!

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Rooms, Tired & need to maintain things Better (Aircon)
Location: Selima is beautiful & we walked the prom all round, both ways - Valleta is defiantly worth a trip, and Public transport is spot on & cheap too.
On arrival everything was quick, and easy, the room is basic, but what we paid we were more than happy - Definatley upgrade to a sea view room, as the standard rooms do not have balcony's only windows. We had a problem with our Aircon, and after 3 requests to reception to get it repaired, they did send someone, however within 5 minutes it was making a very loud banging noise & it went bang & something fell in the ceiling above the A/C unit, we never managed to get anyone to come back & fix it after that - so No Aircon.... The facilities are Simple - but effective, Clean, and Friendly staff, we only stayed B&B & the food was varied and ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
Stayed 6 nights. The hotel is in a good part of Sliema; good restaurants nearby as well as in the hotel. Seaside pool OK and great roof view. Malta has a lot of history and is a great place - we enjoyed ourselves. . A few too many tour vendors along the ferry wharf. Go for front sea view rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good location.

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: The location is excellent. The room was clean. The beds were comfortable. The shower was hot.
Cons: The breakfast is adequate but not great. It would be improved by a selection of fresh fruit and a toaster that worked properly.
Location: Opposite the sea. There are good restaurants and bars in the immediate vicinity. Also a shopping centre. It is an easy walk to the ferry to Valletta.
We have just returned from a short break in Malta, staying in Sliema. The weather was lovely and we had a good time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Essex UK

Good Hotel base for couples

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Italian Resturant, Spa and Sun Terrace
Cons: Minor cosmetic improvements. It's a good reliable hotel as it is
Location: Bus frequency to everywhere is outstanding. Valletta, Medina and the Gozo ferry to name a few Get the bus card from kiosk across the street
We were visiting for 4 nights and chose this hotel for its location. The room was very pleasant in general but could have benifited from some cosmetic improvements to the bathroom. Our room 1101 had a badly connected shower/bath switch. But it worked We were B&B only but would commend the breakfast as good for the price paid (cheers exoeriene for a great rate). Hot cooked breakfast plus continental if you wanted it. The dinning room is too small when fully booked and there is some chaos. The Resturant manger did a great job of managing guest entry. We choose to use the spa facilities including a full 1 hr Swedish massage. The facilities were good, staff competent. The pool and spa facilities were great. Not much used probably due to the popularity of the hotel with older travelers. We are in 60's but young in the hotel We also used the Italian Resturant contained within the hotel. This proved to be a really good move. It was full and some of the younger staff baffled by the quantity of customers. Fortunately the senior staff spotted what they missed. The food was very good and they had a very clever wine list. Plus some lesser known Italian beers. This is to be recommended as its superior to most of the restaurants in Sliema For some one on B&B don't worry plenty of restaurants within 100m Hotel try's hard with entertainment and drinks prices are reasonable One of the highlights is the 8th floor sun terrace which was all to our selfs when we visited. It's lovely
5 out of 5
by Richard

Another successful visit to the Preluna

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
I use this hotel a lot when visiting Malta. It is on the front in SLiema and is accessible to all as it is on the flat promenade.