Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely central hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2017
This is a great location for a stay in Sofia, couldn't be better placed for seeing the city. Our room's window overlooked the lift shaft rather than the outside, and the curtains didn't draw properly, so it was permanently twilit, but this was the only minor problem in an otherwise very comfy, very nice room. The bed was singles pushed together, but it was fine. Really nice service, very welcoming and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ireland

Central to everything

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Had a lovely relaxing stay.staff very helpful and friendly.i would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location. Pleasant enough

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Centrally located and with metro less than five mins away. Nice room, clean and pleasant enough. One drawback that could be easily fixed, the curtains were not wide enough to cover the whole of the window, so woken earlier than intended
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

CENTRALLY LOCATED HOTEL WITH SHOPS ALL AROUND

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
My room (403) fully met my needs as a solo traveler. It had twin beds, a reasonably sized flat screen TV, Tea/coffee making facilities, a fridge/mini bar, an electronic safe, adequate storage, many lights, an armchair and two cordless phones (one in the Bathroom). Bathroom only had a shower, but did have a hairdryer and a thick white bathrobe. The Buffet Breakfast was well stocked with both hot and cold items, fruit, cereal and Fruit Juice and a hot drinks machine. The Jugs of fruit juice did not seem to be replenished when empty! There were plenty of shops & supermarkets around, including a currency exchange almost next door. All the main attractions were in walking distance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very nice hotel close to the city centre.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The staff are extremely pleasant. The location.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, bars are all nearby.
This small hotel is ideally situated for walking in and out of the city centre. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The budget rooms are very small and I would recommend the higher rated rooms since they come at very little extra cost. Breakfast is adequate but not lavish. I prefer this since I've seen a lot of waste in hotels with buffet style meals.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid staying here

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Extremely uncomfortable stay. Rooms are very small. The air conditioning does not cool. It was extremely hot and stuffy at night. An extremely small portion of buffet breakfast is laid out every morning. The staff don't replenish any food once it finishes. Same with housekeeping, the soaps, tea/coffee is not replenished. It is definitely not a four star quality
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Almost wonderful, except for sleeping

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Very pleasing interior decor, very attentive staff. Excellent location (100m or so from the central "Cerdika" metro station). Good breakfast.
Cons: Proper--opaque--window coverings. Fix the noisy machinery. Improve bed linen. Respond promptly to maintenance requests.
Location: Everything that central Sofia has to offer!
The general structure and decor of the Maria Luisa gives a solid impression of traditional elegance, even opulence. High ceilings (probably about 16~18 feet) and paintwork that's both new and detailed (thoughtfully coordinated tones, with accent colors on the extensive trimwork such as the crown moldings) all give the feeling of a solid four-star London hotel. Unfortunately, the thing that let this down quite badly for me, was a lack of attention to some particular details. 1) There was no actual window covering capable of blocking light, just a thin sheer. This was a huge problem for me, there was a bright light outside my window, and with a nine-hour jetlag, it was very hard to get any sleep. 2) There was some kind of machinery; maybe a fan, or perhaps water pumping/heating, which made a very loud, and continuous noise. 3) The bed linen wasn't really big enough for the bed; that is, it didn't tuck under very well, so tended to come un-made and wrinkled. The pillows were rather poor quality and felt rather lumpy, making it hard to get perfectly comfortable. 4) The main light in the room was a two-strip fluorescent, and one of the strips flickered. My request to have this fixed went unheeded, though the bulb eventually quit completely. 5) I suspect the plumbing is old iron pipes. The water each morning was distinctly brown (like weak tea). Let it run for a couple of minutes, and it was clear. But it tasted fine, and I didn't get sick! Perhaps it's spring water?
4 out of 5
by George

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Central location. Could do with refurbishing

Posted May 18, 2016
I booked the hotel several days before arriving. On arrival I asked whether breakfast was included, only to be told that they had made an error with my room and I had been allocated a budget room. They would compensate me with either breakfast or a free airport transfer. As the reviews were good I opted for the transfer. They then said they would give me the breakfast too. When I got to the room it was tiny. There wasn't a curtain on the window and the showroom smelled musty. Brown water came out of the tap and there was a big hole in the showerroom wall which soneone promptly fixed. When I looked for the shower I realised this was just above the basin with a fixing on the wall. They also had condoms in the bathroom on display for sale which I thought was odd. On top of this I woke the next day with 3 bites on me!!