Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2017
A very pleasant family run hotel with lots of character.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Nelson, Hotel Management
Thank you so much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Family Run Hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
Just perfect. From the location to the room and little touches such as chocolates. Lle Hari restaurant was also fantastic. Food very tasty
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Nelson, Hotel Management
Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Quirky place with lots of nice welcoming touches

Posted Apr 17, 2017
We stayed over the Easter weekend - and the Easter Bunny had left chocolate in our room! Excellent meal at Lle Hari restaurant. Nice cafe bar across the road too. Struggled with the free wifi at times. Breakfast was ok. Comfy beds. Nice to have a bath available which was appreciated after a walk up Snowdon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stanton St Quintin

Stylish hotel close to Snowdon

Posted Feb 14, 2017
We loved staying here, such a beautiful place with tons to do nearby
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a great location

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Location, décor, food, and friendly staff.
Cons: Better radiator in the bedroom and en-suite bathroom.
We spent only one night here and found it to be a great location on the edge of Snowdonia, but in striking distance of the coast. The hotel room, restaurant, and bar were all lovely, cosy, and contemporary. The hotel room was great, and the bed was comfortable, but the room was a little chilly when we arrived, and again it was cool in the morning (but it is February in North Wales). There was however a handy fan heater in the wardrobe which warmed the room up nicely. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast and found the food and service to be excellent. All in all, it was a great little hotel, and we would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wirral

Rather dated and uncared for hotel

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Nice, young friendly receptionist who booked us in initially.
Cons: The hotel needs upgrading and a deep clean - fresh bedding and management who are willing to provide a better service and experience for visitors.
Location: Sadly we left the location before it went dark-to find a better hotel, some miles away and were not able to experience what the location had to offer.
Our room was very cold, however we were given a heater to warm the room - but it was still cold some thirty minutes later. There was no hot water - (hot tap not working and hence no hot water to get a shower) The decor was dated and shabby and photos on the website were clearly taken years ago and did not reflect the current state of the room we were offered. We were offered another room - which also had no hot water. We spoke with several staff members and left when problems could not be resolved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Overnight stay

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Private entrance for late arrivals. Comfortable beds, lovely fluffy towels.
Location: Stayed overnight to attend a wedding so did not really have the opportunity to explore the surrounding area.
Lovely twin room with nice touches such as bicuits and bottled water. Comfortable and handy location, Very pleasant and helpful host.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Modern room in an old hotel.

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
We just needed a place to sleep for 1 night and ended up at the Meadowsweet Hotel. From the outside it looked a little dated but the inside couldn't be any different. Modern stylish decor in the reception area and the room itself was very pleasing. A comfortable nights sleep later and we had a quick breakfast before heading off. Our pleasant host checked us out and we were on our way. A lovely little place, that we would use again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Hotel with a difference

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Interesting as described above!
Cons: Our room needed the décor updating better on-suite and some new firniture
Location: Only stayed the one night but close to some great countryside and places of interest
We chose this hotel partly because it had good reviews but in the end we came away disappointed and felt it was poor value for money. Our room (Room 3) with a four poster bed had dated décor and a poor on-suite (shower small and hard to control water flow and poor pressure) and the chairs were shiny with wear. The downstairs was much more interesting with some quirky "pictures" (framed cups and saucers or spoons or a violin with butterflies) but it was well done and interesting! They had previously won the TV programme Four in a Bed. The staff were pleasant and helpful and its in an attractive part of North Wales
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Big fish in a little town?

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: The decor/ambiance.
Cons: More engaging reception/guest services, better breakfast offerings.
Location: A very nice location for exploring the Conwy area and Snowdonia.
We stayed at two different lodgings during our stay in Wales, and the Meadowsweet Hotel definitely came out on bottom. Pros: The hotel and rooms are charmingly decorated, and for the most part the room was comfortable, though definitely closer to a "guest house" accommodation than a hotel room. But the reception staff was not very welcoming: they had neither the professional polish of a larger hotel, nor the more personal friendliness you expect from a B&B. Moreover, their main concern seemed to be the restaurant, which is open for dinner on the "long weekend," and has been written up in the press, received awards, etc. (I know this because these press materials were displayed prominently.). The dinner courses that we tried were excellent, but the breakfast offerings were really mediocre and (unlike the other hotels and B&Bs where we stayed) were not part of the package: hot items (i.e. eggs, bacon, pancakes) must be bought.