Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice but tired hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2018
Pros: Not much.
Cons: An awful lot
Location: Plenty to do in Soller itself and the port.
Have stayed at this hotel on two occasions, I won’t be returning. The hotel is feels and looks tired, caught in a time warp.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nowhere near 5-star. Fairly awful.

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Location?
Cons: Everything.
Location: Hiking
Those who suggest this is a 5 star hotel have clearly never stayed in a real one. The Gran Hotel is barely a 3 star. It is old and tired and lacks any charm whatsoever. The staff aren't unpleasant, but aren't helpful either. The room itself was stuffy and the airconditioner didn't work. The spa was a massive disappointment- the jacuzzi was dirty, the pool small and institutional feeling. The sauna and steam room aren't kept hot so if you would like to use them you have to switch them on and wait about an hour for them to heat up. There is nothing luxurious about the experience. Breakfast is pretty basic. Coffee is terrible. My one attempt at the hotel restaurant for dinner was aborted promptly when a large black insect emerged from beneath my salad. The hiking around Soller is great and the scenery is beautiful but this hotel is to be avoided at all costs.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nantwich, UK

Good hotel but a few issues

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: In the heart of Soller. Rroom was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were very good. Nice roof-top pool.
Cons: Larger in-room safe. More parking space. More generous allowance on in-room tea and coffee facilities or replace items every day.
Location: Many good restaurants nearby and easy walking to get the tram to Port de Soller or to Palma.
This is a good hotel in the heart of Soller. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were very good and the staff were excellent during the breakfast period. There is a nice roof-top pool which was great for a swim at the end of long day of hiking. There were a few issues though. The first is that the safe in the room is quite small so a small laptop or similar device won't fit. This meant having to carry my laptop in a backpack or putting it in the boot of the car. Secondly, the parking is very tight both in front of the hotel and in the rear car park. Many times I saw cars blocked in, mine included, because space was so tight. The third issue was weird! We stayed for 5 nights which worked out at approx. 1,000 euros. In the room there were tea and coffee making facilities but you were only allowed 4 tea bags for the duration of your stay - regardless of how long that was - and then you had to buy a pack of 10 for 2.50 euros! How ridiculous! But the woman on the front desk confirmed this. We only wanted one tea bag more and in the end she gave in and gave us four more for nothing. We felt like criminals when we pleaded our case for one extra tea bag!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Don't Book!

Posted Sep 20, 2017
This is nowhere near a 5* experience and not worth the money. The staff were great and did their best but better suited to a 3*. We booked a suite but it was hard to see the difference between this and a standard hotel room. Breakfast was served in an awful 1970s carpeted dark room and the food display was just terrible. Cabana's on rooftop pool were great, the sunbeds however were wooden an rather uncomfortable! There are some good hotels in the area and if you want that luxury escape it really can't be found in this hotel.
4 out of 5
by howard from Blackpool

long weekend break

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel doesn't offer 5* service but charges for it. Difficult to get waiting staff to take orders at breakfast. Hotel bar was closed at 11pm on Saturday evening and insufficient sunbeds for numbers attempting to use pool. Location is lovely and some of the bedrooms are spacious. However if you are expecting 5* luxury you will be disappointed
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Deia, Mallorca

Lovely hotel but restaurant very disappointing

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Sadly restaurant food and staff were very disappointing. Did not carry out our request. Meat returned twice after asking for "well cooked" when placing the order. Also weekend chef seeemed to. Not know how to "scramble eggs". We were served with a fried egg that had been chopped up and mixed together.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good central position within Soller

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Staff, food and position.
Cons: Pool, spa and outside area.
Location: Walking guide from tourist information useful for finding out about surrounding villages and hamlets. Train to Palma a good experience
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Soller and hotel. A good base for exploring region on foot, train and bus. A wide variety of places to eat, a good foodie stop. We are glad we opted to stay in Soller and not the Port as we found the port very built up with tourist bars and shops, where as Soller felt a community town. The hotel was lovely with friendly and helpful staff and excellent food, however as a 5 star hotel felt the pool area and Spa looked tired in places and could do with a make over. Friends over the years have recommended Soller, we now understand why.
5 out of 5
by Stephen

Fantastic family holiday

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, relaxed, friendly atmosphere at the hotel. Bed and breakfast good standard and the staff are superb! Area is beautiful- we are a family with 2 teen daughters who loved pool area and beach at port soller which is short drive away.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from n/a


Posted Sep 2, 2017
Beautiful hotel in need of updating Disappointing as a 5 star. Pool area especially so with a threadbare carpet leading up to it and cushions that don't fit loungers. Lovely staff although could be more attentive on times.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Soller is a beautiful location

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Complete overhaul. Additional sun loungers. Better standard of food.
Location: Nice areas for walks. The main square in Soller has many eateries which are all very good and reasonable priced. Some quaint little shops.
Hotel is certainly not 5 star. Old and dated inside. Breakfast was terrible. The pool area did not have enough sun loungers for guests. Too many children making too much noise at pool area. Having chatted with other guests at the hotel they also offered the information that this hotel is more at the low end of a 3 star. I intend to agree. Soller however is a beautiful area. I would return the Soller but not this hotel.