Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant hotel & great value

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Room comfort and cleanliness & helpful staff
Cons: breakfast was sufficient, but would have appreciated more variety.
Location: Walking distance to most of Sofia's main attractions. Good restaurants in the area
I highly recommend this hotel. Located on a quiet street, a block from a huge modern mall. Room was very spacious, comfortable, clean and had all amenities. Hotel staff most friendly. Will be sure to return if ever in Sofia again. Great value!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Svetla Ivanova - Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Tamar, Thank you very much for your kind words. Looking forward to welcome you here at the Residence again. Kind regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Wonderful hotel on quiet tree lined street

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: The hotel had charm, was very tastefully decorated and the staff were incrediably helpful and friendly.
Location: Within easy walking distance to everything and lots of nearby cafes, restaurants and shops.
what a great place to stay while exploring Sofia. The room was beautiful, I enjoyed the breakfast options and the staff were so very kind and helpful. Everything was within walking distance. I had a suite which was huge, wonderfully decorated and very quiet. I enjoyed being in a small independent hotel and felt very much at home. The in house massage was another great amenity.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Svetla Ivanova, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind words. Looking forward to welcome you here again. Kind regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Quiet Boutique Hotel in the heart of Sofia

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing to suggest
Location: Near city center and many attractions
I stayed here for about a week in February and found it to be a wonderful experience. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I stayed in two different rooms at the beginning and end of my trip to Bulgaria. Each suite was beyond my expectations, with large spa bathrooms and multiple rooms. The hotel is in a quiet area with easy access to restaurants and cafes in walking distance. Breakfast was either delivered to room or in the common area, made to order. I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will hopefully be my regular place to stay

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Just very pleasantly surprised with this new place
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good, quiet location

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
Most staff spoke some English and we're friendly and helpful. Julie at front desk went out of her way to purchase and deliver inter-city bus tickets for next leg of our trip.
5 out of 5
by Martha

Lovely Boutique Hotel in great part of Sofia

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
We were in Sofia for a combination of business and vacation. The Sofia Residence is a lovely, pensionne style hotel, with cozy yet modern, clean and comfortable rooms. The staff is extremely attentive to detail, helpful and nice. They offer several breakfast options, delivered to your room, each delicious! In addition to a restaurant downstairs, there are several excellent places to eat or have a drink nearby in this most beautiful neighborhood. We stayed in two different rooms, both lovely. One was a single room, the other more of a suite with a balcony. (See pictures below) HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

excellent hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2016
very nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, a lot of good food nearby
4 out of 5
by Traci from West Palm Beach

Lovely hotel!

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
The room was lovely! It was large and cozy and the bed was very comfortable. Small things needed repairs, like the shower head leaked and the balcony door leaked some rain water inside, but it wasn't a big deal. The reception staff was so helpful with offering me places to eat, calling a taxi, and printing out my flight's boarding pass. There is no common area to sit and relax so I just sat outside at the restaurant and got some fresh air. If I return, I will definitely stay here again. I love it :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted May 25, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel. Love the rooms, area, and service. One of the nicest and most unique hotels I've stayed in. Only problem was the noise from outside. They should install soundproof windows. They were very accommodating though and moved us to a quitter room, further from the restaurant outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dick from Carlsbad, CA

Boutique hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Cons: Nothing in life is perfect. Housekeeping kept room clean but occasionally removed bars of soap and didn't replace with new or leave enough tissue.
Location: In the embassy section. Convenient for sightseeing.
We were very happy with the week we spent at the Sofia Residence. The room, which was one of the lesser expensive ones, was generous in size and the ambiance of the room and hotel was delightful in a nice, relatively quiet, but convenient, location. The room was clean, the bed was quite comfortable, the bathroom was nice - the shower was great, the included breakfast was excellent. Excellent value for the money. Would definitely stay here again.