Ratings based on 573 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Pleasant stay.

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: Friendly staffs, nice atmosphere.
Cons: The gym is not as nice as Salish.
It was a pleasant stay at Salish lodge. The room was clean, the staffs were very friendly and helpful. The food was good, and we went home refreshed. Few issues that we encountered. I reserved a river view room, and it was disappointing. The river view is partially blocked by a wall, and by a balcony. Yes, I could see the part of the river, but not what I had expected. Next time, I would not pay more for river view. On the second day, it took three requests and over one hour to get our room cleaned. Other than that, I recommend Salish lodge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello E, We can't help but smile from ear-to-ear when we know our guests have enjoyed their time with us, thank you! We understand the importance of cleanliness, friendly service, and mouthwatering cuisine when you want to unwind, and we're delighted you appreciated our dedication. We're sorry to hear the river view from your room didn't live up to your expectations. We'd like to offer our sincere apology that your room was not attended to promptly following your request. Please rest assured that we'll be looking into the delay right away. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future; we hope to enjoy the opportunity soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spokane, WA

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: Fireplace
Cons: Just about everything
Location: Very little when it is raining. The surrounding local restaurants were very average at best.
The desk clerk was not very helpful and seemed like she was not at all happy to see us. No hotel map of restaurants, spa, rooms or gift shop as we asked. No free breakfast almost unheard of these days especially for the exorbitant prices. Only one ice machine in the building and you had to search for it should have been told as we checked in. There should have been flood lights outside the restaurant to emphasize the steam from the falls. Shower and bathtub faucets leaked continually. Access to the facilities were not told to us as we arrived with times of use etc. I definitely will never return and will let others know of the poor service. The only plus was the fireplace in the room and the valet parking attendants (they knew what they were doing and very helpful). The food in the attic was very average and expensive; two anchovy ceaser salads with very little dressing at $50 total . The main dining room depending on what you had was not consistent. The duck plate was very tough and fatty and was mostly inedible. I did not complain as that is not my way but there is a lot of room for improvement.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello Tom, We're very sorry to hear your stay with us was anything short of wonderful! We want every guest to feel welcomed and well cared for from the moment they arrive, and we'd like to apologize that this was not your experience. Please rest assured that we are looking into all your concerns, and we greatly appreciate your feedback. Our team is happy to address any issues that may arise; please never hesitate to let us know how we can be of assistance during your stay. We are delighted to hear that our in-room fireplaces and exceptional valet team members enhanced your getaway. We hope you'll reconsider visiting us again in the future; we're confident we can fully win you over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from olympia, WA

Spa-riffic

Posted Nov 18, 2017
My friend came her for a girls getaway and spa trip. The grounds and lobby are beautiful. The room service and staff who brought the firewood were friendly. Had view of the falls from our room, so we started a roaring fire and cracked the balcony door to hear the rushing water and breathe the cool, crisp PNW air. My friend felt that her bed was tilting to the left, so she didn't sleep as well as she would have liked. We had 2 spa treatments and Lisa who did our facials was top notch! My friend really enjoyed her massage, but my massage therapist did not even work on my upper arms or the right side of my back. Plus I asked for a deep tissue massage and she just couldn't provide the deep pressure. She didn't have my intake form, and didn't know my name. I was very disappointed in my massage. We are returning today for 2 more treatments at the spa, and then having brunch and a browse in the gift shop before we walk down to the falls. Also one of the jets in the jetted tub was not working.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, There are few experiences in life as relaxing as falling asleep (or waking up) to the calming sounds of the majestic Snoqualmie Falls; we’re delighted that you enjoyed this from your room while a cozy fire ensured your comfort. We're very sorry to hear that your friend's bed didn't provide her with the full extent of the relaxation we're known for and for any inconvenience you experienced due to a jet not working properly. Our team members are happy to resolve any needs that may arise during your stay; please never hesitate to let us know how we may be of assistance. We're confident Lisa will be waking with an added bounce to her step when we share your praise with her, thank you! While we're thrilled to know your friend's massage was top-notch, we'd like to apologize that your massage experience didn't live up to our high standards. Please rest assured that we will be looking into your experience right away. We hope the remainder of your stay was nothing short of spectacular, and that we have the opportunity to welcome you again for another refreshing getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Everything about the stay was perfect!

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Loved everything about it! ! Can't wait to visit again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello Laurie, You have a talent for making us blush (we love it)! We pride ourselves on providing exemplary getaways surrounded by the jaw-dropping beauty of the Snoqualmie area, and your appreciation is one of the best rewards we could ask for. We know exactly how you feel, we're eagerly awaiting your return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ramona, CA

Renovations Would Have Been Nice to Know About...

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Beautiful setting, in-room fireplace, friendly and efficient valet attendants.
Cons: Expedia needs to stay abreast of renovations!!
Location: Hiking was beautiful. Raging Rivers serves great breakfast, Roadhouse for dinner was great, railroad museum was interesting.
We opted to spend an extra $50/night for an already expensive room, to get a view. Only after check-in did we realize our view was of the renovation project underway. The large jacuzzi tub idea was great, but after running the water for quite some time, it never got warm enough to be even remotely inviting. And I pretty much resigned myself to a cold shower the next morning, although it DID eventually warm up. We tried to visit the Attic bar area the second night. Took the elevator to the 4th floor, and was told by the spa receptionist that we could only access it via the stairs. Went down and found the stairs, only to see the sign saying the Attic was closed during the renovation. The spa receptionist couldn't have told us that?? The in-room fireplace was very nice, and the bed was comfortable. Valet parking was the only option, and the attendants were very friendly and efficient. They were also very helpful with recommendations and directions for nearby attractions. It was a beautiful setting, and we really enjoyed hiking down to view the waterfall from below, as well as hiking in the woods across the road, but the lodge itself was disappointing for the price. If we go back to the area, we'll be looking for different accommodations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello Penny, The Snoqualmie area is filled with so many treasures - the magnificent falls, area trails, and delicious cuisine - that every visit here is sure to be unforgettable! We're delighted you loved our oversized jetted tubs, but we're very sorry to hear your water didn't warm properly. We're always here to take care of anything that comes up during your stay; please never hesitate to let us know how we can be of assistance. Thank you for your feedback regarding the directions you received in locating our restaurant, The Attic. Please rest assured that we are addressing the issue right away. There's something almost magical about relaxing in a comfortable bed with a fire dancing in the in-room fireplace after a day exploring the beauty of the Pacific Northwest. Hearing that you fully enjoyed these amenities is music to our ears, thank you. We know your appreciation for our valet team's efficiency and great local recommendations will make their day when we pass along your compliments. Sharing our slice of the Pacific Northwest with you was a pleasure. We hope you reconsider a return visit; we're confident that we can fully win you over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quick 2-night getaway

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Spa, big rooms, great food.
Cons: The room is getting a bit tired - under-counter bathroom sink was loose, tub faucet was loose, bathroom door had to be forced to shut it etc.
Location: Mt. Si hike, Little Si hike, Poo-Poo Point hike (with paragliders!).
The staff here is among the best and the food outstanding (though pricey). Though close to Seattle it really feels like you are off the beaten path. Stunning!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, The stunning sight of the Snoqualmie Falls, the lush hiking trails, and the close proximity to Seattle all blend together to make this area a Pacific Northwest paradise; it was our pleasure to share it with you! Thank you for bringing to our attention the maintenance issues you experienced; we'll be sure to let our team know right away. We'll love sharing your praise for our team's top-notch service with them. Additionally, our chef is sure to smile wide to know you found our cuisine outstanding, thank you! More tranquility will be waiting for you here; we hope to welcome you ag
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms
Average hotel in beautiful location very nice hiking area
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, The Pacific Northwest boasts many stunning sights and our favorite is the Snoqualmie Falls (yep, we are 100% biased)! It was our pleasure to welcome you to our lodge and to the area. Thank you for your feedback regarding our rooms. We are listening and appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We're looking forward to your next visit to the area; we'd love to greet you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Millcreek WA

Don't eat there

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Over priced drinks & food. Might want to choose eating out and bring your own snacks. Hotel is very lovely however and so was room. Pillows are wonderful! Fireplace fantastic! Bathroom cupboards inside and out dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello Joanne, We're smiling to hear that you found our lodge lovely, our in-room fireplaces fantastic, and our pillows wonderful. It was our pleasure to welcome you and provide you with a wonderful backdrop for your relaxing Pacific Northwest getaway. Having rooms thoroughly cleaned and ready to welcome guests for a relaxing stay is essential, so we're sharing your concern with our housekeeping team. We take great pride in offering the highest quality cuts of meat and fresh produce available as is reflected in our menu pricing; we’re sorry to hear it was not to your liking. We hope we'll soon have the opportunity to welcome you again; we'll be working diligently towards earning a five-star review when you return.
4 out of 5
by Forrest

Nice Stay

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
Had an overnight stay for a short get away. Great location in beautiful surrounds. Very nice stay, great staff, room was quite nice -- ours was a little darkish on a lower level without direct sun, but nice for relaxing. Breakfast (famous Snoqualmie Falls bk) not quite what it used to be but still very good and more than enough food. Enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello Forrest, It was our pleasure to welcome you for a quick getaway to the beautiful Snoqualmie area! Our team is dedicated to providing our guests with exemplary service, and they'll be delighted to know you appreciated their efforts. Thank you for your feedback regarding the lighting in your room. A great day in the area deserves a great breakfast, which is what we aim to serve. It's made our smiles grow to know we succeeded for you. We'd love to welcome you again, and we hope to have the opportunity soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario Canada

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Location and proximity to hiking trails. The restaurants were fantastic.
Cons: Rooms could be updated - new wallpaper and bedding.
Location: Hiking and walking to waterfall great. Also the lodge only a 35 minute drive to Seattle - so we took in a Mariners Baseball Game which was great.
Family had a wonderful stay. Staff was wonderful and the meals served in the Attic and in the dining room were outstanding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by J Knudsen, Hotel Management
Hello Jill, You're absolutely right, our location puts an abundance of stunning hiking trails at our fingertips and the convenience of Seattle just a short drive away! We couldn't be happier to know our location proved ideal for your getaway. Our lodge and dining teams' smiles grew instantly when we shared your praise for their top-notch service with them, thank you. We value your insight and appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us on improvements. We're looking forward to your next visit and our next opportunity to impress you once again.