Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Location.

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: A yesterday charm but at no detriment to the customer in terms of service or facilities.
Cons: None jump immediately to mind.
Location: Easy access to Burnham Beeches Windsor Maidenhead Henley and many other tourist locations.
Quiet and peaceful location ,allowing access to major networks M4 M40 all giving quick journey times to desired destinations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Not the best view from our room (101) but it was certainly very comfortable. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely room only concern lift out of order

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Lovely room bed comfortable and good breakfast lift was out of order we stayed on the second floor but was offered a ground floor but happy to climb the stairs as we thought better to leave for older guests staying would recommend to anyone nice and quiet too there
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

A very disappointing stay

Posted Apr 29, 2016
We were very disappointed with our recent stay at The Grovefield, not that the check out staff seemed bothered. When we arrived check in staff seemed confused that we had booked with Expedia and couldn't find our booking. When I showed my confirmation forms we were shown to a room and I expressed my surprise that the room was not as it looked in the pictures (on here), I was assured it was an upgraded room as per our booking form. So we thought no more of it - not the best of rooms and would have been disappointed even if we hadn't upgraded. However when we checked out, they had obviously forgotten we were booked with Expedia and presented us with a bill for the room - priced at £75 not the £100 we had paid and when I queried it the lady was very rude, snatching it and saying "you shouldn't have seen that", this was the final straw after a bad experience at dinner and a room where people were walking past the window constantly so we had to have the curtains shut and be in the dark if we didn't want them waving in, and very little comfort. I would not recommend nor stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London/

Disappointing.

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was nice.
Cons: Enforce your non-smoking policy and give your resident's some privacy if rooms are overlooked with better security on patio doors than a loose bolt.
Location: Cliveden gardens.
I'd been looking forward to a couple of days away from London and this hotel read well. The room I was initially given was lovely - nice view and not overlooked. Sadly a smoker next door ruined that and instead of the hotel telling him not to smoke I had to move. Unfortunately this is where it all went down hill. The first alternative I was given may have been larger but was overlooked by the guests on the second floor, including the smoker - not very private. I was then shown several other rooms which all felt claustrophobic. I was finally given a room on the ground floor with a beautiful view but as I later found out, also gave all the guests walking by and smoking right outside the window, morning and night, a perfect view of the entire bedroom. Not very private. The meal I ordered was beautifully presented but not only reeked of cigarette smoke it also tasted of it. The chef claimed it was burnt butter, but I've never tasted butter like that, burnt or not. The whole of the mashed potato was infused with this strange rank bitter taste that remained in my mouth for hours afterwards. To finally cap it all I had one of the worst night's sleep I have ever had in a hotel and I've travelled all over the world and stayed in hotel's directly under flight paths in some of the busiest cities in the world. Guests banging doors every half hour meant that I was kept awake until the early hours. The only soothing thing was the owl in the night. Perhaps I was unlucky.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Great Hotel for Burnham Cricket Club

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: Security; Friendly Staff; Comfortable room; Good choice of tasty food on menus.
Cons: More use of the vast grounds could be made, eg. Crown Green bowling, Putting Green, Croquet lawn
Location: Close to Burnham Cricket club, Taplow, Maidenhead and Slough
We booked 2 nights at the hotel so that we could attend a 40th Birthday celebration at the nearby Burnham Cricket Club. The location was excellent for this, within 200 yards of the Cricket ground and within easy walking distance, saving us having to book a taxi there and back. It was also a great venue for visiting our friends in nearby Taplow and for any shopping in Slough or Maidenhead. The hotel was smart, comfortable and security conscious with the locking gates at the end of the driveway/car park a nice touch. The staff were all helpful and friendly, The food served in the bar and at breakfast was good and tasty and you have an excellent choice. All in all it was a great weekend, with a nearby comfortable welcoming venue to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PLYMOUTH

Nice Hotel ideal for visiting Windsor, Ascot.

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: it is in a very quiet place away from the hustle and bustle of the city.its in pleasant surroundings.very clean and well decorated throughout.
Cons: nothing just keep it the way it is.
Location: Ideal for visiting Windsor,Ascot,Cliveden the National Trust house just up the road from hotel.
Brilliant,we enjoyed everything at the hotel from the location,the food which they served in the bar and restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

nice, quiet stay near London

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: quiet, out of the way, yet it has all ammenities.
Location: Windsor and Windsor Castle, London.
spent one night while visiting Windsor Castle. Enjoyed the solitude this hotel has from the busy bustling London. The grounds are very nicely kept and the food at the restaurant was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from lincolnshire.uk

Good quality hotel in quiet, pleasant setting.this

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Comfortable, friendly, quiet, good parking.
Stayed 2 nights Jan 2015 while attending family wedding in the area. Room was spacious, nice and warm, comfortable and well furnished....good large bed. All hotel was clean, tidy with good decor. Hotel was quiet and set in peaceful surroundings. The breakfasts, cooked to order 1st day, buffet on 2nd day, were good quality....plenty of choice......attentive restaurant staff. The surrounding countryside has a lot to offer for sightseeing and walking. We are planning to return to this hotel later in the year. Good WiFi if its important.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertford

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Spent a lovely day in Windsor then checked into Grovefield House. Got ready there then went onto the Hind's Head in Bray (only 4 miles away and £12 each way in a taxi) Nice hotel for a night away and perfect if you're going to one of the restaurants in Bray. Nice breakfast too!