Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from berkshire

6 star service in 4 star hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros Staff, staff, staff. All of them are brilliant and so friendly. Have not experienced service like that in any other hotel in Egypt. The house reef at the end of the jetty (an absolute must!) and you can rent all the equipment at the Orca dive shop. Cons No beach No coffee/tea making facilities If you can live without a beach then you should stay in this hotel, without a doubt.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by The Breakers Team, Hotel Management
Dear Malene, thank you very much for your positive feedback on Expedia! Great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you soon again here in sunny Soma Bay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Germany

Everything for water sports

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Kiting, surfing, diving, snorkeling thats why people come there. And there are best facilities for that. Food is good, kitchen very clean, decent staff, no harasment, nice guests, mostly adult or with elder children from Germany and Switzerland. Yoga-sessions, gym, nice bar, wonderful reef... Perfect cleanliness!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by The Breakers Team, Hotel Management
Dear Susanne, thank you very much for your positive review on Expedia! Great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! Looking forward to welcoming you soon again in sunny Soma Bay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely relaxing hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
Breakers is a small (compared to many Red Sea resorts), compact and generally well appointed hotel. Our room was clean and well presented with two comfortable twin beds pushed next to each other - we had room 253 which was spacious and looked right out over the small beach front and sea. We could pick up free wi-fi in our room which was quite fast. Good choice of well cooked food at all mealtimes. Excellent and friendly customer service by all staff. Lovely large bar area with a pool table and table football which were rarely used but again acted as a focus for relaxing. Little to occupy you other than scuba dive or snorkel (the hotel has a beautiful house reef), kite surf, sunbathe or just chill out with friends old and new - all the good things in life! The on-site Orca dive centre is very well run and supportive to all levels of diver and is a major focus of activity where people will meet to chat and relax. Loved it and hope to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the positive review! Great to read that you enjoyed your stay and are planning to return! We are waiting for you! WELCOME HOME The Breakers-Team
4 out of 5
by Steven from Cairo

Breakers Dive & Surf Hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
This is our third time at Breakers at Soma Bay. Service is excellent, particularly for Egypt--5 star! The facility is nice with a beach, a pier to dive or snorkel right there, and a dive shop next door. Walking path winds along ocean and past other hotels. There is a rooftop for sunning and lounging beds. The dinners are very good with changing menu each night. Breakfasts are average with no variety, however fresh juices have been removed from previous years--a disappointment! Things that could be improved: allow guests to bring water and their own wine (Egyptian wine is closer to vinegar). Wi-fi is not available in the rooms. "Available in all areas" means all public areas, but where it is available it's pretty fast. TVs are blocked from using an HDMI cable, but you can request maintenance to unblock it--however if you turn your TV off, it reverts back to blocked. Overall we recommend Breakers and it is a good value for the money!
4 out of 5
by mohamed from Dubai

Great See view,Enjoy diving,Kite Surf

Posted Jun 8, 2015 on Hotels
I spent four nights, enjoying diving at the house reef and kite surf.The hotel is clean and has a unique location on the house Reef, so you can enjoy diving and snorkeling,The hotel also offer complementary breakfast and dinner, you will not find the same in others hotels in Soma bay. Also price per night is cheaper than other hotels, Service is good, clean hotel,with amazing facilities, I strongly recommend it for couples and families.Reception Staff are extremely friendly and helpful, speaking different languages fluently.
5 out of 5
by mohamed from Dubai

Enjoy the Great sea view,Diving adventure .

Posted Jun 4, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed Great 4 nights in a room with breathtaking sea View,I enjoyed diving in the House Reef and Kite Surfing.The hotel Reception team are nice , friendly, helpful and speak English, Russian and German languages Fluently. Breakfast and Dinner is Nice Unique location on the House Reef, so you can Enjoy Diving and snorkeling daily. Also Kite surf house is near and there is Shuttle service every 20-30 minutes .I recommend early booking for Kite surfing lessons by phone before arrival.Diving Center is well equipped, Friendly experienced instructors .Service , location is nice also prices are reasonable in comparison to other hotels in the same area(Soma Bay).I strongly recommend this hotel for Families,Friends and Couples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Beirut

Great for Kiteboarding (Non-Beginners)

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Food, everything provided for, staff are fantastic and location is stunning.
Cons: Nothing to improve - simply amazing for the value.
Location: Kiteboarding is main activity (in addition to diving and snorkeling) - though offshore winds are serious inconvenience for beginners.
Absolutely relaxing experience with everything taken care of - buffet breakfast and dinner is fantastic, great variety and delicious. Snorkeling off the hotel is world class. I would highly recommend for someone looking for a easy, relaxing holiday to focus on water sports and having all catered for. Do not expect cultural experience however, as the location is not made for this. Soma Bay is amazing for kiteboarding, but not suitable for beginners due to predominately offshore winds, i.e. you get dragged out to sea. While they have rescue boats to bring you back, the drift impacts ability for instructor to remain close and physically help you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bertie from Ipswich. UK

Great winter sunshine break.

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Good spreads for breakfast and dinner. Marine wonderland. Fresh towels always available. Big and fluffy. Roof bar evening sunshine
Cons: Include tea and coffee making facilities in the room. We took our own. Reception area is dowdy and uninviting. Not a good first impression.
Location: Soma Bay plans to expand to 7 hotels, villas and apartments. Sun, crystal clear sea, swimming, marine wildlife, water sports. Golf, gym. Beach walks
Thanks to ex-pats living in Hurgharda we were reassured that the area was safe and the locals were welcoming. Soma Bay had been recommended for its reef with good snorkelling and scuba. Those recommendations proved to be good advice. We were two retired couples who were looking for a winter break, some sunshine, swimming, snorkelling, scuba. The "Breakers" is one of five hotels within the Soma Bay complex and all were down on visitors presumably because of the troubles. Upside was that we were very well looked after with no shortage of food, facilities or service. Half board was excellent with good spreads both morning and evening. Most days were cloudless and the sea temperature at 22 meant plenty of time in the water. The marine life was wonderful and easy to access from the hotel pier, a 400m jetty over the shallow lagoon to the edge of the reef and the deeper water beyond. As the sun dropped and it became cooler, the pool was lovely and warm, fed by a heated cascade. Other hotels on the complex offer opportunities for sailing, golf, sailboarding and kite surfing. The golf course is great but expensive. The Thelasso Spa, the ladies went there whilst we played our golf, almost as expensive but must be done as a one off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baden-Württemberg

"Grün, blau-weiß und easy...welcome home"

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Die Nähe zum Diving Center. Die Freundlichkeit des Personals. Die Überschaubarkeit des Hotels. Die angenehme Atmosphäre unter den Gästen.
Cons: Mir fällt nichts ein.
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich ca 45 min von Hurghada. Angeboten werden Touren nach Luxor, Kairo und anderes. Haben wir gemacht -sehr empfehlenswert.
Unser Aufenthalt im Breakers war - wie auch im letzten Jahr 2016 - unschlagbar. Die direkte Nähe zum Meer und der Zugang zum Hausriff sind ein großes Plus. Man läuft über einen wunderschönen sich ins Meer schlängelnden Holzsteg zum Schwimmen oder Schnorcheln. Das Hotel ist sehr persönlich geführt, der Manager lässt sich häufig sehen, das Personal ist locker und entspannt, seine Freundlichkeit ist echt und es ist bemüht, es dem Gast Recht zu machen. "Welcome home" ist nicht einfach nur ein Spruch. Abendangebote wie der Arabische Abend, eine abwechslungsreiche Küche, ein phänomenales Osterfrühstück, .... das alles macht das Wohlfühlen im Breakers leicht. Verschiedene Extras wie Yoga am Abend und Morgen, die lockere Reef Bar mit Billiard und Tischkickern, die Boccia Bahn, Sauna, das Fitness-Center lassen keine Langeweile aufkommen. In 2 Minuten hat man auch den Orca Dive Club erreicht, in dem sehr professionelle Tauch-Master und Equipment auf den Anfänger und die vielen Profis warten, hier werden auch regelmäßige Bootstouren auf die Riffe des Roten Meeres angeboten. Alles sehr easy und entspannt. Der Ausblick aufs Meer, nette Gäste, die meisten von ihnen sportbegeisterte Kiter, Taucher oder einfach Schnorchler, verschönern den Abend. Wir könnten sofort wieder fahren.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Das Breakers Team, Hotel Management
Hallo "Feuerfisch" vielen Dank für die tolle Bewertung auf Expedia! Es freut uns, dass Du Deinen Urlaub bei uns genossen hast! Bis hoffentlich bald wieder und WELCOME HOME
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from düsseldorf

Very nice personal

Posted Apr 3, 2017
we're here for the kitesurf. The hotel is perfect: very good room. The cleaning war very good. The people for the service are very very friendly. In front of the hotel there is a beach. And we can also enjoy the sun with the lot of chairs. There is a bridge where we can walk to allow to go on the water and see the wonderful fishes. I recommend to go it. The dinner was very good with a lot of varieties. The organisation with a bus to go to the kite house was also very good. It's perfect to do holiday with all confort that we can have. I was very positive impressed about the friendly personal. For example also the cleaning man asked me if my room is ok. They all have the smile and are happy to help you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by The Breakers Team, Hotel Management
Thank you very much, Nelly, for your excellent review! We hope you will visit us soon again! WELCOME HOME The Breakers Team