Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Historic hotel in Norway

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Nice old hotel with ugly, well worn wing. No tea or coffee in the room. The buffet breakfast is ok but the smorgasbord dinner is excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by linlark

gorgeous fjordside setting

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Orbitz
Definitely recommend -- but just don't forget your shampoo because besides a box of kleenex there are no little bottles, bars or showercap. Had to ask for another towel to use as a bathmat. Breakfast buffet which is included is wonderful, and the village of Balestrand idylic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by California Swede

Amazing location

Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Orbitz
The hotel is in an amazing location. Magnificent views are seen from every location in the hotel, and there are many gorgeous places to sit outside as well. The art and antique furniture in the lobby areas is beautiful. It is a truly unique hotel that is able to match the magnificence of the fiords. The staff was incredibly helpful, polite, and friendly. We wouldn't hesitate returning if we were in Norway again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shannon World Traveler

Best Hotel in Balestrand

Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Orbitz
I did a lot of research before arriving at my decision to stay at the Kviknes. The rooms are slightly dated (quick tip: spend the extra cash for a room with a view) but the restaurant, cafe, and gift shop are the best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Elke aka Rosalie

location, location

Posted Jul 10, 2012 on Orbitz
The view of the hotel was fabulous as we arrived on the ferry. We loved sitting on the veranda at the front overlooking the fjord. We were supposed to be in the new wing, but they gave us 2 rooms that adjoined thru the bathroom in the old part. They were nicely decorated and had the best view. Only problem was no lift. Lots of stairs. Breakfast was delicious. The hotel has lots of history and has tons of antigue decoration.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Owain1845

Beautiful location

Posted Jul 9, 2012 on Orbitz
Great place to stay on a Norway in a Nutshell trip. They should somehow find a way to remove or refurbish the 1960's addition (which many hotels seem to have) that distracts from the original Victorian lodge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by xsxssx

Every were you point a camera is a perfect pic.

Posted May 27, 2012 on Orbitz
Highly recommend - Food, service views, town - one of the most peaceful places visited
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Life On The Go

Enjoy The Scenery

Posted Sep 29, 2011 on Orbitz
Spend your time outdoors enjoying the hotel's beautiful fjord surroundings. Limit your time indoors to minimize disappointment with less-than-luxury facility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anonymous

Nice hotel in a beautiful location

Posted Aug 9, 2011 on Orbitz
We stayed in the newer part of the hotel, which is an architectural eyesore in Balestrand but had spacious (for Europe) and comfortable rooms. The breakfast was amazingly varied and very tasty. We spent a couple of days in and near the town, walking and relaxing; we also took a loop trip to Forde over the high mountains -- marvelous views from the pass and great scenery on the tundra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anonymous

Historic Hotel with a special

Posted Jul 25, 2011 on HotelClub
Historic Hotel with a special location. Very good food.