Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver Canada

Hotel is nice, staff are disgustingly rude.

Posted Feb 19, 2018
When we came to check in, I gave my name at the counter and the guy asked for my passport (my friend and I were on vacation from Canada). After I gave him my passport, he looked at me, looked at my friend, and then at me again. He then asked for my Driver's license. So I gave him it and again he looked at me and at my friend. He said the pictures looked totally different and asked if I was trying to pull something. I said no and he asked if I was sure, and if I wasn't sure then he was going to "report this information to the police in the morning". After a few more minutes of checking my passport, he reluctently gave us our card keys and didn't even wish us a nice stay. This totally ruined our experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2018 by Trifon Paskalev /DOSM/, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, I regret to see that one of our staff members left a bad impression in you upon checking in in our hotel! i am quite frankly surprised to read such a reaction in our receptionist in something as simple as identity document! If you have some time please email us your period of stay to make a further investigation of this issue and more importantly to take the necessary actions to avoid such thing in future! We sincerely hope you will pay us another visit when in Sofia and to give us a chance to better cater your needs! With best regards, Trifon Paskalev Director of Sales & Marketing
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire uk

Perfect for overnight stay .

Posted Feb 10, 2018
Used as a stop over on way to Borovets. It was £7.50 in a taxi from the airport .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Lovely staff, poor hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Our heating system was not working so a freezing cold room, having asked several times to move room and being told to give it a half hour or so despite it being left on all day and still not working, we were eventually moved to another room. then when we asked for extra blankets we were told there was no more blankets in the hotel!! The room was fine when it eventually heated up, despite the curtains falling down but the staff were very friendly and helpful. I felt like a really annoying guest though as I had to ring down to reception so many times even to ask for more toilet roll as there was none left by housekeeping... and every time we went to our room our key wouldn’t work so a trip back down to reception each evening to get the key changed!! while we enjoyed our stay in Sophia I would not recommend this hotel to anybody as it needs a lot of tlc. But a big thank you to Sonia on reception who was very helpful with all our problems.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2017 by Trifon Paskalev / Director of Sales & Marketing/, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Lynsey, We regret to see that you were disappointed from your recent stay in Budapest Hotel Sofia! Although, everyone of us here in the hotel is focused on fulfilling all guests' needs it is obvious from your experience that we failed a couple of times! We have investigated in details your case and have already taken some measures and communicated with the staff on duty (especially the ones working during nights and out-of-office hours) in order to avoid such problems in future! Sincerely hope you will give us another chance when we will be able to provide you with much better hospitality! With best regards, Trifon Paskalev Director of Sales & Marketing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Vladislav

Feels like home

Posted Nov 6, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice place, been there twice! Good location, rooms are clean and the breakfast is delicious! Will book it again on my next visit!
5 out of 5
by Steve Barlow

Overnight stay

Posted Oct 27, 2017 on Hotels
Good comfortable stay. Friendly Staff
5 out of 5
by Amanda

Overnight in Sofia

Posted Sep 14, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful staff. Clean. Huge room. Big bath. 5-10 minute walk from main bus station/train station. 15 minute walk to main squares
5 out of 5
by Mr Alan

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Have stayed here a number of times over the past four years.This hotel is good value and conveniently located for the main train station and metro. The breakfast buffet is great and has a good variety of options.On my most recent visit I also noticed the bed in my room had some decent new firm pillows. A combination of friendly, helpful staff and a comfortable room means I will usually consider staying here when in Sofia.