Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Good location

Posted May 18, 2017
Room was nice but was noisy. Overall impression was from the reception area which appeared very tired with dirty carpets. It was also 'smelly' - drains, cats etc which even pervaded the restaurant. Not a pleasant!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

A wonderful view of Wells Cathedral

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: It's site so close to the Cathedral, main square and Bishop's Palace. Staff, rooms and facilities as well as the food including a tasty breakfast.
Cons: Possibly a wider range on the menu.
Location: As above. Glastonbury well worth a visit even if only a short visit to this area is possible.
We had a very friendly welcome and throughout our stay the staff were most helpful and cheerful. The rooms were most comfortable and the food tasty. There was a most glorious view of the cathedral from the terrace across the road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Nice hotel in the right place

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Rooms were very good but overlooked the road and some in our party found the noise intrusive when the window was open (no aircon). Staff were very goo
Cons: Better access to upper floors for elderly/infirm. Goes with an old building of course but check where rooms are if in doubt..
Location: Wells is just lovely. Magnificent Cathedral and Bishops Palace/Gardens. Our tour guide Robin was excellent.
We booked two rooms for one night and were very comfortable. Service at breakfast was a bit slow but very good food so no real complaints. We were in the Coach-House where we found too many stairs and fire doors which were quite heavy so getting our cases up was a bit of effort as there were no lifts - could be a problem for some.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

We loved staying here!

Posted May 2, 2017
The staff were fantastic, the food was wonderful and Wells we fell in love with.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south wales uk

nice view of cathederal

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: everything!
Location: close to all activities in wells fantastic location
excellent hotel, brilliant location. Excellent nights sleep amazing 4 poster bed needed a ladder to get into it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent for City Centre

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: It's position. Friendly staff.
Cons: Mirror lighting in bathroom
Location: All good
Large car parking area to rear of hotel. Friendly efficient reception staff. Newly refurbished room with comfortable bed, large TV screen ,excellent bedside lighting if you wanted to read. We had an enjoyable evening with meal in the small bar area at competitive prices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Swan at Wells- loved my stay!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Clean , homely, with attentive staff; the room had a very comfortable superking bed , though I couldn't fathom the WIFI codes .
Cons: The Hotel has a resident Cat, which if you are allergic to them may be of concern.
Location: Located opposite the very impressive Wells Cathedral.. which you must visit whilst staying
I was very impressed with the Swan . I had a delicious evening meal , read the papers in the very comfortable drawing afterwards, with a glass of Genmorangie , what's more to like ?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Charming hotel with cathedral view

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Stylish but without being over-modern decor. Comfortable. Good staff apart from errant bar server. Good breakfast.
Cons: Remove pink neon from restaurant. Totally at odds with overall decor. Sack errant bar server.
Location: Centre of Wells opposite the fabulous cathedral. Couldn't be better. Didn't stay long enough to explore surrounding countryside but would like to.
Stayed one night here and wished it could have been longer. Subtle and stylish upgrading made for very pleasant ambience in both public rooms and our bedroom. Bed comfortable with nice firm pillow, bathroom not luxurious but very clean with everything one needs, including a magnifying mirror (plus point from me). Only bum note, server at the bar told me there were no scones to be had at tea-time and five minutes later brought lovely looking ones with cream and jam to the couple sitting next to us in the lounge. Other staff were friendly, efficient and much more helpful. We came for an event at the cathedral but will return to stay longer in this delightful small city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Beautiful view of the Cathedral

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: The bathroom/shower could use some updating, there was a puddle on the floor after my shower due to the short wall divider. Maybe a shower curtain?
Location: We enjoyed the Thai next door and the Pub down in the center of town, walked around the Cathedral and the Bishops Palace. Nice little city to visit.
I had a great experience with this hotel. They provided parking, although the tight entrance was a challenge for larger cars. The breakfast that was provided was well done and the comfort of the room and beds were good. The front desk staff were very helpful with assisting in sending post cards back to the US.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Right in the centre of Wells

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Rooms and interior very nice
Cons: Staff very pretentious, internet in room didn't work and prices at restaurant are not value for money
Hotel itself and room very nice. Staff very pretentious and food to expensive