Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
All and all fit the bill. Mediocre breakfast and horrible internet. Otherwise ok.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quito

There's more than meets the eye

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: The pool, although chilly
Cons: Staff
Location: Strategic location, a short drive from the sights and the airport
Installations are OK, yet the staff really needs a lesson on how to be kind and friendly to the guests. Not even after insisting on greeting the people, would they return a "good morning". Breakfast, well, bring your own, as things tend to run out and the person in charge will just shrug and show his disapproval of something through a very negative face. No efforts on many of the staff's side to make your stay pleasant and much to my surprise, we found only one that was capable of talking in English, the others would not be able to safe their lives if it depended on it. At the dinner table we had the plates "loosely dropped on the table" to not say thrown. I went to the front desk and complained about the lack of anything resembling courtesy, also she did not run to see if anything could be improved. Not returning to this hotel, although the pool is very nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blezard - Manchester

Middle of nowhere

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Booked a week but only stayed 1 night. Women screaming in car park at night Hotel a lot darker than on pictures. The pool was empty and looked filthy. They did refund for 5 days when i asked. Moved hotels and was great . Stayed 27th may 2017
4 out of 5
by Milfred

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
we really enjoyed our stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island, USA

Good value makes up for boring location

Posted Apr 4, 2017
The hotel is very clean, the staff is friendly enough, and the price is a good value, which makes up for the somewhat out of the way location, which requires a taxi to anywhere. A decent shopping mall is located nearby, but to the city center will cost about $7 USD one way. I took a taxi to the mountains, did some sledding (skiing and snowboarding are also available), and then rode the cable car down the mountain for about $5 for great pictures. I was on a working holiday (teaching English), so the good price and excellent maids were much appreciated. However, if you prefer a coin laundry to save cash, you will have to spend about $10 on a taxi roundtrip to Studentski Grad. Make sure to specify that you want your clothing dried completely, not just spun, as my second load was damp when I got it home. I also advise telling the launderers to go easy on the perfumes, detergents, and starch if you are allergic to large quantities of these chemicals as I am (cough, cough!). If you like architecture, Sophia's national cathedral across from Sophia University is a must see. On Sunday you can stay for the two-hour sermon and participate as much as is possible without even knowing Bulgarian, but the congregation is expected to stand for the entire time out of respect for Bulgarian Orthodox Christian practices. A lot of people popped in for a short time to pay their respects and departed. The doors remain open throughout the service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

General

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Location: There is a nice cheap bar 3 minutes walk on the way to Lidl
Excellent big pool. Nice big room. Breakfast is not worth getting up for. The bar is not really a bar.
4 out of 5
by Plamen from Varna

Business trip

Posted Dec 21, 2015 on Hotels
Business meeting at BACA office.
5 out of 5
by Charles from Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

A wonderful hotel close to the airport

Posted Jul 7, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I have stayed at the Montecito Hotel numerous times and have never been disappointed. It is close to the airport, has an excellent restaurant, and large, clean rooms. The nightly rate is considerably lower than those of hotels in the city center, and the complimentary breakfast has everything one could want in the buffet line.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melaque, Jalisco, Mexico

Hotel with Elegant Lobby and Restaurant

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: Big pool, nice dinners and desserts. Has the appearance of a hotel from a bygone era.
Cons: When I dscovered that the room safe did not have batteries I was told that maintenance stopped working at 6 and I had to wait until the next day
Location: Far away from the center of town, but that was expected. 21 leva from train station to the hotel
The restaurant and lobby made me think of the czarist days of Russia. For all of their elegance they stay just this side of being tacky. The beds were comfortable, and the room was very nicely decorated. Beautiful bathroom, although it always had a sewer odor. The included breakfast was always cold, and not very appetizing. Dinner in the evening was good and reasonably priced. The restaurant has interesting tented dining areas with transparent walls to keep out cold and rain. They are also the smoking area. The hotel is quite a few km out from the center of town. We found that the 204 bus could be taken from the street behind the hotel and taken right to downtown for 2 lev, or about 1 euro.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterrey, MX

Ok for one night if no other option is available

Posted May 21, 2015
Hotel is clean and staff is friendly and effective. But is not very well located and facilities are kind of old... But well maintained. Breakfast is included but is was completely horrible. There are many other better options closer to downtown.