Ratings based on 298 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairo. Egypt

Cental hotel is CENTRAL

Posted Oct 19, 2017
It is centralyl located. Near from Sofia attractions. Reception staff are so kind and cooperative, Martin , Peter and those 2 nice girls with golden shiny hair ( I don't know her names). Thanks all. Thanks expedia for nice package ( flight and hotel )
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Cons: the lighting ...
This experience was very nice. The hotel is close to everything and the staff was super nice. I will stay there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2017 by Ralitsa, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for the nice review, we really appreciating the feedback and the fact you share your intention to stay with us next time you visit Sofia. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. With kindest regards, Ralitsa Guryanova Central Hotel Sofia
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Terrible staff, no customer service

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: This place is SO BAD, I CANNOT BELIEVE IT IS ON EXPEDIA! Will be demanding a full refund, no question.
There was no meet and greet at the breakfast bar, five men, dressed as waiters, were having a laugh, eating food directly from the guests bar and ignoring the guests. They actually and the catering staff manager made me feel I was an inconvenience as a guest in the hotel - he actually TOLD ME OFF as I asked the staff to remove some dirty cups left by past guests on my table!! There was no apology he actually carried on insulting me! 10min later the staff removed everything, food, coffee, water, with not even a word to any of the guests in the room. The breakfast bar was actually quite poor. It was unbelievable how bad it was! Just disgusting. EUR10 for an overcooked egg and a lukewarm cofee must be the worst breakfast in Europe, ever! Overall, the hotel service was unbelievably poor. In 24 years of travelling as an economist, this must be the worst hotel I've come across, ever, just for the staff attitude. At £50 a night, it was a terrible mistake. When I arrived, I had to call an engineer as soon as I entered the room as the safe was locked and the safe operating instructions were incomplete. Then I had to ask for soap, tea, slippers for the spa with a gown - just the basic stuff for my stay. I had to complain and wait for soap! I complained to the customer service manager before I left, in person. He listened and said sorry and.. that was it! No mention of compensation, no "Can I do anything for you to make it right" no "Can I offer you a lift to the airport".
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2017 by Zhivko, Hotel Management
Dear Lena, we are sorry for such unpleasant impressions and not being able to meet your expectations properly. As already discussed, you will be refunded. However, I would like to let you know that the whole team did everything possible to suit your needs and to make you feel more comfortable. The colleague fixed the situation with the safe at your room immediately as well as you have been given all necessary accessories you have asked for - slippers, tea, extra soap (although we have soap in the bathroom in a dispenser). Truly sorry your impressions, nevertheless our efforts, were not good. With very kind regards, Zhivko Zhelyazkov Hotel Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very low level service

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Front desk staff was pleasant enough, but that was sadly the ONLY ok thing about my one-night stay. Overall, the hotel service was unbelievably poor. In 24 years of travelling as an economist, this must be the worst hotel I've come across, ever, for the staff attitude. At £50 a night, it was a terrible mistake. There was no meet and greet at the breakfast bar, five men, dressed as waiters, were having a laugh, eating food directly from the guests bar and ignoring the guests. They actually complained because I asked them to remove some dirty cups left on my table!! There was no apology, I was actually TOLD OFF by the breakfast staff! 10min later they removed all the food, including the coffee, with not even a word to any of the guests in the room. The breakfast bar was actually quite poor. It was unbelievable how bad it was! Just disgusting. At EUR10 for an overcooked egg and a lukewarm cofee, this must have been the worst breakfast in Europe today! When I arrived, I had to call an engineer as soon as I entered the room as the safe was locked and the instructions were incomplete. Then I had to ask for soap, tea, slippers for the spa - a poor cleaning lady ran up and down just to get me the basic stuff for my stay. So half an hour wasted due to sheer stupidity and neglect when you arrive and disgusting breakfast for when you leave, just for making the mistake of checking into this hotel! The customer service manager I complained to offered an apology and..nothing else. Sad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Sofia hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Modern clean cut hotel close to city attractions , 5 minute walk to centre. Comfortable rooms , excellent shower room , breakfast very good, all round top choice for your stay in Sofia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by Ralitsa, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for the wonderful feedback. We appreciate the opinion of our guests and are really happy when receiving positive reviews like yours. We are glad you left the hotel happy and pleased and that your expectations have been properly met. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. With kindest regards, Ralitsa Guryanova Central Hotel Sofia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Very clean and tidy hotel with excellent hotel facilities. Hotel staff speak English and are always helpful especially with giving us directions. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Ralitsa, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for reviewing Central Hotel Sofia. We really appreciate the feedback and are glad you have left the hotel fond of the staff and the service. Looking forward to welcoming you soon again. With kindest regards, Ralitsa Guryanova Central Hotel Sofia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zagreb, Croatia

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Good location, easy access, spacious and clean room, friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Ralitsa, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to share this feedback about Central Hotel Sofia. We really appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kindest regards, Ralitsa Guryanova Central Hotel Sofia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sofia City Sightseeing

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff Spotlessly clean room Quiet Location
Cons: There seems to be a problem with the elevators - there are two, one of which was not functional much during our stay and the other was slow.
Location: Location is excellent. 5 mins walk is Ancient Serdica, max 10 mins walk is Roman Church, a little further is Alexander Nevsky Cathedral.
Central Hotel in Sofia was the perfect and very comfortable base for our 3 day sightseeing tour - the hotel is located a short walk 5-10mins away from Russian church and Alexaneder Nevsky cathedral. Reception was very efficient, rooms are very clean and nicely fitted out - I thoroughly recommend this hotel. I have visited 64 countries and hundreds of hotels, I recommend this one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Ralitsa, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time and share this nice review about Central Hotel Sofia. It is much and highly appreciated. Receiving such an assessment from a traveler like yourself is even a greater achievement. Having pleased and happy guests is one of our team's main goals. Special thanks for recommending the hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Ralitsa Guryanova Central Hotel Sofia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Modern hotel in centre of Sofia

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Central Hotel Sofia is very modern and new. Very central and easy to get to anywhere from there. We stayed in a family room which was fantastic. The kids bedroom room was seperate to ours which was a pleasant surprise. Everything we needed was in the room and anything extra we needed reception were able to supply (ironing board and iron). We had dinner in the restaurant, which I would say was average, good value for money but wasn't anything special compared to other meals we have experienced in Bulgaria. Overall I would certainly recommend this hotel and would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Ralitsa, Hotel Management
Dear Laura, thank you for sharing your opinion about Central Hotel Sofia following your stay with us. Having happy and pleased guests is what we are trying for the most. Special gratitude for recommending the hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. With very kind regards, Ralitsa Guryanova Central Hotel Sofia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Nice hotel in city center

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Good staff, spa and lovely breakfast.
Cons: Air conditioning in my room didn't work, and although someone came up was never fixed.
Location: Easy location to many cultural sites open air markets and trams.
I chose this hotel as it is in the city center, and so right on the tram line and close walking to historical/cultural areas. It also has a spa which because my back was hurting ended up being a great thing. Wonderful breakfast spread of all kinds of food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Ralitsa, Hotel Management
Dear Jen, thank you for taking the time to share this review about Central Hotel Sofia. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kindest regards, Ralitsa Guryanova Central Hotel Sofia