Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fitchburg, MA

Very Warm Room

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: The customer service was great and we really appreciated the fact someone spoke English. Overall, the hotel is clean and welcoming.
Cons: Better climate control in the room(s). Perhaps small, portable fans could be provided.
Location: Great access to public transit and local attractions. Situation in the heart of Sofia, we couldn't beat the location and price!
Overall, the experience was OK. The room we stayed in was very warm (almost hot). We mentioned this at the front desk but there did not seem to be any solution. We thought for sure we turned the heat off in the room, and any attempt to use the fan only blew warm air into the room. We also did not have an exterior wall with a window to open. Also, we asked for 2 beds, which was not indicated in our original booking, so they tried to accommodate us. What we got were 2 twin beds pushed together. Not ideal, but at least we had our own bed linens. For the price, we can't complain too much, but we did not get good nights' sleep.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Watch out for maid service!

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Staff and location - great! Maid service - terrible Only towel service and trash removed Bed was not made, not cleaned anywhere Very disappointing Never experienced such negligence! Would not recommend this hotel with high price and claiming 4star - with no maid service!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Distinctive Decor, Great location

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Central location, Beautiful fittings and decor, lovely staff, nice buffet style breakfast.
Cons: If we came back we would probably pay the extra and have a larger room: it was a bit cramped for two people with 2 large and 2 small suitcases.
Location: One of the best located hotels in Sofia: you are not far from anything you might want to see or do.
We had a one night stay in a standard twin bed room on the 3rd floor. The room was on the small side but perfectly kitted out and reasonably quiet. Windows were opaque so no view. Everything worked as it should, including the super-efficient air conditioner, although the coffee maker doubles as a kettle and there was no Earl Grey tea option, either in the room or the breakfast room. The shower handset kept tilting down as the cradle was slack. The location is perfect for most of the sights and shops, bars, restaurants, the great indoor market and so on. The staff helped us with various queries and requests. The cafe and bar were not open at any time but that was not a big issue for us. One of the best hotels we have stayed in over 11 years, and we got a good price through Expedia.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Definitely, avoid the single room(s) on floor #4.

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: It is very central and was one of the cheap(er) offerings.
Cons: That room should not be rented.
Location: Central says it all.
I had one a the single rooms which happened to be on the fourth floor, under the roof. Avoid it! The bed was broken ( the hotel was full) and they fixed it the next day). The bed (and furniture in general) was old. The mattress ought to have been retired years ago. Worse, the shower is the same space as the toilet and the sink as is the case in sailboats some. The floor of the shower is the floor of the toilet room and there is a problem with plumbing : the toilet space and the very very small room smell strongly of sewage along with the perfume they used to try to cover it up. The personal acknowledged that there is a problem, but that there is no way to fix it. In addition, it is noisy : you hea the beeping from the crossing light on the street, i.e. the sound signal for people who cannot see well so that they know they can cross the road. That room should not never have been rented. Some reviewer mentioned the «old world charm». That is a joke, there is nothing of that. Local people are a bit wary of the neighborhood. As an older white male i did not notice that.
4 out of 5
by Ganesh Raj

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were amazing and were my favorite part of my stay. I wanted to get a massage and they made a few calls to help me out. It takes about 5 minutes to get to the main pedestrian street in the city center. Price is about USD 50 which is decent for Sofia city center. Overall a good stay and would recommend
4 out of 5
by Brian

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
A fine overnight stay in a simple, value, hotel, well-located in Sofia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge UK

Comfortable hotel close to centre

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: The old fashioned style and elegance
Location: please see above
I stayed 6 nights in Hotel Maria Luisa. The room was well laid out with every facility that I needed and many that I had not expected. The only drawback is the 3 steep badly lit steps up to the small elegant glass lift and the narrow stairs down to the restaurant in the basement for breakfast. There doesn't seem to be a proper restaurant but they do have 24 hour room service, with interesting dishes which I did not try because I was visiting a friend.. I liked the fact that the rooms have not been modernised but kept in style (bathrooms fine). The hotel has a narrow frontage to the main street but my room was very quiet. The location is fine. The synagogue is round the corner near the mosque, the Turkish hamman (now a museum?) and the mineral water springs. The market on the corner is worth a visit and has a very cheap cafeteria style restaurant in the basement, which gives huge reductions after 6.30 pm. The archaeological museum is 10 minutes walk away and well worth a visit to see the fantastic gold jewellery made 3 centuries BC, even you are not interested in history. Macdonalds is close with thin burgers but a very good cup of tea.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient location

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Small rooms. GPS did not pick up the address. hotel staff very helpful
2 out of 5
by Anzon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Wouldnt go again

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Hotel was clean. And in a quiet location. There was no milk in with the usual tea/ coffee bits you have in the room. Bar closed at 8pm, in fact we never once saw it manned or the lights on. The Vienna cafe was also never manned and there was no menus to see what was potentially available. No air conditioning. When we went to leave and needed somewhere to change. (Your room has to be vacated by 12pm). We asked for a room and after asking 3 times and getting ignored. We were finally offered a non private corner near the luggage. Not impressed and wouldn't recommend or return.