Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible hotel experience.

Posted Feb 24, 2017
I just had the worst hotel experience of my life at the Sofia Hotel Balkan. When I got to my room I pulled back the top blanket and the sheets were covered in hair from the previous guest. They made the effort to make the bed and put a chocolate on it but the sheets and pillow were disgusting. The air conditioner didn't work so I had to have the window open which let in a lot of noise from the street. I will never book that hotel again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel in the best location in Sofia

Posted Jan 19, 2017
I had a fabulous 1 night stay. On arrival the hotel staff were very friendly and spoke good English. The room was delightful, overlooking the square. Location is 2nd to none, it's stunning. Deklan at the front of house deserves a special mention for helping me navigate the local area. Will definitely be booking again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Area

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful, and clean hotel in a great area. Needs some updates to the rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable in Sofia Bulgaria

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Room was very comfortable. Food was good. The Staff was always helpful. I left my iPad in the taxi after checking out. Evelin the receptionist contacted the taxi and got them to return it to me. You will definitely enjoy your stay here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay. Near all the attraction
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Great location and fast internet, but I'd expect it was a 3 star hotel. The church behind the building is amazing and the restaurants, metro, and ancient ruins are a close walk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Interesting stay

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is from the cold war era, and so the decor in the rooms, so is not really luxurious and perhaps I would say the bathroom is tiny so it is not very comfortable. The heating did not work properly so we did had a cold night. It's in the best spot on town, you can walk easily to ghe top places and shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent, central hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Central, close to shopping, eateries and entertainment venues.
We arrived two hours before the published check-in time but the hotel staff went out of their way to prepare our room early, although there was an understandable delay of about forty minutes. It offers what you would expect from a 5-star hotel - my wife enjoyed an excellent massage and facial at reasonable prices. The best thing about the hotel is its location, right next to Serdika metro station, the junction of Sofia's two metro lines. All the central tourist sights are within reasonable walking distance - even my wife managed them without too many complaints - and it's at one end of Vitosha Boulevard, the main shopping street.