Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Great place to stay at a great price

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Great place with amazing staff at a very good price. Very clean and comfortable. The air circulator unfortunately made a slight humming noise when on - the only slight issue in an otherwise great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Could do with a kettle.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Loaction
Cons: Could do with a kettle
Location: Eat and drink.
Could do with a kettle Could do with a kettle Could do with a kettle
4 out of 5
by Charles from Coatbridge UK

Good transit stop

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
A transit stop from Amsterdam to Northern Germany very basic but comfortable hotel also very clean and well priced
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and basic.

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Clean room. Great shower. Convenient location near motorway. Would come back.
4 out of 5
by Marcus from Rochester

Great budget hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay at this budget hotel. Great powerful shower and good sized clean room. We had been visiting the Mohne Dam and this was only a few minutes drive away and close to autobahn access the next day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

A Little Breakaway

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Having a kettle so that you could make a drink.
Location: Very Close to the town and shops and bars and lots of sightseeing and tourist things to do although we was only there for a short time we will return.
We decided to take a little trip to Soest in Germany to visit our daughter who is working out there. We was recommended the City Motel as it was close to the town (I have a problem with my knee) and was in walking distance from the town centre. It took me approximately ten minutes walk into the town and it is all on the level. The hotel was cleaned and towels changed on a daily basis. The staff were very friendly and helpful and speak good English. Would certainly recommend this hotel for a very good reasonable stay. Doesn't have a restaurant but as we stayed in an apartment so we were able to take in basic food to cook ,make sandwiches and a hot drink ( no kettle though so had to boil water in a pan). Lovely walk in shower with constant hot water. There is a very nice café/ restaurant at the hospital just across the road with an excellent variety of food and discount for guests of City Motel. Will certainly go back to this motel again. The only downside to this hotel was lack of kettle for making drinks but there is a kiosk downstairs which you can use to obtain drinks and snacks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Ideally positioned to break up a long journey

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Clean rooms, security camera's overlooking all sides, easy automated check in, easy access to Soest town centre.
Cons: Parking should be free, there is plenty of room around the motel for guests to park overnight.
Location: Short walk to Soest town centre, plenty of eating & drinking places nearby. Close to the Mohne Dam for fans of 617 Squadron, RAF.
We were travelling to Eastern Germany and knew that it would be hard going from Calais to Dortmund, in fact it worked out to be even more difficult than expected, far more lorries heading that way, roadworks and general traffic plus the fact that there isn't one motorway but a constant zigzag from one to another. So to get off the motorway and discover our motel was easy to find, it was very easy to use the automated check in, the room was clean and comfortable and the motel seemed well covered with security cameras was a real boost. A short walk into Soest and we were spoilt for eating places and a few beers. Back to the motel, showered a good nights sleep meant we were refreshed for the next leg of our journey. In fact we were so impressed with our stay at CityMotel Soest that instead of making the return journey back to Calais from Eastern Germany in one go we decided to book ourselves another stay!
4 out of 5
by Mick M from cornwall

beds are really comfortable

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels
Its basic comfy and very clean There is no personal service though we were shown an apartment as we would stay there again and they are more then use full the noise at night from other guests coming in on our last of 3 nights was not a good situation as we were not able to sleep but the price was really good it would be nice if there was tea /coffee facilities in the room instead of vending machines but other then that no problems
5 out of 5
by kay and nick from hastings uk

great location

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels
Overall a great stay, with a short walk into the town. The room itself was very comforfable and clean , however it was classed as an apartment but was not supplied with a kettle or a toaster which wold have been really useful as we were there for 3 days .the check in and vending machine area is a great idea, we have never come accross this before, so easy! We would definitely stay there again .
5 out of 5
by Sharon from Canada

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels
Soest is an absolutely lovely older walled City. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. Location is extremely good- three blocks from the train station. Hotel staff was wonderful and helpful when they were asked anything. Hotel was exceptionally clean and well maintained. Would stay there again if the opportunity arises.