Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Canada

Great view and a comfortable room

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: The view, the shared kitchen, opportunity to meet other guests.
Cons: One of the washrooms was out of order at the time of our stay.
The hotel has a fantastic view of Kirkjufell and check in was simple. However, we only saw the staff member briefly at check in and did not see any staff after that. The room had its own sink, which was appreciated given that the washrooms are shared. The guesthouse also has a well appointed shared kitchen and eating area for those who wish to prepare their own food. They also seem to be committed to recycling, which was nice to see. The room was simple, but generally comfortable. Overall a satisfactory stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Amazing Views

Posted Sep 18, 2017
I really enjoyed staying here. The place is clean and quiet and the staff is friendly and very helpful with advice about the local area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Very nice stay at the Old Post Office. The staff was great, rooms very clean, beds comfortable, kitchen area was good. Meet all of our needs. Easy checkin / checkout process...would definitely recommend it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Nice waypoint hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Convenient location. We took one of the few rooms with a private bathroom and it was very comfortable and clean
Cons: No breakfast provided, but a few good cafes and a supermarket just a few minutes walk away
Location: Not a lot in town-more in Stykkisholmur close by-both were locations for Walter Mitty movie.
Town is ordinary but location is stunning. Great mountains and fjord scenery. Lots af smallish waterfalls cascading down. Some good walking trails. Local tourist info very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
The staff here was wonderful and the rooms are newly renovated. Our room was very clean but not very spacious.
4 out of 5
by Rina

Nice accommodations

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful area a bit off the beaten path. Very nice little guesthouse, very nice owners. Amenities were spartan, but the rooms and bathrooms were very clean and rather comfortable. No breakfast, but there is a nice kitchen and a supermarket across the street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Inexpensive, good for students

Posted Jul 18, 2017
This is a nice place, very clean but also very basic - a couple of steps up from a hostel. It is best suited for hikers, bikers, or others who are looking for an inexpensive place to stay. The bathroom facilities are spacious, but separate from the room and are shared with other guests. There was a sink in the room, which felt like a luxury! The room itself was perfectly clean and the bed was comfortable, but the room was very small and the windowsill jutted out over the bed in a somewhat alarming manner. There were no amenities in the room - not even a glass for drinking water. Downstairs there was a large room with tables where guests could eat whatever food they had brought. As an older woman traveling alone, I would have preferred a bit more comfort, such as an elevator to get my stuff up to the second floor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Going postal in good way.

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
We didn't notify the hotel about our late arrival, and our private room was given away (our fault). Nevertheless, the hostess replied to our late call upon arrival at 3 AM in the morning and drove to the hotel to check us in (cheers!). She also allowed us to stay past checkout time so we could catch up on sleep. The room was OK (nothing special, just basics) with a nice view. Location was good even though it's a really small town and everything is within walking distance anyway.
5 out of 5
by Jason

Pleasant surprise

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
We arrived VERY late (1:30am) and they were able to accommodate us effectively with a key in a lockbox outside. On top of that, they upgraded our room to one with a private bathroom because they had one available and knew we would be really tired at the end of our drive that day. Very thoughtful! The room was modern and clean, and the shower was the best one we've seen in Iceland in over a week. Really nice rain shower with great water pressure.
5 out of 5
by CORBIN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels