Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good location.....maintenance/service issues

Posted Mar 22, 2015 on Hotels
Room was too small for 4. Pictures show comfortable amount of living space, dining space, kitchen space. In reality, table is pushed against wall, in walkway. Gas fireplace (we did not turn it on)had a horribly strong odor, so we had to open windows to be able to sleep. Elevator malfunction and no one available to assist. Girl at front desk of The Inn made me wait in line while I was the only one there, for about 5 minutes. She did not give us the current week's resort schedule so we missed everything we tried to attend. The village is wonderful....restaurants were good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brevard, N.C.

Hotel Room and surrounding area.

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Clean and close to everything
Cons: I can't think of a thing.
Location: The location is great and all the restaurants are very close and priced very good.
The staff at check-in was great. We were in and out in manner of minutes. Everything was explained in full detail, including the excellent parking garage. We were pleasantly surprised at the accommodations when we entered the one bedroom unit. Rimfire is in the center of the village and close to everything. We had a wonder experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Ski In Ski Out

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Great Location right in the middle of the Snowshoe Mountain village.
Cons: Our room needed some serious maintenance and some basic tea and coffee supplies would be nice as the nearest grocery store is about 8 miles away.
Location: Being in the middle of the village is great as all the restaurants and other shops are only a few minutes walk away.
This is a condo and so don't expect hotel facilities. We only had the smallest studio which was still at least as big as a standard hotel room with cooking facilities included. Check in is late (5pm) although we were got in a little early. The Rimfire does not have a reception and so you have to check in at one of the ski resort offices. I didn't read the instructions and so turned up at the entrance to discover that I couldn't get in and had to drive back to the office about a mile away. Having said that, once we were in the room was very convenient. Under cover car parking is provided and a ski locker makes it easy to get going. The slopes are only a few minutes walk away. We were there during a record cold snap and having Starbucks in the same building was really handy. We had the 'Deluxe' room which is distinguished by supposedly having recent furniture. A pull out bed provided room for a dining table which was really useful as my wife prefers working to skiing. Overall it wasn't bad although the bold CRT TV must be at least ten years old. When we arrived the phone didn't work, the gas fire wouldn't start, one of the two stove rings didn't work and there was a light bulb out. Room maintenance came pretty much straight away and fixed the first to items, the bulb needing a very long ladder and the stove not having been discovered yet. All though there were facilities to make hot drinks, there was no tea or coffee provided only lots of sugar substitute.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Awesome spot on the mountain!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: The friendliness of the staff
The Rimfire was centrally located to everything! Less than a minute to the restaurants and about 2 minutes from the slopes! We stayed in a Junior Deluxe Suite, which was perfect for two people. The room was cozy and had a mini fridge, stove and sink. It is an older hotel, so the amenities aren't state of the art, but they worked for us. They even had a workout facility with cardio equipment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

1980s Sheek

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Ski in, ski out. Great view. Clean room. Out-dated but cannot beat this price and the old furniture adds a bit of character.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: On the slopes!
Cons: Larger, better layout.
Location: Ski, Ski, Ski!
OK - room happened to be in a corner and was very small....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kathleen from Fairfax

Rustic and sweet, easy on the wallet.

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels
We LOVED the Rimfire. We stayed in a junior studio and it was wonderful. There was a fireplace, a seating area, a small but delightful bathroom (pedestal sink, curved shower rod). There were lots of wood accents, which really vibes with the whole skiing in the mountains atmosphere. You can get to an attached Starbucks without going outside, which is a huge plus on those blustery winter mornings. Though there is no front desk, I didn't have an issue with that. They have ski lockers for your gear since skis aren't allowed in rooms, and they don't cost extra. I believe that the Rimfire is one of the least expensive resorts at Snowshoe. I highly recommend this place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St petersburf , FL

Walking distance to ski slopes

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Showing up at snowshoe was not as expected. Our room was smaller then we thought and uncomfortable for the group. The front deck help us get a new room right away that was more fitting for our adventure. The full kitchen was great to cook breakfast before the slopes and the resturants in the village convenient for dinners. The experience overall was great and have you a good small town feel with enough excitement at night to have fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Staff were very nice.

Posted Dec 8, 2014
My son got sick on the first day there so the staff were very understanding to give us an option to check out early and refund our money for the nights we haven't used, but we waited out to see if our son got better the next day. We're glad we did because he felt better and we all had a very good time.