Ratings based on 657 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, il

Nice hotel. Heart of SOHO but...

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Hotel is in great location in soho close to everything but you'll end up staying up all night due to roof top bar is loud and a lot of drunk guests in the elevator. If you want to rest and get a good night sleep please stay away from this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Aesthetically beautiful but annoying experience.

Posted Oct 1, 2017
From 9am til we left at 11am we received 4 knocks and attempted entrance into our room by the cleaning staff. We also heard all the other rooms on our floor get the same treatment more or less as the volume and persistent noise from the cleaning staff perpetuated the hallways. I get they want people to get out so they can clean to have rooms ready, but this was excessive and extremely annoying. Without this experience I would rate this hotel a 5. I would retrain cleaning staff to be QUIET...and have a more tactful intuitive way of notifying cleaning staff if the room is occupied or needs or doesn’t need cleaning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Small boutique hotel outskirts of soho

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Good room. Great location. Would prefer to stay closer to Broome, Crosby as it is cleaner there. The staff were excellent. Great am and evening snacks. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: STAFF was amazing! The room was very clean.
Cons: There's a disconnect between expectation and actuality. I want the accents and furnishing in the room to match the quality of the room itself.
Location: Location was amazing! Near everything.
Great staff! Major plus! Room was extremely clean but the furnishings were not up to par - chipped klennex holder, warn table top, chipped bathroom counter, etc. It was odd. The next morning there was - what seemed to be - loud construction noise outside of my room. Overall, I think I was expecting a more polished experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Too expensive considering the quality.

Posted Sep 26, 2017
I had better expectations about the James. I've stayed at plenty of other hotels in the same price range and The James was by far the lowest price/quality ratio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa, fl

Just awesome

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Centrally located, great views, spectacular rooftop bar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Great boutique hotel!

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Great location and easy to get to. Our room wasn't ready when we checked in but the front desk staff gave us coupons for free drinks at the lovely outdoor bar and held our luggage. Rooftop pool area was small but beautiful and a great view. Loved the daily coffee and pastries in the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Happy newly weds

Posted Sep 5, 2017
We spend our wedding night in this wonderful hotel and enjoyed the room which we got upgraded to along with champagne and delicious strawberries with chocolate. Such a sweet touch! Everything was excellent including the amazing rooftop!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Room was incredibly dirty. Housekeeping was almost impossible to get
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really great hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Overall room was great. I travel a ton and cleanliness and a comfortable bed are very important. Decent size room with everything I needed.