Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This is an awesome and relaxing hotel!

Posted Feb 5, 2018
My husband and I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years and it is such a nice getaway!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2018 by Margie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, Virginia

Great value!

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Unique hotel on a salt marsh/river within walking distance of the charming downtown of historic Smithfield. Views are great (saw a bald eagle and 2 blue herons from our window). Has its own reproduction lighthouse based on the Pawtuxet (sp?) light in Maryland; it also has a small marina and attached boardwalk with shops. Staff is friendly and efficient, and the hotel restaurant (mainly seafood but other items such as ribs) is outstanding - good food, reasonable prices, wonderful service and nice seaside ambiance. Room was clean, but a little dated - could use a bathroom update ASAP. We had a very enjoyable experience and plan on returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Margie, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience the downtown area of Smithfield. Unique is certainly what we like to be, and hope that this add to our guest experiences. We are looking forward to another opportunity to share our small town charm with you and add to another enjoyable experience.
5 out of 5
by Angie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Danbury, CT

Every Level of Bad was Achieved -Congratulations!

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Checking out.
Cons: New management, greatly improved customer service- the front desk agent the first night we checked in was one of the most severe humans I've ever met.
Location: Ice cream shop was good- nice walking streets several antique shops.
Who knew you could actually charge $??? a night to rent out musty old dirty attics? I'll tell you who- Smithfield Station in Smithfield, VA! And boy they must be making a mint. We booked a double room which one would assume would be two queen beds, but you know the old adage about assuming... they were actually two full beds that were lumpy and would fold up around whomever laid down making it near impossible to climb out. Not an ideal fit for 4 guests. The bathroom was so small you could not shut the door once you were in it. Not ideal for privacy- keep that in mind if you stay here with someone other than yourself. The shower-ugh- everything in the bathroom was stained, damaged, dated. Overall- I feel it was greatly misrepresented online. Not at all what we expected or wanted. We would not recommend or ever stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DeLand, FL

Weekend in Smithfield, VA

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Cons: The air in the room was a bit stuffy even with the AC running and the ceiling had signs of mildew no doubt from the proximity to the waterfront
The hotel was beautiful and right on the waterfront. The parking situation could have been better as there is only limited parking and a portion of the parking lots flood during the combination of high tide and Northeastern Winds. The continental breakfast had a good selection and plenty to go around. Our room was facing the waterfront and had its own balcony. The advertisement for the room had indicated that it would contain a jacuzzi tub, however, it instead had a large walk in shower in the en-suite bathroom. We did have a fireplace, but the weather during our stay was unseasonably warm for October and we did not end up getting to use it. Overall, the hotel staff were very pleasant and efficient in their efforts to assist and during check in/out as well as offering to move cars for patrons during the flooding of the parking lot. The hotel is very accessible to downtown historic Smithfield, VA and is within walking distance of several key features there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little slice of heaven

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Very nice hotel with a fantastic breakfast and well-stocked bar. Right on the water. Why stay anywhere else?
5 out of 5
by Shirley

Beautiful facility. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
Loved it.
4 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Paula

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savannah, GA

Beautiful View overlooking river and marina

Posted Aug 24, 2017
We had a corner unit sowe had not only a view of the river from the balcony but side windows so we had excellent air circulation. First floor is an excellent seafood restaurant.