Ratings based on 373 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel close to Bosque Del Apache

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: Well equipped, very clean, quiet, at least my room was very quiet, safe. Located next to a restaurant and not far from a supermarket.
Cons: See above about the heating problem.
Location: Bosque is premier birding destination in this country. Not much to add.
This hotel is very good. I would have said excellent except for one issue. It is the heater. There is no way to control it with the thermostat. One needs to turn it on/off manually. Nights in Socorro in January are pretty chilly - the temperature was in the range 25-35 degrees F. The room I was staying in, #169, was very quiet - no noise from the main road, but after few hours it was getting cold. Despite three blankets I used I had to get up in the middle of the night and turn on the heater to increase the room temperature. Running the heater all night was not an option as the room was getting uncomfortably warm. Also, the heater's fan generated some noise. Otherwise, the hotel was reasonably priced and if I ever go to Bosque I will gladly stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

nice hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2018
We stayed for four nights to bird watch at Bosque Del Apache. Clean, great location, good breakfast & nice staff. We would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Very nice comfortable rooms. Very clean. I would recommend this hotel/motel again to anyone. Room was always clean when I would get out of training. I workout a lot and the fitness center was excellent. It let me get my full workout in. Overall excellent place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and clean

Posted Jan 10, 2018
The lobby was under Reno so we were sceptical about the room but were pleasantly surprised. Large clean quiet room. We were on the street side but it was fine. We had a good breakfast before setting out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2018 by Econolodge, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your experience. We appreciate how you have let us know what areas of our service impressed you .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Better Than Expected

Posted Jan 3, 2018
I was leery about booking at an Econo-Lodge even though it had positive reviews. I was not disappointed. As a Choice member we were bumped up to a suite without asking. So for the price we were quite comfortable. The breakfast was typical of budget motels but if one wants more a decent family restaurant is next door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Econolodge, Hotel Management
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bosque

Posted Dec 29, 2017
I stay here all of the time. Great place to stay, close to the Bosque del Apache, and other bird places.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by Econolodge, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Big room with a porch. Easy check in. Next to good restaurant. Hotel probably old but room recently remodeled, especially bathroom. All very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by Econolodge, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to see you as a regular guest of our hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taos, NM

Good size room, good amenities

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Location: Stayed overnight to go to Bosque del Apache Bird Wild Life Reserve. Early rise. Birds rise at sunrise. Beautiful. Highly recommend.
Clean, comfortable beds. Heavy enough blankets. Quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by Econolodge, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your experience. We appreciate how you have let us know what areas of our service impressed you .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Paso, Texas

Not what I expected

Posted Dec 23, 2017
I expected a great breakfast as advertised. The sign at the front desk said from 5:30am 9:00am which was perfect for my sunrise trip to the Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge. Unfortunately at 5:45 the breakfast was not ready plus I could not make a waffle since the batter wasn’t ready. On top of no hot breakfast the pillows on my bed were so soft like sponges that I got very little sleep. I recommend the motel invest in better pillows and hire a second staff person to help have breakfast ready.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by Econolodge, Hotel Management
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconson

Comfortable,go for Iy

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Gr E A T accommodation, food, bed perfect pet friendly good on off location
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by Econolodge, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your experience. We appreciate how you have let us know what areas of our service impressed you .