Ratings based on 735 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Upgrades
Location: Climbed Snowdon Mountain
loved the location. Gorgeous area. Old hotel. Great history. Fun stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nottingham

Shabby on the outside, comforting on the inside

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Food and friendly staff. Situation to amenities .
Cons: A freshen up in main areas.
Location: Opposite snowdon railway. Ten minutes to the lake railway and shops. Ten to fifteen minute walk to the slate museum,.
I booked this hotel to reminisce as my Nan about 45 years ago took my sister and I to Llamberis. Driving up from the road the front gives an impact of luxury. I was so excited. However, then reality struck when you drive in from the side and see the square extension, peeling paint. When you went in we were greeted with a smile. The flooring looked tired and the hotel did smell old and a bit musty. I did think to myself what have I booked? We were advised that the rooms would be ready at two. We did leave the car in the free carpark and wonder around the village. There were lots of walking route and ideally situated for mount snowdon. We had booked a table in the restaurant as the menu did look nice. We had a lovey day wondering and walking. It was time to go back to the hotel. We checked in and again met with a friendly new shift on reception. We were on the third floor, we were told go up the first lift to floor two, get out and go to the next lift to floor three. However, due to a bus of elderly people we walked the stairs to allow them priorty over the lift. When we opened the room door we were pleasantly surprised. The deco was very tasteful, clean and everything you would need. The squeaky floors added character. Plenty of tea and coffee. It was a little tight for space however, we were only sleeping here. I thought it isn't so bad after all. Yes the bottom of the shower glass needs a clean but overall not bad. food was great and plentiful and breakfast brill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston Lancashire

3 nights in Snowdonia

Posted Oct 7, 2017
We had a lovely time in Snowdonia. The welcome was fine. We stayed on the coach house at the side of the hotel but it was very comfortable and very quiet while we were there. The hotel is very imposing but could do with some uplift here and there. Very clean and comfortable though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel good location

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Nice hotel. Good central location for getting to a lot of different locations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Cons: Coach house room 9 shower curtain perhaps needs renewed
The hotel has great staff, bar food is excellent. Very close to Snowdon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Close to Snowdon and mountain railway

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: The location is great. The breakfast is also good.
Stayed overnight in preparation for taking the mountain train. The station is two minutes walk from the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangor (Northern Ireland)

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Central location close to all local attractions.. Easy access to hiking trails and Snowden railway
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old hotel with a modern take very nice

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Lovely staff very friendly food excellent all round a very pleasant stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel with ideal situation in Llanberis

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Good food, bar service and location. Wifi works throughout
Location: Ideal for Snowdon
Hotel nicely modernised yet still retains the charm
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Hotel Room

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Staff were very friendly
Location: I had a great walk up Snowdon
My room was sooooo small I had to put my cabin size suitcase infront of the entrance door as there was no where else for it to go and the small dressing table was taken up with the kettle/cups etc and piles of leaflets/brochures. Very disappointed with size of room for amount of money I paid. Just because I was on my own I feel I was squeezed into a room. The room would have been better made into a broom/laundry cupboard.