Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by RACHEL from Stoke on Trent

Beautiful hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel, great friendly staff, a real find! Will be returning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Country House Hotel in Holford Glen

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: The setting, building and surrounding grounds are beautiful.
Cons: Customer service and obviously staff training
Location: Coombe House Hotel is set in magnificent grounds in the centre of Holford Glen. Nearby the pretty village of Dunster complete with castle can be seen.
Having had a wonderful lunch experience with friends here previously, I decided to book an overnight stay in this beautiful setting in the Somerset countryside. Having booked in and unpacked in our room, I popped downstairs for a couple of wine glasses and a corkscrew so that we could enjoy a glass of wine in our room before dinner (which was to be taken in the hotel restaurant at a much later time). Imagine my surprise when I was informed that this would indeed be possible BUT AT A CORKAGE RATE OF £10 to be added to our bill! This is just a rip-off and did not start the stay in a pleasant manner. Dinner however was very enjoyable and the food was as good as I had remembered. The breakfast was however, very disappointing..we arrived 10 minutes late apparently to be served a cooked breakfast (I have never been in a hotel on a Sunday morning where cooked breakfast finished at 9.30am) but we were offered the buffet breakfast and toast. The buffet was almost exhausted with very little left to enjoy, and finally a pot of coffee and four small pieces of toast arrived. The attitude of the staff was unhelpful, almost as if they were waiting to clear up and wanted to get us out of the restaurant as soon as possible in order to set up for lunch (but lunch was not to begin until 12.30pm). On checking out I mentioned my disappointment to the receptionist and she made no apology whatsoever, I presume this is the customer service they afford every guest...very unfortunate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Great stopover venue off the M5 pretty location

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: It's location
Cons: Decor could do with updating and coordinating.
Location: Great for walking in the Quantock hills.
We chose this hotel based on trip advisor feedback as it was an ideal midpoint break on our way to cornwall. On arrival we were instantly charmed by the pretty quiet location as the hotel is nestled at the bottom of a coomb with a stream running through its garden. The staff were welcoming and curtious at all times. The decor is a little mix and match but this give a quaint air. Overall this is a clean comfortable hotel with nice staff in a lovely location, don't expect four/five star inside but do expect to be won over by its charm. 😊
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S Cornwall

Pretty hotel in delightful valley setting.

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Arrived mid afternoon. Met by excellent staff member on reception. Room airy, clean and comfortable. Strawberry Pimms on the front lawn by babbling brook very welcome after long motorway journey. History of this property as a Mill until 1962 interesting addition to our stay. Dinner well presented and excellent breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Jim from Southsea

Nice quirky hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2015 on Hotels
Nice quirky place, very friendly, great food (if a little pricey), would happily revisit.
5 out of 5
by John from Oxford

A Real Gem!

Posted Apr 18, 2015 on Hotels
One of my favourite hotels in the area. The location is stunning and relatively unknown. After work the proximity to the Quantocks means a couple of hours walking before dinner is doable. The owner and the staff are charming and helpful. I've stayed here on and off for 8 years and it's always a pleasure to return.
2 out of 5
by Gody

Das Hotel hatte unsere Buchung "verloren"?

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Ebookers
Dieses Hotel war für uns reserviert und bestätigt. Als wir in der Nacht ankamen, wussten die aber nichts von uns und hatten auch keine Betten mehr. Was schlussendlich zur Bewertung geführt hat. Das Personal war insofern exzellent, als dass ihnen die Situation 1. nicht recht war und sich 2. dafür eingesetzt hat, dass für uns eine schnelle, adäquate und in der Nähe gelegene Alternative zur Verfügung stand.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels
First class
5 out of 5
by Martyn from London

Perfect setting

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Liked everything about the hotel. It was comfortable, friendly and welcoming. The food was phenomenal and the service relaxed but efficient.
Cons: Our room had a rather small shower but that was simply because of the layout - everything else was so good it didn't matter.
Location: A wooded area with a brook and a garden. Perfect for exploring local historic villages and the Quantock Hills.
Just the place for a very relaxing stay. Off the beaten track but near enough to 'civilisation'.
3 out of 5
by Si99

A nice hotel for a holiday

Posted Jun 9, 2013 on Ebookers
This would be a great little hotel for a getaway but I was travelling for business. Breakfast isn't served until 08:00 so if you're an early starter then be prepared to eat elsewhere.