Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Excellent dinner and good breakfast buffet,m. Nice and friendly staff but English not very good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

The ambiance of a ryokan and the modern hotel.

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Service and facility are top quality. They also provide free shuttle service to the train station and monkey park.
Cons: Free breakfast.
Location: The famous monkeys park is close by. A 30 minute walk through beautiful mountain woods for up close encounter with the monkeys taking a bath
Very enjoyable experience with polite staff in kimono. If one would like to immerse themselves in Japanese tradition with tatami floors, sleeping on futon, and taking a traditional bath (onsen)/dress in yukata provided by the hotel, then this is the hotel for you.
4 out of 5
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 5, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 1, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Janet from LC

Japan travels

Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels
We wanted something convenient to the Snow Monkey Park. They provide a shuttle to the park and from the train station, but you need to find your own way the opposite directions (no big deal, though). The accommodations were well worth every penny, especially with the included meals which were excellent. Beautiful onsen as well.
5 out of 5
by Janet from LC

Japan travels

Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels
This ryokan offers shuttle service to and from the station as well as shuttles to various points of interest (you will need to find your own way back, though, taxis are easily accessible.) Feel very pampered at this hotel from moment of arrival, until departure.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Quick ski day on a layover

Posted Feb 8, 2015
I only had 2 nights in japan on a layover while travelling on business. I decided to squeeze in a day of skiing, see the snow monkeys, and dip in the region's famous hot springs and public baths. This is a wonderful place to stay. The room was beautiful and immaculate with traditional style and fine mountain views. The food was delicious and delicately presented with many small plates and courses of house made and local ingredients. The masseuse was an expert providing highly customized service and offering tips on sustaining a sense of well being. The bath was clean and comfortable with great roof top vistas and both outdoor and indoor offerings. The service was what takes this hotel from great to amazing. There was never any hesitation to make me feel valued as a guest. I had not pre-booked any excursions or tours so they were able to make recommendations and arrange transportation for a very seamless private experience. As i was travelling alone i appreciated the feeling of having gotten to know the staff on a personal level learning a little more about the day to day of life in the region. They also helped me understand protocol and tradition in usinf the bathing facilities, enjoying the food, and using room features. All in all this was a fantastic experience for me and i was sad to leave. I usually don't leave reviews on booking websites, but i really feel compelled to share this positive experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

文句なし

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels
お部屋が空いていたとかで、当初予約していた部屋よりも広い部屋にしていただきました。お風呂もお料理も、文句なし。スタッフのおもてなしの質も高かったです。また、機会があればぜひ伺いたいお宿です。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great Ryokan, sleepy town.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Ryokan experience
Cons: Surroundings, exterior.
Location: Monkey park was easy to access. Also a great staging spot for the northern Nagano region.
We LOVED this place. A typical Japanese Ryokan writ large. Each room is made to look like a classic inn but it's all brought into the modern world. At check in yukata clad staff greet you warmly and take you to your room for a nice tea ceremony you are pampered. Though the outside could use some work, the ryokan itself is lovely. We had the family room with a balcony hot tub, outside, enclosed shower, nice bathroom, entry alcove for shoes, refrigerator, tea service etc. The public baths upstairs are spotless, brand new and they offer a nice twist by switching male and female access each evening so each can appreciate the other's uniquely styled bathing areas. Open baths take in the mountains (though views around the hotel aren't so nice. I sat out under the roofed (and I hope lightening protected) bath during a thunder storm and deluge, it was totally cool. A couple of downsides: we didn't realize that the meals needed to be booked with the reservation and were unable to add it after checking in. (Why not?) Did I say the town is sleepy and tired? A real disappointment. We went to the recommended sushi restaurant and it was one of the worst meals we had in Japan. At check in, a staff member took my passport and driver's license and then forgot to return it -- I was caught up in the excitement of the place and failed to notice when I only got my license back. Fortunately, ryokan forwarded passport to next lodging after we noticed it was missing. .
5 out of 5
by Neil from UK

Fantastic experience, lovely owner!

Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels
We treated ourselves to a suite with private bath on the balcony plus the traditional 7 course meal. Room was great, spacious and clean. Futon mattress super comfortable. Took about 30 mins to get to snow monkeys (I know that's why you are here :-). The staff were very attentive and the owner introduced herself to each guest during their stay - lovely lady. Great hotel and experience.