Ratings based on 1,023 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2017
One of the most central locations you can get, walking distance to everywhere i wanted to go. Fab hotel .Fab historyand the staff very helpfull......
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Good location but terrible beds / slow service

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Good location
Cons: Needs new mattresses / more staff. Needs some TLC
Location: Good for West End shows
We stayed here for 1 night to see Wind In the Willows - great location and on first impressions seems ok BUT bed was so old that mattress had springs that stuck in you and was too uncomfortable. Owners need to go buy some decent mattresses! 50 minutes for a starter in the Pre-Theatre Brassie - only 1 waitress on a Saturday night - breakfast the next day was cold and the scrambled egg looked like porridge! Complained and got the breakfast refunded but the rooms need new beds before I would stay here again - is a shame as the location is excellent and the hotel could be so much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bermuda

Central London

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms are getting tired
Location: EverythIng in London on your doorstep
Brilliant for all attractions, what a location. Lobby and bar great, rooms are slightly tired but a practical hotel and superb spot to visit London from. Staff are very helpful, some rooms could just use a bit of frechining up
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riyadh

old facilities with high rate

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: a lot of renovation needed
Location: nothing special
bad experience, old facilities with high rate and poor breakfast collection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Excellent location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
It's our favourite hotel when coming to London. Close to everything and love the bar to have a little drink before calling it a night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

The Courthouse Didn't Live Up to the Hype

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: It's a great location, albeit in a very busy and noisy area. The Oxford Circus Underground was just minutes away.
I was a bit disappointed by my stay at The Courthouse. Upon check-in, reception told me a room at my rate was not available, but offered me an "upgraded" room on the top floor near the rooftop lounge. They assured me the windows were double insulated against noise. It only took 5 minutes to realize lounge noise was going to be a problem, particularly the noisy foot traffic outside my door to/from the lounge. It quickly became clear my "upgrade" was one of the worst rooms in the hotel. When I returned to reception to request a quieter room, they assured me the noise level would subside after 11 pm. After a firm "no," they finally agreed to find a quieter room. When I arrived in my new room, the first thing I encountered was a pile of garbage on the desk - apparently some trash and food housekeeping had collected during clean-up but forgot to throw away. The room size was very nice but the furnishings (bed, desk chair, etc.) were cheap and uncomfortable. There was a leak under my toilet which had to fixed during the stay. The concierges were not very helpful or knowledgeable. All of that said, the hotel was extremely overpriced. I would not return.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TORONTO ONTARIO CANADA

Only thing missing are fleas!!

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: The location was very good.
Cons: For the money pick ANY other hotel but this one.
Location: Location was right in Soho. Walk to Buckingham Palace. Good night life.
I booked 2 King Superior rooms through Expedia (non fundable) for myself, my friend and our two daughters.  We were both given classic rooms with two twins pushed together to look like a King superior room.  Ours was room 612 and our daughters stayed in 303. Because we paid upfront, the hotel decided they did not have to give us what we paid for.  A classic bait and switch. We asked for a room change, as we wanted what we paid for, and were told you were fully booked but could see what could be done. Later that day, my friend and I were moved to 211 which was the same classic room with two twins pushed together.  The only difference was that this room was slightly larger than the first. These rooms are not 5 star by any stretch of the imagination.  The following is a list of the rooms appalling state. Bed sagged so much you could feel and see the coils. Pillows were flat and fairly non existent. Duvet was filthy. Towels were threadbare, thin and grey. Shower head repeatedly fell off When asked for an iron (none is in the room) it didn't work and had to wait a full day to find one that did. Carpet is filthy. Door to the TV stand was broken and taken off. Side lights did not work and on the last day the room fuse blew so we did not have any electricity.  We mentioned this to staff but nothing was done. View from both rooms were of an office next door so we were unable to have our curtains open. The noise from the terrace was very loud. Room temp was cont. 25 degrees.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and service

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect hotel in London.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Massive room - very friendly and helpful staff - definitely worth a return trip
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a disappointment

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely sad to see this hotel in such a historic building in the best location have such bad rooms. The front desk staff were nice (Spanish girl) but the concierge at night was absolutely unhelpful. Also, some of the concierge on the weekend was bad as they didn't know much of what was happening around the city. The rooms were awful! Not renovated, bed was probably as old as the building and carpet looked unsanitary. Amazing location at Carnaby street but what a miss. I've traveled all over the world and such disappointments.