Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice common areas. The bedroom has problems.

Posted Dec 23, 2016
I had a very good time. Also very good restaurants.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Aylesbury, England

Recommended for convenience to airport.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Reception area was inviting, with plenty of seating areas. Bar and Sushi restaurant were excellent and staff were excellent.
Cons: All rooms offered should be of reasonable quality as opposed to "you get what you pay for".
Location: Convenient for airport.
Room rate was reasonable and acceptable when pre-booked. On arrival, was asked if I wanted to upgrade my room for an additional charge of 20 Euro, but I declined the offer. I entered my room and then realised why the upgrade offer had been extended to me. The room was extremely dated and obviously hadn't been refurbished. It was dark and some of the lights were not working, there was an unpleasant odour, the shower was just about staying fixed to the wall and there wasn't a safe in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

GOOD BUSINESS HOTEL

Posted Oct 1, 2016
NICE BAR AND RESTAURANT ANNEXED TO HOTEL. MATTRESS WAS OUTDATED, PILLOWS WERE NOT COMFORTABLE. AT BREAKFAST YOU'LL HAVE TO FIND YOUR SEAT, ROOM IS VERY CROWDED AS EARLY AS 0730.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vienna

One has the feelings like being in two Hotels

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Associates were great
Cons: Housekeeping- found a leftover cake in my minibar
Location: Great - only 3 stops from the old city
The lobby has been renovated a la a Las Vegas hotel with lots of Japanese touches and looks very rich and glamorous- attracting the Sofia It crowd - guest rooms are old and shabby - understand they will be renovated next - also very Japanese
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice place in the best part of Sofia - Lozenetz

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Excellent place, friendly staff, will always stay there :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Requested a king bed room, received a double twin instead. Was told to come back at 5pm, nothing was resolved then either, only to be told to come back at 10pm to see if it was possible to change my room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

friendly & helpful

Posted Oct 10, 2015
A lovely hotel with friendly staff and very good facilities. It's a great place close to Sofia's city centre, highly recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Typical mafia-operated hotel in Bulgaria

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Good location in a quiet, safe neighborhood. Lots of services are offered (if you are ready to pay). All staff speak English too.
Cons: Update the rooms from the 1980s and 1990s and PLEASE clean or replace the carpets EVERYWHERE.
The hotel used to be run by the Kempinski chain of hotels. It was recently purchased by a famous mafia figure in Bulgaria who owns a portfolio of properties. The hotel's lobby is being adorned with kitch, funny looking stone all over. Unfortunately the "deluxe" rooms look the same as in 1995 while the "standard" rooms are firmly stuck in the year 1980. The carpets in most rooms and hallways need cleaning too. It would also help if the hotel did not spring sudden 10 euro per day parking charges on hotel guests when their reservation page explicitly states "free parking". Overall, while this hotel is located in a great area near the US embassy, the hotel itself is in a state of decline.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chepstow uk

Weekend in sofia

Posted May 25, 2015
Hotel was lovely, needs a bit of modernising in rooms but the most comfortable bed and pillows. Room clean, restaurants very nice. Only muggle was our water wasn't replaced regularly and had to ask for loo roll on second day. Overall very good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kandiah

Rudeness and unhelpful

Posted May 19, 2015
The Conceirge was very unhelpful regarding booking trips.I had to go to another hotel and the Conceirge there helped us book trips. When I checked out on Monday and when I went to settle the payment I kept telling the girl at the counter that the my address on the payment receipt was wrong and she was very rude