Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

2.0 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
2.2 Room cleanliness
2.1 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
1.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Africa

On the beach, that's all it has going for it

Posted Apr 2, 2016
I'll describe my experience and you decide if you'd like to stay. The beach is covered in broken glass, feral dog packs and drunk fisherman. This IS A smoking hotel and the lobby IS filled with drunken men smoking at all hours (the only women I saw worked there). The room had 3 out of 4 light sockets unusable, they burned trash under the window so we could not open it, the shower was broken and flooded the floor when used, the showerhead itself popped off when we turned the water on, we were constantly reminding them to replace the toilet paper because they didn't want to, they also didn't want to clean, the bathroom window was completely MISSING and we had to tell staff twice to replace it, and they refused to honor their free breakfast card. The dining hall smells very heavily of black mold, and you can see it growining on the curtains and wall crevices. It looks as if this places has not been used in 20 years. Breakfast was supposed to be ready at 7am, which meams they should have been cooking at 6:30. We went down at NINE and we had to stand next to the kitchen for 30 minutes each morning to order the chef to cook. The woman who worked at the hotel desk acted angry that she actually had to serve us and glared at us and spoke in a short, angry tone when giving us our plates. On the third day, they gave our hotel key to another guest who who entered our room at 3am. The staff 'punished' a guard instead of the actual desk staff who booked him an occupied room.
3 out of 5
by Alan from Dublin

Alas poor Solymar...when did your sun set?

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
I am reluctant to disclose too much for fear of spoiling the surprise. But suffice as to say, Solymar has seen better days. To describe the once scintilating holiday destination as existing in a time warp would be to risk understatement. Unless you are an enthusiastic apostle of club med nostalgia, you would be well advised to exercise caution when considering Solymar for your seasonal sojourn. Thumbnail snapshots can be very misleading, as can any reference to fancy leisure facilities. In saying all that, if you are the kind of fussy holiday-maker, for whom simplicity & eccentricity are an appealing source of amusement, then you'll probably get a kick outta Solymar's steadily fading fabulousness. As i most certainly did. And hey, the food is consistent and immensely satisfying. If you don't believe me, just ask the ferile felines that will almost certainly mob you as you sit down to enjoy your dinner. Another great example of the novel charms of the 'Fawltymar' experience. All'n'all, I will look-back on my visit a la Plage Soliman with measured affection, bearing in mind i spent a languid low-season month in the place. So I suppose it couldn't be that bad if I can compose this half-baked review with a broad smile smeared across my dial. Don't worry about it, just do it!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

It's not hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2015
It's not hotel or motel it's, old stuff in the bedroom , the breakfast it's not good
5 out of 5
by Jeroen from Miami Beach

Excellent

Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
Very hospitable
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Solymar Hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: That it was so close to the beach
Cons: Staff should speak English as well as French Food hygiene Staff could be more approachable and friendlier Local taxi services
Location: The beach and that's it! You need a car and a driver who is bilingual who knows the area.
I booked the hotel knowing that the reviews were not great. I wanted to be left alone and ignored and Solymar pretty much did that. The staff doesn't speak English, the hotel phone doesn't work and if you do stay, make sure you arrange taxis yourself online as the staff are very reluctant nor want to help you. Again try to arrange to eat in alternative places as the hygiene in the hotel wasn't the greatest, i.e when I poured myself coffee, dirt from the cup rose to the top. The hotel manager was very sick and he was coughing and heaving all over the place. The room itself was ok although very cold, but I did intentionally book in the winter season I'm sure during the summer the hotel would be more pleasant. There are a bunch of tame dogs that roam the area, I don't mind dogs so they didn't bother me
1 out of 5
by Group

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by tunny1975 from bronx,new york

Stay away from this place

Posted Nov 11, 2013
I booked a night there according to the infos and location they posted I went around where it supposedly located I asked a taxi driver he told me it's about an hour away. I drove there it's in the middle of nowhere. They said they were not notified of my reservation. No light in hallways Room smells No staff to help...
2 out of 5
by MERZOUGUI

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by piers from Scotland, UK

basic, rundown, clean. good base to explore from.

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Pros: Very cheap, clean ensuite double room, great balcony, cold beer. Better suited for backpackers/travellers
Cons: food is overpriced and awful, eat in town or shop in the amazing main Tunis market (just E of the station) use the fridge and BBQ on beach etc
Location: rundown, wasteland. but well served with frequent efficient train service.
If you are not of an adventurous spirit stay away from this hotel. If this does not deter you then read on. This hotel is miles out of town, but easily commutable for less than a €1 and 1hr of time (place barcelone to borj el cedron, then any bus) and despite it having a pool and a beach, is not a resort. If you find yourself visiting here as a couple I prey you are able to shoulder the responsibility equally or someone is gonna get dumped. I paid €7 a night and got a comfortable clean ensuite with fridge opening out onto a verandah with a great view over the med and Tunis. Everything is clean, but the hotel is slowly depressing itself in the nostalgia of faded dreams and ambitions, delapidating into a condition analogous to the small town in which it sits. The employees are sullen though not rude, they appear resigned in someway, as if they are as dissapointed by the failed promise of this hotel as you are. The pool is clean usable and even included feral local children who provided some well needed conviviality and life. The beach if viewed thru half closed eyes is indeed a beach, but the crunch of debris and waste under foot flattens the illusion somewhat. if you are travelling alone or with a friend, and want somewhere chilled and comfortable to simply stop and crash after a whole day of being harangued into buying stuff you don't want/need, and offers access to cold cheap beer (often difficult or expensive in the Arabian culture) then this might do it.
2 out of 5
by suniel

it sucks

Posted Feb 19, 2013 on Hotels
Dey don serve u brkfast, the dinner countr closes @ 7, ppl don speak english and dey have a NO answer for everythg . Its very far frm the city and there are no rest and shops close to the hotel, no transport frm or close to the hotel .veryyyyyyy poooooor service