Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Gem in the heart of Dunster

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Great hotel with lovely fresh rooms. Well decorated. Food was amazing at dinner and breakfast. Rib eye steak out of this world. Food freshly cooked and beautiful service. This hotel I would give would be a six if we could
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxed and friendly

Posted Nov 16, 2016
The hotel was great and would stop again. The owners were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winchester

Characterful hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Delightful hotel and friendly staff. Unfortunately the bathroom towel rail heater was not working and could not be fixed during our stay which meant the bathroom was very cold. Fervent apologies from staff and discount against room cost offered. Lovely room otherwise and delicious evening meal in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bewdley

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, excellent food

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: We really enjoyed our short stay at the Dunster Castle Hotel. The food was fabulous and very good value, the staff were all very friendly and attentive and the owners were passionate about making sure everything was just perfect. The room was very nice and the bed was extremely comfortable.
Cons: We could not find anything we didn't like about this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Friendly owners

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Customer service
Cons: Improvements and refurb in progress
Location: Pretty village close to Minehead and edge of Exmoor
Great customer service where you were made to feel you were valued. Still updating and improving. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marlow, Bucks

Great hotel in Dunster

Posted Sep 22, 2016
This hotel was taken over by new management a few months ago and the new owners bent over backwards to make sure we had a comfortable stay with everything we needed. All the staff were fantastic and were warm and welcoming. Great decor and style throughout and good food and location. Excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Great location, well maintained old building

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Location: Walk down the main street to the Yarn Market and toured the ancient Lutrell Arms Hotel. Lots of nice shops and walks. And of course, Dunster castle!
Right in the middle of the village of Dunster. Steep, very narrow lane up to parking area. Required skilled driving and steep walk back down to hotel. Our room was clean and adequate, but quite small, breakfast service and food were very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Friendly atmosphere. Staff very helpful.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Standard room very comfortable. Food was excellent as were the staff. Great location and free parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fresh & Tasty Food with very hospitable hosts

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Best - Food and warm service
Cons: Rooms are being refurbed and that will help match the food and service
Location: Quintessential old English location, the castle and gardens definitely worth a visit
Great location in this picture perfect village. The owners are new and are geniunely really nice people with great values for making your stay a memorable one. The food is first class, for dinner I had the made on the premises scotch eggs, very good and confit of belly of pork. The pork was succulent and tasty unfortunately the confit was slightly off the mark. the desserts were great a delicious syrup sponge (very light texture) and delicious honeycomb ice-cream. I really enjoyed the freshly cooked English Breakfast also. The hotel is going through a staged refurb, so the rooms are good but will be improved with the refurb. We enjoyed talking to the owners and listening to their plans for the hotel, we hope to back when we are in that part of the world again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huddersfield

Great Hotel in the lovely village of Dunster

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Very warm welcome from the hosts and friendly and helpful staff. Great food. Would go again.