Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Amazing Views

Posted Sep 18, 2017
I really enjoyed staying here. The place is clean and quiet and the staff is friendly and very helpful with advice about the local area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Very nice stay at the Old Post Office. The staff was great, rooms very clean, beds comfortable, kitchen area was good. Meet all of our needs. Easy checkin / checkout process...would definitely recommend it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Nice waypoint hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Convenient location. We took one of the few rooms with a private bathroom and it was very comfortable and clean
Cons: No breakfast provided, but a few good cafes and a supermarket just a few minutes walk away
Location: Not a lot in town-more in Stykkisholmur close by-both were locations for Walter Mitty movie.
Town is ordinary but location is stunning. Great mountains and fjord scenery. Lots af smallish waterfalls cascading down. Some good walking trails. Local tourist info very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
The staff here was wonderful and the rooms are newly renovated. Our room was very clean but not very spacious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Inexpensive, good for students

Posted Jul 18, 2017
This is a nice place, very clean but also very basic - a couple of steps up from a hostel. It is best suited for hikers, bikers, or others who are looking for an inexpensive place to stay. The bathroom facilities are spacious, but separate from the room and are shared with other guests. There was a sink in the room, which felt like a luxury! The room itself was perfectly clean and the bed was comfortable, but the room was very small and the windowsill jutted out over the bed in a somewhat alarming manner. There were no amenities in the room - not even a glass for drinking water. Downstairs there was a large room with tables where guests could eat whatever food they had brought. As an older woman traveling alone, I would have preferred a bit more comfort, such as an elevator to get my stuff up to the second floor.
5 out of 5
by Anuja

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Natalie

Great location with lovely ocean views

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
Modern room with sink. Great black out curtains. Access to fridge and kitchen, including shared fridge for communal food. Grundarfjorder has small grocery store and several restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary canada

Great place!

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Extremely pleased with Old Post Office. Warm and helpful reception. We love this place, highly recommended Very functional kitchen, many guests cooked up meals each night and swapped our travel stories. Large triple room with ensuite was great, and also the shared bathrooms we noted were plentiful and clean. Other guests pleased with rooms. Bonus drying room for wet things.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great place

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: location
Old Post Office is a very nice and cozy guesthouse. We recommend the place because it was very clean, comfortable and the staff was great!!!
5 out of 5
by s Michael

Brief but memorable stay.

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stop over near the famous glacier, park, cave, etc. Gorgeous walks. This is the nicest place to stay on the peninsula and the proprietress was very friendly and helpful.