Ratings based on 474 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2018
Good room! Good comfortable! Good staff! I want to stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2018
Air conditioning is basically useless. Coldest setting gives a mildly warm breeze. Not ideal for 22 degrees weather
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Solihull

Review

Posted Apr 21, 2018
The rooms were outdated, the beds were small, the surfaces were chipped, the furniture was damaged, the shower looks like it’s been there since 1980, the sink struggled to empty, no bottle of water in the room. Honestly I’d have rather stayed at a travelodge
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

Great staff but noisy

Posted Apr 16, 2018
We were very pleasantly welcomed by the staff and were looking forward to our stay.The room was pleasant and clean but was spoilt by damaged and scratched furniture.The bed was very good and looked clean however the staff had put two red cushions on the pillows these were hideous and filthy with dust i cant believe a 4 star hotel would do this.We had a very disturbed sleep due to creaky floors and very noisy guests.This hotel could do so much better and we cant help feeling a little disappointed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very poor hotel, great location but nothing else.

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Pros: Location only.
Cons: The list is too long
Location: Great position for the NEC
Staff were rude, hotel was very uncomfortable and tatty. Very expensive. It seems they get very busy so they don't seem to care about the customer service,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

A slice of England

Posted Apr 15, 2018
Pros: The beds and space in the room.
Cons: Tidying up the table top would be good.Shower taps bit tricky.
Location: Not far from railway station.
Stayed one night with my daughter.Used room service which I felt was a little pricey, Lovely sized room and beautiful comfy beds with good bath Shower temperature was a little tricky to control. I did send an email through the website re something I may have left behind - But no reply.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and close to the town centre

Posted Apr 10, 2018
Pros: Very friendly staff and clean.
Location: It is in the prime location near to the town centre and loads of choice for resturants near by.
This was my second stay at the hotel and would recomend friends to stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Solihull

Comfortable hotel in Solihull

Posted Apr 10, 2018
Good facilities, helpful staff, close to West Midlands attractions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location & price for the centre of Solihull

Posted Apr 9, 2018
Expedia offered me a great price and what a lovely surprise when I arrived, full gym and pool facilities. I had a nice big room although a little dated it was fab. Comfortable bed and a decent size desk I could get some work done at. Staff were efficient and friendly and I was able to leave my car while I went to work meeting for couple of hours as its so central.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Booking

Posted Apr 8, 2018
Found I could have booked this room cheaper, if I’d used St John’s Hotel’s own website.