Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again!!!

Posted Nov 9, 2017 on Hotels
There was a gum on the floor, there was no paint on the walls, the toilet door was broken, the sink faucet stayed in my hand as I tried to release the tap. The balcony was built in the room, and the ceiling was covered not with bricks, but with something like glass from which you can see the landing birds and their excrements. You have the feeling that you are sleeping in a pigeon-loft.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice to stay in center Sofia

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
Good-Clean spacious room with good location. walking distance to Serdika and most of attractions in Sofia. Bad-I stayed in the top floor and very noisy due to pigeons on the roof. Tabs in the basin were dropped whenever I turned them on/off. Trivia-The landlady was not that friendly, and took a slow action, but offered what I wanted.
1 out of 5
by Dario

Stay away from this horrible place.

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
Never in my life have I stayed in such a horrible hotel. Trust me I've been unlucky enough to stay in bad hotels but this wins the trophy for the worse hotel ever. Let's start... when I arrived the lady at the front desk told us that we didn't have a reservation so I was surprised to hear this. Anyways, she asked us to wait while she figured something out. 30 minutes later she said she's going to give us a room to wait in while she works something out. She puts us in a room, then I phone Hotels.com to let them know what's going on. Surprisingly hotels.com says that the hotel found the reservation. The room is horribly decorated and looks NOTHING like the pictures. When I booked my room, it seemed pretty modern looking but the room we got was maybe form the 1900s. The shower head was broken and it splashed water everywhere! No curtains either, the bathroom was tiny, the bathroom door was cracked, the room did not have A/C but luckily the lay who checked us in, who was very nice by the way, she offered us the fan from the reception. I was seriously thinking on leaving that same night and go to another hotel but we were exhausted as we had been traveling for 7 hours and we arrived late at night. The next day we asked for a new room but a different lady refused and lied to us stating the whole hotel was booked, yet many websites listed rooms available for the night. I don't think I've ever experienced such horrible stay. This place needs to be remodeled ASAP! I overpaid.
3 out of 5
by Sheryl

Adequate Stay

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
We had a long layover and stayed for one night and day in Sofia. The location of this hotel is not a nice area for walking or sight seeing. The women running the front desk were minimally responsive to our questions, we are unsure if this was a communication or cultural barrier. Coffee and tea are charged extra. The rooms are fine, but not in exceptional condition. The owner picked us up from the airport and charged nearly double what our return cab cost, leaving us feeling as if we had been scammed by him. Having traveled five continents, Bulgaria and this hotel were the least welcome we have ever felt. Overall, with this hotel, you get what you pay for; it's adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Keighley, West Yorkshire

Nice, basic small hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Basic but nice. Stayed six nights small bathroom. Staff were pleasant and approachable. About 10/15 mins walk from centre, so location was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You may do better

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
It was a little bit out of the way from the main attractions but quite good for public transport. The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English. As budget hotels go it was in good condition, but houes keeping was very poor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great value hotel, close to main station

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Value
Pop Bogomil exceeded my expectations given price. Its a 10-15 minute walk to city centre and close to the central station which makes for a speedy arrival or handy for departue. There are a couple of really good cafes nearby for breakfast if you dont eat breakfast at the hotel. I only booked for my first night as my train arrived at 10.30pm, but stayed there for the duration of my stay in sofia.
5 out of 5
by Paul

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice staff. Very clean. Musty smell in the bedroom but for the price and location, it was excellent.
4 out of 5
by Rudolf Ruud

Confidience and clean hotel, friendly management

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly and helpful people, good area close to center, for going out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap, well-placed, excellent value

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
Good hotel - among the very cheapest in Sofia. While the facilities are fairly basic, they are as stated and fine for the great value. Friendly staff, room cleaned daily. Location is great - attractions are within 10 minutes walk (20 in the snow). Metro 5-10 minutes away. A well stocked, 24-hr small supermarket around the corner, restaurants of various kinds within 10 minutes walk, a bar within 5 minutes. The hotel is quiet - not problems with noise either outside or in, and comfortable, ensuring a good night's sleep. TV has three channels in English. The only grumbles is that the room was a little cold (it was -15 outside, to be fair, but a another, cheaper hotel I stayed in that week was warmer!) but there was ample bedding for this to not be a problem when sleeping. I would not that the drapes/curtains were not blackout ones, as stated, but this was not a problem.